We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 925
US$ 715
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 925/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa(Poste Lafayette)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 543
US$ 348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$ 346
US$ 326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 429/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Solana Beach(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Emeraude Beach Attitude(Belle Mare)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 633
US$ 284
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Poste Lafayette Resort & Spa, Mauritius(Poste Lafayette)(Great Value!)
US$ 326
US$ 223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambre Mauritius(Belle Mare)
US$ 321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 362/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
102
9
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
9
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla terrassegrand damekids clubbeach frontmagnificent hoteltennis courtsyounger guestsmajor refurbishmenthalf boardlive cookingbeach staffpersonal trainingadult poolevening cocktailsbreakfast restaurantthe general managerscented towels
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Having considered Le Saint Geran many times in the past, we finally made it here for our 30th wedding anniversary. It was worth the wait. This is winter in Mauritius, but most days the temperatures were in the mid to high 20s, with occasional clouds and a light, cooling breeze. The attached pictures do not lie.

The resort’s location is superb, on a pristine beach with calm lagoon waters. The care and attention to detail shown by staff is second to none, and overal the service was as friendly and attentive as we have experienced anywhere in the world. (And this was my 57th country.) Mauritius itself is beautiful: we took a wonderful boat trip from the hotel to celebrate our anniversary, heading to the southern end of the island, in and out of the lagoon and around several smaller islands, where we saw dolphins and a variety of bird life. A full day car excursion took us to the Black River Gorges, Le Morne, and Chamarel (of seven-coloured earth fame), all of which are well worth visiting.

At this time of year Le Saint Geran was relatively empty, which meant that at times is felt like our own private resort. All of the staff referred to us by name from the first day, brought us additional coffee before we’d asked for it, reserved our favourite seats on the beach... nothing was too much trouble, and more often than not they anticipated our needs rather than reacting to requests.

Nothing is perfect, and if we had to offer criticism it would be that the half board options in the Prime and Tapasaki restaurants are a little underwhelming (and certainly not representative of the excellent a la carte menus in both places), and the ‘indulgent’ picnic we were promised on our boat trip was not exactly as described. But when we mentioned this to staff they listened, and made sure that everything else about our stay was exceptional. We subsequently ate very well at the buffet in La Terasse, and, with a small supplement, from the a la carte menus in the specialty restaurants.

On balance, those criticisms are minor bumps in an otherwise excellent stay. At the end of many trips, the lure of home is strong, and we are ready to leave. On this occasion, we would happily stay indefinitely. We have already resolved to return at
the earliest possible opportunity.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jontatesteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

A luxuous room, a few meters from the ocean, the transat just waiting for you on the sand Under the Coconut trees. Just make a sign and you will get water, sandwiches, nice salads or cocktails.
And if you decide to go for a barbecue, there is just the adequate restaurant for this during the day. Pedicure & Manucure are just nice moments you can easily Schedule, with the help of a vallet available for you.
Two other restaurant can be used, in addition to a wonderfull buffet called "La Terrasse". The Beef restaurant a little under what I expected, but anyhow good. And all other services are exceptionnal, including the possibility for nautic skying on the lagoon. Our 3 days in the St Geran in May 2018 were real fabulous hollidays

Stayed: May 2018
2  Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

My wife and I spent two weeks in Mauritius and we chose the One and Only for our last 4 nights on the Island. To say this is a magnificent hotel is selling it short. The One and Only is absolutely stunning in every regard. From the magnificent grounds to the white powdery sand beaches to the very impressive rooms and onwards to the most outstanding restaurants with mind boggling selections of highest quality food all served by an army of well trained and attentive staff.
Just absolutely stunning in every aspect !

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

This was our first time to return to the St Geran since the extensive renovations. We have been regular visitors to this Grand Dame of Mauritian hotels since the year 2000 and she is back with a bang! For us, it was always about the staff (and it still is) but now we have the style and the facilities to rival any hotel in the world.
The rooms/suites are sumptuous and large. Toiletries lovely. Luxurious bath towels etc. Sundowner drinks most welcome!
The new La Pointe area is fantastic. The pool and cabanas look magnificent. Beautifully lit in the evenings.
The restaurants are of the usual top class standard. La Terrace ‘buffet’ is the best we’ve ever had. Never boring. How can they do that?
The Spa is gorgeous and although we don’t have reason use the facilities at the Kids Club we talked to parents who found it to be brilliant.
So many new and wonderful things to discover.
I think this was our 8th or 9th visit to Le St Geran and we were so pleased to meet so many old friends amongst the many staff members; as well as meeting new recruits. All working together to make our holiday memorable and fun. They are all deserving of praise and mention but here are a few that made our stay fabulous.
(Excuse the spelling!)
Our ocean view suite: Subash, Ash, Martine, Vaneesa and the brilliant Primilla.
Head chef: Rakeesh and his amazing team.
Restaurant staff: Joy, Rheetz, Nicole (Male and female) Suchraj, Lutcheme, Juanita, Anu, Vyia, Noel, Israel, Ciaran.
And great friends Sandil and Bheemul.
La Pointe staff: Suhdir (18 years a friend), Mukraj, Eric, Vinod, Kamlesh, Adesh, Veenay (chef)
Bar staff: Apana (41 years in the hotel!), Kamal and Oliver
Boathouse staff: Winsley and Christian
Our old fav beach boy: Vikram
L’Artisan: Clifford and team (names we couldn’t catch - we’ll come to that later!)
There were others who shouldn’t be left out. (See below for reasons.)
It was my birthday during our stay and the staff couldn’t have done more to make it any more memorable. Thank you.

Now, just three negatives.... and these three things were mentioned by almost all the guests we spoke to... and we are VERY gregarious! Lol!
We go out of our way to make friends with the staff (as you’ll have noticed above!) but we still managed to miss some names owing to there being so many people and maybe an accent problem too. And embarrassment in asking them to repeat their names.
This takes me to the first negative...the hotel must go back to giving their employees name tags. It’s just impossible to know everyone - and we knew many before this visit. Other guests struggled and were embarrassed because they couldn’t possibly retain all the names they wanted to commit to memory. Every guest we talked to complained about this. The new ‘OandO’ diamond badge could be incorporated into the name tag.
The second point is a massive problem for both staff and guests. The staff have been instructed to adopt a ‘Hail, Caesar’ type ‘salut.’ and a bow of the head that is probably meant to be courteous...but comes across as fawning. A hand across the body to the heart/chest. No guest OR staff member wants to adopt this servile approach to customer relations. (We asked everyone we met...or they mentioned it to us.) And it is servile - no matter what management may say. It’s demeaning and insincere. And, quite frankly, laughable. It became a joke that was not funny in the least. Please re-think this appalling error in judgement. If the staff hate doing it and the guests don’t want it....what is its purpose? A person who has no clue about the wants and needs of staff and guests made this decision.
The third point is the lack of visibility of the GM. At no point during our 14 day stay did the GM (whom we know) make an effort to talk to us. Repeat guests since the year 2000. All guests should be treated equally, of course...but we, and many others, found this most strange. There was one GM drinks party in the fortnight which we couldn’t attend... but we felt an effort could/should have been made...and it wasn’t. He was on site and passed me three times.
There was only 30% occupancy for most of our visit.
My partner suffered a plethora of mosquito bites and was in a lot of discomfort (actually pain) 22 bites on one evening!
This was reason enough for a visit from the GM... one would have thought.

Our stay was marvellous. Made this way by the fantastic old and new friends we have at the One and Only St Geran. The Grand Dame is back with a vengeance.

Room Tip: Ocean view is much better than lagoon view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tonyfinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Went to this hotel for 8 nights in May. Never been to Mauritius before but I given this hotel as an option by our travel agents.

We have been fortunate to holiday in several different places around the world but for service and to completely unwind, this hotel will take some beating.

Rooms, staff, facilities, beach, restaurants etc etc were all first class.

Well done to everyone who works at the Le Saint Geran and we hope to see you all soon especially for that fantastic late afternoon drink watching the sun going down.....

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews