We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dar Leila is a great option for experiencing...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dar Leila

Courtyard and fountain
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard and fountain
Detail of fountain Grand Salon lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Courtyard and fountain
Detail of fountain
Grand Salon lounge area
Grand salon library
Dining Salon with Madam Couscous
Meal cooked by Aicha
Ground floor shower room (we now provide linen & cotton hamman-style towels)
Red room - king-size bed
The White Room - king-size bed
The Indian Room - double bed
First floor bathroom
(we now provide linen & cotton hamman-style towels)
First floor shower room
(we now provide linen & cotton hamman-style towels)
The Blue Room - twin beds
Ground floor study / bedroom 5 - double bed
Breakfast on the Terrace
Essaouira Medina - looking towards the horloge
Essaouira port fishing boats
Essaouira beach at sunset
Essaouira port at sunset
Essaouira fish market
Essaouira
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ZM2011
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
“Dar Leila is a great option for experiencing private Riad living in the heart of Essaouira”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My wife l booked Dar Leila for just the two of us and enjoyed the experience so much that we would happily book it again for our next trip to Essaouira.

Hassle free booking, good value, great location in the heart of the medina, peaceful, clean, comfortable accommodation, spacious private terrace and excellent service from Aicha and Abdaul combined with warm sunny weather made it one of our best trips to Morocco.

Thank you David, Emma, Tilly, Abdaul and Aicha.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
299jillk
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday set amidst a medina but close to a beach”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We all enjoyed your wonderful home in Essaouira. We were a party of 8, including two twenty year old lads and two teenage girls. We had expected it to be good but it far outweighed our high expectations. Aicha and Andaul are so welcoming and so helpful. I shall miss their warmth and their wonderful hospitality.

Everything went to plan for the full 12 days of our stay. Flights, transfers, quad biking, henna, hamman, camel riding, shopping, eating out.....superb! Luton to Essaouira was so trouble free. The sights and sounds of the medina will keep me smiling for a very long time. Loved Villa Maroc - great value for money at 25MDS per person for a day around a stylish pool with travel and lunch included.

So thank you for renting out this special hidden gem. We will undoubtedly want to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace of the Dar set against the hustle and bustle of the medina. Not forgetting Cecil the Cameleon on the roof terrace!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carienjan...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dar Leila”
Reviewed 21 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Dar Leila with out 5 children in the age of 22 tot 28 years old.
The house was wonderful, we loved the cosy atmosphere, the fire places , the bedrooms and the sunny roof terrace where we had breakfast each morning. The location was great, in the middle of the medina, we really felt locals. Abdul and Aisha were great, they gave us lots of local information and assisted with reservations for taxis', the hammam etc. They also made a delicious dinner (tagine ofcourse!) 2 evenings. In the house there is a great book with local information, very much appreciated.
We can recommend this house to everybody!
Carien Janssen from Holland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere and location
Liked least: kitchen a bit old but that didn't matter
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eimear M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A genuine riad beautifully located in the heart of Essaouira”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were very impressed by this beautifully decorated riad situated in the heart of Essaouira and very close to the beach. Spacious, homely and quiet, this was a perfect base from which to explore the city. The roof terrace is a perfect spot for dining out and resting in the sun. We were greeted by the wonderful caretakers - Abdaul and Aicha - who were warm, friendly and hugely helpful. The owner's welcome package was exhaustive and gave great tips and recommendations on things to do, places to eat etc... I would definitely stay here again. I strikes me as an ideal place for families or a large group of friends who want to stay in a congenial place together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hospitality
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing