We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand new hotel with great facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crowne Plaza Sohar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Sohar
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel with great facilities”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is a very impressive hotel. Comfortable rooms (if not huge), friendly service, good food and great facilities: excellent gym, large pool, tennis courts, bowling alley (!), etc.

It would not surprise me if the hotel was part of some money laundering scheme as it was practically empty when I stayed (although fully staffed and with all restaurants functioning).

Highly recommended if going to Sohar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    69
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
32
10
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I went to Sohar on a two-day business trip. This hotel is secluded and has nothing near it. It is around two years old so, everything is new. There were barely any guest there except me. I later found out that the area is an industrial area and this hotel survives on conferences, business guests, weddings, etc.. It has a large outside pool and a gym. Their breakfast buffet is decent. The rooms are clean and organized. The only problem is the seclusion and loneliness. But, it is the area and not the hotel to blame.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DubaiConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The only reason to visit Sohar as a tourist is the crowne plaza. As all hotels in Oman not cheap. Nice pool, good rooms, good restaurants and facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

it's a good hotel where the service is very good.the food is delicious there and i have a lot of fun also. the stuff is so kind..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallyfawzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We live in Muscat and decided to stay here for 2 nights for the trip to Al Ain zoo during this Eid holiday. We have stopped here several times for coffee on the way from Muscat to Al Ain/Abu Dhabi, so we kinda knew what we could expect. The hotel is nice & clean & quiet, and the room was spacious and lovely. The restaurant on the ground floor offers nice food in reasonable price, which we enjoyed. We also had fun in the pool. They also have some tennis courts, gym, spa & sauna, and it is a lovely hotel to stay.
However, I was quite annoyed by the reservation process, and I couldn't believe that 5 star hotel has such an untrained person for the reservation. When I called for the first time, the receptionist told that there was no one who can do reservation at that time so she would call me back. Waited for 30 min and I called back. This time, I was put thru to the reservation, but the reservation lady was just like talking to 5 year old (or even worse). For my simple reservation of 2 nights stay for 2 adults and one child, I had to repeat the same thing again and again and again, and she even said if we wanted a single room!? I also had to talk to someone else in regards to my privilege club membership deals, who also had to talk to someone else. So probably it would be the best to reserve thru their website....
Anyway, I believe it is the best hotel in Sohar area, and I would recommend it if you need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sohar
12.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Resort, Sohar
13.2 km away
Sohar Beach Hotel
Sohar Beach Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sohar
132 reviews
0.0 km away
Mercure Sohar
Mercure Sohar
#3 of 10 in Sohar
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Al Wadi Hotel
Al Wadi Hotel
#7 of 10 in Sohar
70 reviews
13.2 km away
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
Butterfly Hotel Sohar
#8 of 10 in Sohar
22 reviews
195.8 km away
Golden Tulip Nizwa
Golden Tulip Nizwa
#1 of 6 in Nizwa
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Sohar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Sohar

Property: Crowne Plaza Sohar
Address: Falaj Al Qabail | Al Buraimi Road, Sohar 322, Oman
Phone Number:
Region: Oman > Al Batinah Governorate > Sohar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sohar
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,931 - ₹ 11,400
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Sohar 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unhindered panoramic views over a vast natural reserve, the 4 star Crowne Plaza Sohar is the first International branded hotel in the region. Perfectly situated for the business and leisure traveller, the Crowne Plaza Sohar is located within a short distance of Sohar's industrial heart and the Port of Sohar. The hotel can be reached either from Muscat or Dubai International airports. Crowne Plaza Sohar is also part of the IHG Green Engage initiative. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Sohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sohar Hotel Sohar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing