We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We will be back!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We will be back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Over the years I have been fortunate enough to visit Mauritius many times and I have stayed at more than 10 hotels on the west coast (I am a fan of sunsets). I have a pretty good idea of what is on offer in this regard and so it is by no accident that my wife and I return to Le Victoria for our annual sunshine getaway. We were married at Le Vic and we have visited around 7/8 times or so in total.

Our friends say that we are boring and lacking in imagination. If something works, why change it? And, Victoria works for us. I have written reviews previously and I can only endorse what I have said before. I like the consistency of Victoria. Each year it is the same or better if that is possible. I attribute this to the arrival of manager Lothar Gross around 2008 from when there was a marked improvement at Victoria. Lothar is a hands-on, no nonsense perfectionist and he has assembled a management team around him that is competent and enthusiastic about their job and their hotel.

Victoria is an island beach hotel resort and yes, things can go wrong but to my mind I look to see how they are fixed. Chatting to other guests and in my experience, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They pride themselves on you having a great holiday. A good measure of a resort’s success is to see how much repeat business they get. I understand that Le Vic averages around 6 repeat guests every month. That, in my view, says it all. Why go back if it was not so enjoyable?

Here are a few pointers for you. If you can, take some extra cash and arrange a lover’s romantic dinner on the beach under the stars. You will have your own personal butler and will take with you a memory that will last a long time. Do your self a favour and have dinner at La Casa and Le Horizon speciality restaurants. The settings are magical and the service outstanding.

The taxi industry is becoming a little too organised and their prices are rather high making getting around pretty expensive. Avoid arranging anything through the hotel staff and the “pimp” at the hotel gates. Just say where you want to go and get to talk to the taxi driver directly. If you think that the price is too high, get out and find someone else.

At Le Vic, the nightly entertainment may not be everyone’s cup of tea. Entertainment is of course subjective. There is something on every night but if you want to dance the night away, you may be disappointed. The band and the DJ perhaps lack the ability to gauge the audience and so they sometimes get it wrong in their choice of music. The DJ is younger than the average guest and so he tends to favour music suited to a 7 am gym session! But, you will have fun on most nights.

The under school going kids are still a problem but this is squarely an issue with the parents leaving the hotel powerless. Where ever possible the staff will accommodate guests by seating them away from the brats.

We left Le Victoria last year saying that we had just had our best holiday ever. We did not think it possible that 2012 could be better but it was. Of course everything is getting expensive these days but we look for value for money. In my view, Le Victoria offers just that. Well done Lothar and your excellent team. Your Traveller’s Choice Award is justly deserved. The biggest compliment that I can give you is to say that we will be back in 2013 if not before.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CapeTownWatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    568
    100
    28
    16
See reviews for
1,112
813
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We spent 21/2 weeks in this hotel and we were absolute happy what it had promised and what we found. We recommend to book all incl. you spend your money wisley and will not have any proplems. Food, service and all other things are perfect. We have enjoined it very much and we will go back to Mauritius again (4 time)

Room Tip: All rooms have a view to the beach, are very big and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klaus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our first trip to Mauritius was a dream come true, we both enjoyed every moment of our holiday. The hotel accommodation was spacious, comfortable and well serviced. The staff were for the most part helpful and friendly. The beach and facilities were perfect for our needs, water sports snorkelling and swimming. The beach house staff service was excellent. The all inclusive option was a winner as we were spoiled for choice at the main restaurant. The other restaurants required advance booking and the all inclusive option fairly limited. The Mautourco representative could have been more helpful in terms of what to do. We choose a catamaran trip to I'le aux Cerf which was highly recommended by the Agent. This turned out to be rather disappointing, although the weather was not great which could not really be predicted, the food and beverages on board were sub standard. One bowl of snacks that tasted like cardboard, chicken kebabs, fish, salad and shocking local white wine which was yellow!!
The tan will fade but the memories will remain:) Hope to return with our Family.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelleeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

We went as a family of 4, which includes our 2 small kids (aged 4 and 6). We had a lovely ground floor room which had 2 double beds and which accommodated us more than adequately. The bathroom was spacious and clean.
We had lovely weather and enjoyed our time on the beach and the kids did a few nice activities at the Bob Marlin mini club.
Choice of 3 restaurants is good...for kids I would definitely recommend Le Superbe, which has a buffet and caters for everyone. The all-inclusive option is definitely the ways to go at Le Victoria...you don't need to incur additional costs for food or drinks as the options are good enough.The only shortcoming at the hotel is that there is no spa...only a gym, but we should have known realized this when we made the reservation.
The beach and the views are breathtaking...Overall is was a great family holiday and we wil be back as often as possible!!!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My Family travelled to Mauritius in May 2012 and stayed for 7 nights at the Le Victoria. From the moment we entered the resort to the date of leaving we were treated like royalty with superior service that beats some of the best resorts that i have previously stayed in. The room was always cleaned (up to 3 times a day - thanks to Nahes and his team), the food or cuisine was excellent, with our 22 month old always having well flavoured meals as part of the normal buffet service. We all looked forward to the dessert in the evening as the Pastry chefs have all been trained in France (or so i am told). The beach and pool area was excellently serviced as well and the ladies at the Bob Marlin childrens club are terrific. The watersports were free and the paid for motorised sports were of better value than other parts of the island! A must if you have a young family!!

Room Tip: Choose a Ground FLoor Family room for little ones, but the Deluxe rooms are all excellent value with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RowanNd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
0.8 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
17.3 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,173 reviews
6.2 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 2 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
10.2 km away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
9.3 km away
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resor...
#2 of 6 in Pointe aux Canonniers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Property: Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius 21304 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,638 - ₹ 32,558
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious beachside resort in Mauritius Located due west on the coast of Mauritius, Le Victoria is conveniently situated between the tourist hub of Grand Baie and Port Louis, the capital city. Facing the splendid sunsets, Le Victoria is one of the most popular family resorts in Mauritius. Renowned for its spacious sea-facing rooms, a laid-back atmosphere and a wide range of activities for both children and teenagers, the hotel encompasses a lifestyle to appeal to all ages. For your ultimate peace of mind, purchase the hotel's optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers all meals and drinks as well as added-value items throughout your holiday in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Victoria
Le Victoria Mauritius
Le Victoria Pointe Aux Piments
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing