We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel let down by poor food”
Review of Recif Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Recif Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The staff at this hotel are its best asset. Facilities are OK and the hotel is a lovely size at about 70 rooms. We had a de luxe sea view room which was worth the extra money with superb views from the balcony and possible to photograph great sunsets (weather (permitting). Beds are somewhat hard and could do with replacing with more modern mattresses, air conditioning in room worked very well. The bar and its staff were very good and the waiters very helpful. Lunches were very good and waiter served although if you stay there for more than a few days you get bored as it never changes. We stayed for 8 days. The evening meal is generally buffet style however it is best to eat early as although the food is in chaffing dishes there are no burners to keep the food warm. The quality of the cooking is OK but the basic ingredients is poor, especially the chicken and very unimaginative. If you do not like curry type dishes then you will be hard put to find something suitable although if pushed you can have a nice steak. Fish is overcooked and tasteless. Deserts were the high point with plenty of variety. I believe the problem is that the chef does not have an adequate budget to prepare good meals. The breakfasts are good with a choice of most things except no bacon. The toaster is a conveyor type but is set too low so for proper toast it needs to be put through 2-3 times. The management at this hotel really needs to up their game if they want to keep visitors coming. I feel that the staff are always trying to make up for the lack of food quality. As there are no restaurants close by there is not much choice without a significant taxi ride and most visitors appeared to be half board or fully inclusive.

Room Tip: De luxe sea view rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dzirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 500 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Hotels in Mauritius are hardly on the cheap side, so when I say good value, this hotel is still a fair amount of money when compared with other countries. but for Mauritius it is a great deal.

Let's start with the good. The hotel community space is stunning. Beautifully decorated and the bar is very comfortable (with some decent home made rums). The infinity pool is a stunner and the lounge chairs for enjoying the sun are relaxing. I particularly liked that they didn't pester me all day for drink orders while I tried to relax. Good towels included. Beach is decent and very quiet. We had half board (breakfast dinner). Breakfast was simple but great.

The Bad. Unfortunately, this place could hit a 5 rating for me by fixing a few troublesome areas. Wifi is an additional charge (which I hate) and is only available in the bar (which is even worse). The mattresses are about as firm as humanly possible while the pillows were lumpy. The rooms, while basic, were very pleasant and if the beds and pillows were fixed, it would be heavenly.

Dinner was also hit and miss. While the Indian and Mauritian food was outstanding, the Asian was poor.

Would be great if they had complementary bicycles to explore the area

Room Tip: Take a sea view and on second floor or else loungers will be looking in on you all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrantMc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to the Recif as a couple with our eyes wide open, having read every single review posted prior to booking our trip, hence the rating of 'Excellent' based on it's 3 star rating.
I find it incredible what people complain about, even the ones that haven't even stayed at the Recif, which in fact is against the rules of Trip Advisor and should be removed.
Let me start with commenting on some of the issues that some previous visitors have had:
Rodents etc. - We did not see any rats or mice during our 2 week stay. Top tip is to keep your door closed as much as you can to keep any interested critters out. We did have a Gecko get in our room that the the cleaners removed for us. There are lots of these around the hotel and they are really no problem. We had lots of ants at one point, reception gave us some spray and all sorted, so no real problem.
Staff attitude: We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Bearing in mind that we are English and the main clientel are French, we didn't feel we were treated any differently to anyone else. I think that the odd negative comment comes from the fact that there is a mix of young and old members of staff, with the younger ones learning the trade. Particular thanks to Arvesh Mohun (cheekie chappie), Stephanie from the Spa who was wonderful and gave excellent treatment and advice to both of us, the other ladies from the Spa who were always helpful and smiling and finally the Manager Raymond who was always around making sure everything was ok and even stopped to give us a lift back from the shop one day.
Food and drink : We went half board which was ideal for us. breakfast was varied and the evening meals alternated between buffet and service, just remember it is a 3 star hotel. We had a meal in the Ocean restaurant on our last night which was excellent, bit extra to pay but worth it. Drinks are reasonably priced. Wine by the bottle started from about £25, so my wife drunk it by the glass, although she wasn't too keen on what she was served.
Beach was ok, the lads from the beach will take you out snorkling etc.
Beach sellers: special thanks to Vicky and his wife Trishia who do wonderful barbeques. Also if you want any trips then book them with Vicky as you can trust him. You get other people selling bits and pieces who are ok. The Oyster man seemed to be about but everyone seemed wise to his little scam of ripping people off (avoid him like the plague). Top tip, do wear beach shoes when going in the water.
Getting around - We used the bus which was an experience (hold on tight), glad I didn't drive (make sure you are an experienced driver if you do), taxi's, haggle and you will get a better deal, we didn't use them much. Went to Port Louis which is a hectic place, preffered Grand Baie which was quieter and more civilised. Pre booked the Wild South West Trip through Thomas Cook which was expensive but good. Also went on boat trip to Gabriel Island (through wrong beach seller) was promised 90% chance of seeing Dolphins (more like 5% as the boat guys hadn't seen any for 2 weeks). Vicky is your man for trips, he knows what he is on about.
Big downer - Stray dogs. If you are animal lovers, like us, then this island is not for you, these dogs are not dangerous but there are many strays that run around free. We saw one being run over which wasn't a pleasant experience.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Upon arrival we were booked to room number 109, which is the most run-down room we have ever experienced. Even the travel agent representative whom we showed the room was shocked. Only after negotiating for 2 days with the management and the GM we were given an acceptable room.
The only nice thing to be said about this place is the design and lay out of the hotel. Everything else from service attitude to food quality, the beach and even the quality of the beds is way below standard.
Its a miracle to me how anyone could have enjoyed their stay. But it is probably hard to admid that after spending 12 hours on the plane and spending a substantial amount of money that the hotel was the wrong choice.
BTW the island is compared to SE-Asia not exciting at all. Most places in Thailand, Malaysia and Bali are much better especially form the service and food perspective.

Room Tip: upper level seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A smaller hotel, just what we wanted. Pointe aux Piments (West side of the Island) is the best side if you don't want too much wind.
The service was perfect. Every night free live music. The hotel also provided for free: glass boat - snorkelling - waterskiing - sun beds on the beach.
The food was OK, some nights it was buffet, other nights you were served. It was not a "michelin star" restaurant, but that is reflected in the price.
Rooms were clean, not very big, but everything was provided for.
The only negative thing was, you had to pay for the tea and coffee facilities in your room, and the bar couldn't provide a nice fresh coffee, it came out of a coffee machine, as well at the breakfast the coffee was not really nice (bad for coffee drinkers). But for the rest the hotel was a dream come true.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the beach with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belgy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pointe Aux Piments
1.3 km away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
853 reviews
14.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,703 reviews
8.8 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,527 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,093 reviews
35.4 km away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recif Attitude? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recif Attitude

Address: Royal Road, Pointe Aux Piments, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe Aux Piments
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 Spa Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pointe Aux Piments
Price Range: ₹ 6,643 - ₹ 17,714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Recif Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the north west of Mauritius, Recif Attitude is a must if you want to go back to essentials, to recharge your batteries, to spend time together as a family or as a couple, to spend time with friends...Nestled in a white sandy creek overlooking a beautiful natural marine preserve, this "Adult Only" hotel is an invitation to Farniente. Guests can spend hours chatting, sipping an exotic cocktail bare feet in the sand or in one of the cosy sitting corners... At sunset, the ideal spot to watch that enormous orange sun entering the sea slowly...Dressed in white and wood, Recif Attitude is a mix of comfort, vibrant Mauritian soul and boutique hotel spirit. The 70 room hotel with its cubical architecture, modern furniture and refined design, is decorated with taste. Warm welcome, caring and discreet staff, together with unique body care and facials of the Spa Attitude, without forgetting the seafood restaurant, contribute to the subtle luxury of this 3 star sup. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Recif Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Recif Hotel Pointe Aux Piments
Le Recif Pointe Aux Piments
Recif Attitude Mauritius/Pointe Aux Piments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing