We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Villa in Fantastic Location and Briliant...”
other travellers have booked this property
The terrace is sundrenched all day with shaded pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The terrace is sundrenched all day with shaded pergola
This whole property would be yours to enjoy exclusively Shaded eating and reading area on the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
The terrace is sundrenched all day with shaded pergola
This whole property would be yours to enjoy exclusively
Shaded eating and reading area on the terrace
View of Dar Doughri's terrace from the neighborhood
Beach towels and sunloungers with plenty of space to move them into your favourite position
The double bedroom with wardrobe and chest of drawers
The master bedroom with king-size bed and en suite shower-room
The first floor twin room with separate bathroom
The bathroom - all the bathrooms are brightly lit and a combination of the modern and traditional
The bright and airy salon  - new in 2015 is a larger television than photo with inbuilt satellite
Note the wood-burning fireplace in the corner for a chilly winter's nights  - no need in the summer
Karima can serve dinners or breakfast at the vast salon table
View from one of the salon windows over the parc where familys meet to catch up on the local events
Kitchen/Breakfast Room - simple but well stocked with everything you should need.
Kitchen/Breakfast Room  - the perfect spot to learn some traditional cooking skills from Karima.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Riad -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Pip B
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Villa in Fantastic Location and Briliant Staff”
Reviewed 21 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Appartment has generous rooms, with a kitchen sufficient for self catering (not that I reccomend - see below), large sitting room with sofas, fire, TV, DVD player and a lovely roof terrace on which we enjoyed breakfast every morning.

Short walking distance from walled city with local markets, and to beach. Markets were varied and intersting without the hassle we experienced in Marrakesh. On beach we enjoyed camel riding and quad biking which were both excellent fun. Also on offer were horse rides, kite surfing and wind surfing(amongst others I'm sure!).

The best part of the house are the two staff Fouad and Karima. Foad is there to arrange anything you need from transfers, bookings or activities and is exceptionaly helpful and caring. Karima cooked us some lovely evening meals and breakfast every day which was both delicious and very reasonably priced!

All in all - much reccomended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Dar Doughri. Karimas cooking, of local dishes from fresh produce purchased in the market each morning, is exceptional. There are cookery "schools" opening in Essaouira where visitors can enjoy learning how to prepare moroccan cuisine and wow their friends back home with delicious dishes. Many guests also enjoy tagging along with Karima while she haggles for her purchases in the market and watching her skillfully prepare their evening meal. I will pass on your kind comments to both Fouad and Karima.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankandK...
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“3rd visit to Dar Doughri”
Reviewed 9 February 2012 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Our 3rd stay at Dar Doughri. Ideally situated just 5 minutes walk to the Medina and 10 minutes to the Beach. Comfortable, well equipped living area incl wi fi. Adjacent kitchen area. Choice of 4 bedrooms, all well equipped. Lovely roof top terrace for sunbathing and eating - 4th floor and higher than surrounding properties so total privacy. Karima (housemaid / cook) provides a good breakfast on the terrace. She will also cook meals on request and the quality is top class although being surrounded by numerous restuarants within easy walking distance we usually only eat in as a treat on the last day of our stay. Would also mention Fouad, the house manager. Very discreet but always just a phone call away should you need advice. He knows the area very well indeed and will arrange trips and excursions at 'local' prices. Nearly forgot to mention that Fiona / Fouad are happy to arrange collection and return from the airport.

Choice of small supermarkets within walking distance

If like us you enjoy a beer or two in the afternoon, thoroughly recommend the bar at the Chalet de Plage. Sit on the terrace watching the boats enter the harbour or the daily football matches being played on the beach directly in front of you.

To many good restuarants to mention in the area. Be guided by the Trip Avdvisor restuarant guide.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Minutes from Medina / Beach but away from the hustle and bustle
Liked least: No issues at all
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma R
Godalming , United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious Terrace Area with great views!”
Reviewed 24 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in Dar Dourghi, the accommodation was very comfortable and there was lots of space for our party of eight (two families) with children ranging from 5 - 15 years to spread out. We took advantage of Karina's fabulous culinary skills. Having her prepare breakfast in the house on a daily basis was such a treat plus we ate several of her evening meals, after aperitifs' at the Taros Bar, which were delicious! A real asset to this holiday accommodation was the huge terrace area (not overlooked) where we ate our meals together, read books & sunbathed - there was a splendid view of the Medina from here plus it was very relaxing watching the sun go down whilst enjoying a bottle of Morrocan wine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious terrace and accommodation plus delicious meals
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fal00la
cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous stay at the dar!”
Reviewed 15 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Dar was even more beautiful tha in the pictures and much bigger!! we stayed in the family room which was massive, with a fantastic bathroom. All 6 of us had the best nights sleeps the week we stayed; the beds were so comfy!
KArima the housekeeper is the best cook in Essaouira and kept us well fed!
A chilld holiday in the sun with books, good food and great company. We were on a budget and the area catered for this well. But if you do have a bit more money there's quite a lot to keep you occupied. We fancied going to the vineyard but due to Ramadan this was closed.

In all a great place to stay and the owner, Fiona, made planning the holiday really easy!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the amount of space and the roof terrace
Liked least: manager was a little scatty, prob due2it being Ramadan.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magicalga...
east yorks
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent home”
Reviewed 9 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Dar Doughri with my husband and twin daughters (14yrs) for a week at the end of August 2011. Fiona one of the owners was more than helpful answering all my questions about Morocco and the house prior to our holiday and she has 2 wonderful people working for her in Essaouira - Fouad and Karima. I contacted Fouad before our arrival and he met us closeby when we arrived in the town. We had also arranged for Karima to cook for us that first evening and for breakfast the next day. The meal was a delight as was the breakfast which we ate on the roof top terrace.
The house itself is very spacious and fitted out lovely - there are 4 bedrooms - we only used 2 which were on the first floor below the living room and kitchen. The beds were extremely comfortable and despite there being no air conditioning it was not too hot. This was despite the temperatures being in the mid- high 20's during the day.
The roof terrace is a lovely place to relax, sunbathe and read and we did spend a lot of time up there. The view was also lovely especially on an evening.
What was also nice was the provision of games, music and dvds.
The location of the house could not be better - less that 5 mins walk to the medina and port and the same for the wonderful beach. If I were to go back to Essaouira I would definately stay at Dar Doughri again - even though there were only 4 of us staying the house I feel would still easily accommodate 8 without feeling cramped.
Fouad was a mine of information and was only too willing to help in any way he could visiting often to ask if he could do anything - he did a good job of arranging for us to have a massage and for our transport from the house to Marrakech when it was time for us to leave.
I would recommend this house very highly - wonderful place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and roof terrae
Liked least: evening noise possibly due to Ramadam people out later
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing