We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
CamillaCo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed over the Christmas period for four nights and loved our stay. We had a long day travelling getting there and feeling tired arrived late in the evening to a very warm welcome by Fouad and a delicious supper waiting for us beautifully cooked by Karima.. We immediately relaxed. The house was perfect for us and we liked that it was situated outside the Medina as the area is quieter and within easy walking distance from the sea, harbour and Medina. Fiona was a great help in organising our stay and made our arrangements very easy. I would love to return, next time for longer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen r
hastings
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“spacious house, traditionally decorated”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

we loved the house, it was very spacious giving all of the party space when they needed it to relax. God send that there is wifi that works perfectly! Terrace is gorgeous and the views and sounds never ceased to amaze me! We loved having log fires at night (one of the main reasons we picked this house). Location is perfect, just outside the medina (5min) to give you peace and 10 minute walk to the beach
Karmina is a wonderful maid- although she speaks very little English she cooks amazing food and its always beautifully presented and plenty of it; we thought it was wonderful that what we didn't eat got boxed up for us in the fridge should we be peckish later.
The support we had from the house owner prior to our arrival was fantastic, really going out of her way to answer our queries and ensure we had a wonderful stay.
The only negative is that the house is a little tired, although i liked the character of it,. The towels do need replacing, some of them were threadbare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and size
Liked least: towels
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We will make sure all the towels are replaced immediately before the next guests and will put a spring makeover into action. Please stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrick61
Morgan Hill, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our stay was perfect! We enjoyed every minute at Dar Doughri!”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The house was exactly as we expected, and we had plenty of room for all five of us at the house. It was located within walking distance of the media and the house manager was there to meet us and let us in.
We had a dinner and breakfast prepared for us and it was amazing and so much food. We had a wonderful experience and we would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property, was close to the media.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had lovely stay in Essaouira and were well looked after at Dar Doughri by Karima who laid out our breakfast every day and was available to prepare an evening meal if required. The rooms are spacious but my only negative comment would be that there are only 2 rooms which are truly en suite and 1 bedroom is clearly superior to the other 3. The other 2 have separate bathrooms. This is OK I think for a family but when travelling with friends this is number 1 on our priority list when booking a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious lounge area for relaxing between trips out
Liked least: Lack of en suite facilities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments about the house and Karima. Each bedroom does, as you say, have its own bathroom allowing everyone to make themselves at home. With two of the bedrooms have bathrooms next door to them while the other two bedrooms have bathrooms that are accessed from within the room.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEHunter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in the perfect location for Medina and water sports”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I stayed at Dar Doughri for 5 days in September and had a great time. Everything was extremely well managed by the owner; money transfer, transport to and from the airport, information about the house etc. Faoud, the local manager is a huge asset as he is able to point you in the right direction for activities (camel rides; quad bikes, massages etc). Karina, the housekeeper and cook makes you a substantial breakfast which we ate on the rooftop in the morning sunshine - very peaceful and relaxing. She also cooks excellent evening meals - I can recommend the pastilla.

Practicalities - wifi is great, works really well. Very comfortable beds with decent pillows and good bed linen. Plenty of room for large groups - I think this house would work really well for a big family or two families, particularly with the many bathrooms. Outside the busy Medina which is a big plus at all times of the year, but particularly the winter when sometimes the Medina houses can be quite damp and cold.

Highly recommend this house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, the local staff - invaluable to make sure you get good value
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing