We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms, great service, picturesque sunsets over an idyllic beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, great service, picturesque sunsets over an idyllic beach”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

• Spacious accommodation, large open plan rooms, well maintened hotel with a lovely atmosphere
• Located almost half way between Grand Bay and Port Louis
• Three restaurants (details below)
• Magnificent sunsets along a long stretch of powder white beach
• Special entertainment programmes for children, wondeful childrens club
• Unlimited water skiing, non motorised water sports and land sports
• Le Victoria arranged a proposal along the beachfront during dinner one evening, a private table was laid for the couple along the beach, and every effort was made to give them special attention; yet privacy (the table was set under a gazebo, with the option to close all sides facing the restaurant; however remain open for a view of the beach.)
• The hotel is a great choice for a romantic or quiet holiday, but is also more than suitable for children or families
• There are entertainment programs on offer, the restaurants has a dance floor that is filled until the early hours of the morning; but due to the size and layout of Le Victoria, you have your choice of a quiet dinner away from the hussle and bussle, or you could join in the festivities.
• The grounds are beautiful and well kept, the hotel is very well maintained, with extremely spacious and well decorated rooms. The beach is lovely, as is the pool area.
• The food is of a good quality, expecially at La Casa or L'Horizon.
• The service is friendly and attentive, whilst remaining relaxed

RESTAURANTS: 3
Le Superbe: The main restaurant serves buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner.
La Casa: A popular dinner venue serving Italian food a la carte.
L’Horizon: Fresh seafood is the speciality. Open for lunch and dinner.

DISTANCE:
Transfer time from airport to the hotel 1 hour 10 minutes (60km)
Port Louis (capital city) 15km
Grand Bay (shopping) 10km

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_Consultant26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,622
    596
    105
    29
    16
See reviews for
1,185
854
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Definitely aimed squarely at families, there are lots of activities on hand, and the kids seemed to enjoy every moment. If you do not have kids I would look elsewhere. Very busy even outside of the school holiday season.

Food was good, minimal healthy options. Some days there were no vegetables or there would be just one dish.

Rooms were definitely the highlight, very spacious and comfortable. However, soundproofing was poor. Music from the dance floor (?) kept me awake at night as did the telephone conversations of my next door neighbor.

Staff ran the gamut from very friendly and helpful to perfunctionary. No complaints though, they responded to all my requests willingly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livetowander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My greatest regret is not posting earlier.
We had our honeymoon here and took our 2 children with us (age 2 & 4). The hotel is truly wonderful, amazing food, lovely large rooms. We couldn't fault the place. For those with children there is a well run club set in a lovely quiet spot in the hotel so you get time to unwind! Baby sitting service in evening was safe and stress free.

Hire a car, go visit the island - well worth it.

Go. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theellisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

.Lets start with the only negative!!!! I cant believe I am complaining about this but the service is too good!!!

The waiters are just too attentive! Most people would probably love this but before you even have chance to put your wine glass down, they are replenished!!

Our advice is to befriend one waiter/waitress for the duration of the trip. We were lucky to have Sandya. She was just awesome and knew what we liked and then at the end of the trip you only have to tip one waitress. Likewise, befriend one waiter on the beach for similar service!

The buffet in the main restaurant is unbelievable. There is just so much choice that it makes is difficult!!

We ate in the romantic Italian restaurant on the beach once and the equally romantic seafood 3 times in our 10 night stay! They food was top restaurant quality and the wines available on the all inclusive option were of good standard. The Lindermans Chardonay and Shiraz Cabernet are recommended(as is the coconut rum!!!)

Beach- not a large swimming area as very rocky, especially at low tide but fantastic for snorkeling! Buy rubber beach shoes for swimming-they are essential! The pool is large and kept very clean! Great for afternoon cocktail at the deck to watch the sunsets! Evening entertainment was average but was not a priority for us!

Rooms very clean! Bar fridge stocked daily! All inclusive option highly recommended!

Ground floor room +- 30m from beach was great! No noise and convenit for own bathroom and change for lunch. Lovely gardens.

Havent had time to use the watersports-too busy doing nothing!!! Lol.10 days too short!!!

Overall a fantastic experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eyeinthesky9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We spent a week at le Victoria hotel in march 2012 which included our wedding and every single aspect of the whole week was exceptional and exceeded all expectations. Our group was a mix of 23 people from Uk, aus, asia and Canada from 25-80 and every single person thought the whole week was perfect. The all inclusive option is a must as the food at all three restaurants was great, the service at all bars, the beach outlets could not be faulted at all.

Rooms are big, staff are friendly, hotel is clean, pool and beach are at a high standard more than acceptable for the setting and this part of Mauritius has better weather and sea view sunsets than other parts of the island.

Our wedding was arranged by Charone who was faultless. Many emails were exchanged in the 10 months prior to our trip regarding theme, setting, colours, flowers, optional extras - every detail of the wedding was covered. We did have concerns about how much we could trust a hotel and a person we had never seen in person and whether our day would turn out as we wanted. Having just returned we can laugh at our doubts as Charone and the entire staff we perfect and arranged the most amazing and stress free wedding possible. They know the answers to all questions and any they don't they fix/ solve within minutes. Ultimately you just focus on the wedding day rather than solving any problems and complications that arise. We chose the most private setting available under the trees once we had arrived and had the beach BBQ menu. This is more of a garden banquet the BBQ and was by far the best meal of the week - relaxed, high quality, private, different and completely breath taking for every member of the party. We also went for the lobster option which resulted in as much lobster as anyone could eat!

As a large party we played volley ball, water skiing, scuba diving, snorkelling, gym, golf, swam with dolphins, and the hotel is perfectly situated to offer all of these either on site, or very close by. Le victoria is such good value for money and I would not have any doubt in recommending this hotel to anyone. The other 22 members of our party would also say the same.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have access via the gardens, first and top floor are more private. During hotter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gormansp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
0.7 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
6.2 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
16.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
47.4 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Property: Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius 21304 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Victoria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#2 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,286 - ₹ 31,803
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious beachside resort in Mauritius Located due west on the coast of Mauritius, Le Victoria is conveniently situated between the tourist hub of Grand Baie and Port Louis, the capital city. Facing the splendid sunsets, Le Victoria is one of the most popular family resorts in Mauritius. Renowned for its spacious sea-facing rooms, a laid-back atmosphere and a wide range of activities for both children and teenagers, the hotel encompasses a lifestyle to appeal to all ages. For your ultimate peace of mind, purchase the hotel's optional "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" which covers all meals and drinks as well as added-value items throughout your holiday in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Victoria
Le Victoria Mauritius
Le Victoria Pointe Aux Piments
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing