We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
126
69
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
69
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bernese mountain dog swiss hospitality beautiful garden don t miss wonderful dinner two nights gated parking family room tour operator park your car very nice place to stay rooms are nice in town walvis bay breakfast was excellent a great stay enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017

A 20-minuts’ walk from the center of Swakopmund Sam’s Gardino Hotel is an inexpensive oasis for gourmets and lovers of good wines and spirits. It features a well-stocked bar, a grotto (type of Italian Swiss Restauant) and a good restaurant. The rooms are nice and cozy and have something Swiss about them. No wonder Sam, the owner is from Switzerland, but is very communicative probably also with guests of any origin.
The Internet works well in the restaurant and reception area, but in Room 8, a bit farther away, it did not function reliably.
The garden is nice. There is no swimming pool, but most of the year you don’t need one according to the owner.
Safety is written in capital letters; probably a good thing as petty crime involving tourists in this city seems to be a problem.
After all our desert live in the last ten days, the center of the city was a welcome surprise in terms of shopping, coffee shops and restaurants.
Don’t miss to go on a boat tour in Walvis Bay.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank proftourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamsGiardino, Front Office Manager at Sam's Giardino, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Good morning,

thank you for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay that much and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

After (and before some more) days in the desert and wilderness: what a relaxing and good feeling to stay a night in the green oasis of Sam's Giardino! Very nice service, beautyful garden and room, nice talk to Sam ... thanks a lot for the friendly 'welcome' and good time we had in your house.
Especially: wonderful dinner with very good wines, excellent breakfast-buffet!
Und d'Unterhaltig uf Schwyzerdütsch isch natürlich au es Highlight in Afrika! Und au d'Bewachig vo me ne ächte Bärner! :-) Viiele Dank, mir händ's sehr g'nosse!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wegenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

A clean, well maintained establishment situated 15 minutes walk from the town centre.

Mein Host, Sam, has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area in all possible regards, from action activities to fine dining. I would highly recommend that any visitors take a short time on arrival to discuss their preferences with Sam before fine-tuning their stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

My room was spotless and well serviced throughout my stay. Free WiFi is available. My room didn't have a TV or a telephone and that suited me lovely - the free WiFi makes communications and news readily available.

Breakfast was ample, with an extensive cold buffet available as well as a made-to-order cooked breakfast also on offer. The evening meal must be requested by 1700 and is served around 1900. The evening menu is a set dish and, whilst I did not actually eat an evening meal here, fellow guests spoke well of the standard. A wide and well-priced selection of wine is available. The ambience within the restaurant is very relaxed. A fully stocked bar is available.

The garden is delightful. It receives the benefit of the afternoon sun and is a lovely place to relax and a plethora of birdlife frequent the vegetation and garden features.

The guest lounge has a very large collection of literature and flyers highlighting local attractions.

Sam's Giardino is an excellent base from which to explore the local area. Discounting the wonderful beaches, most available activities in this region are not suited to very young children. I would class this accommodation in the couples/adventurer/business demographic rather than the party-seeker.

I have no hesitation in recommending this guest-house to other travellers.

Room tip: A ground floor room overlooking the garden allowed me to go out & enjoy a cigarette at my leisure. Smoking permitted 2m from the building.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willie_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Sam's located roughly a mile from downtown, so an easy walk to any type of activity in downtown Swakop.
After a good welcome, Sam was very helpful in finding family activities and booking the tours.
Breakfast offers a great choice of bread, among the traditional things you find around a breakfast table.
We did not eat in as dinner is scheduled a bit late for our liking.

The rooms may look a bit outdated but include all you need. Although no TV set, you have wifi access in the room, which is not the case everywhere.

You can conveniently park your car inside the premises.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank all_the_places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We enjoyed the hospitality, the personal contact to the manager, the well trained and very friendly staff, the excellent menues and wines, the wide variety of the breakfast buffet, the silence, the tiny lovly garden, the secure parking, for us, it was a revelation. Thank you very much Sam Egger

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rainerf728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews