We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value, get what you pay for.”
Review of Gold Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gold Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Umhlanga
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very Good Value, get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have visited many hotels in Mauritius, and would rate Gold Beach hotel very good value for money. While it is situated on one of the best beaches in Mauritius, you do not have to pay 5 star prices to enjoy the island. Do not try to compare it with the luxury hotels that surround it. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel; it is a small, cozy and very clean 2 star hotel with friendly staff. If you want clean comfortable rooms, good service and a hotel right on the beach, this is it. Food and drinks in this hotel were about 30 to 50% cheaper than in the 5star hotels. One of the best things about this hotel; they do not charge you $1000 corkage if you want to bring your own wine to the table.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SvB-CvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    100
    36
    10
    19
See reviews for
38
116
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed with wife and 2 teenaged kids for 1 week.we had two cottages.the resort is located at a wonderful beach on one side.also, it is very close to shops on the other side.the rooms are decent. since we used to go for day tours on most days,we were using the resort mostly in the evenings only.with 31 rooms, you never get a feeling of being in a very crowded place.it has a small pool overlooking the beach. the beach itself is very clean.
the cabana bar serves a good variety of drinks.
the restaurant ,by the poolside, also overlooks the ocean. the quality of the food is very good.
the most amazing part of the stay was that each and every staff member was very cooperative.
on our 2nd night, the kids room had a little problem with the cooling.they agreed to shift us to another room in less than a minute!the rooms are well cleaned every day and fresh sheets and towels provided everyday.plenty of hot water,lcd tv, gym etc.
basically everything you want is there!it is not a plush resort. but is great value for money.
it is 20 mins walk from the main shops of flic en flac.and 2 mins walk from a small market at wolmar.so kids could always walk down to get their quota of chips/colas etc.
the restaurant staff is sooo adjusting, that it is difficult for me to express myself.the manager was always there, asking about everyone.since the buffet was mostly continental, they were always ready to provide us with indian food(at no extra cost).
the prices are also ok, as compared to other resorts.there is a free flow of coffee /creamer /tea sachets in the rooms.
there is also a quad biking center just 50 mtrs away from the resort. it is more reasonable as compared to the one at casela. also you save on taxi fare to go to casela.
overall a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiralsDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We honestly couldn't beleive this hotel only has 2*, I don't like big OTT hotels when I'm on holiday and I'm used to budget hotels. The reviews and price made us pick this hotel and we were very impressed. The room was quiet and clean, the sheets and towels changed daily. The food at the restaurant is fantastic, I wasn't keen on the soups they served each night, but the rest of it I couldn't fault.

The hotel fronts onto the beach and a good section of coral so pack your snorkels! I would recommend getting some rubber beach shoes not flip flops for the beach as it does have some large pieces of coral in. The swimming pool is clean and was mostly quiet when we were there. There is a bar on site which we didn't use, but we did have some drinks with our dinner which you pay for at the end of your stay, worth keeping a tab of how much you spent.

The room comes with a free safe, more than enough towels, as most rooms don't have a balcony, there is a small washing line in your shower to dry off beach clothes. There is a TV in the room which my boyfriend was delighted to discover played the football (in french) there is also BBC world wide news. The room comes with a small fridge freezer, there is a small supermarket over the road that sells water etc. Note that the island doesn't have cows so they import dairy products from new Zealand so the milk is only long life and is difficult to get hold of. The rooms also have british plugs so you won't need travel adapters.

The hotel gives you a voucher for beach towels so you don't use the ones in the room on the beach, you have to trade this in at reception each day, but I recommend using this rather than packing a towel yourself. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom, but its not very strong, so if like me your hair takes ages to dry you may struggle with this, but it does the job.

I would recommend going on a boat trip to flat island if you want to snorkel, we saw the biggest fish there, the taxi drivers outside the hotel will be able to arrange this for you. If you have children with you I would recommend the Cassella Nature Park, you can pet baby monkeys and other animals there and also if you are feeling brace you can go walking with lions and pet cheetas (you have to book this quite a way in advance so book before you go out there).

Public transport is difficult on the island so you will either have to rely on taxis or rent a car. The taxis are all affiliated to a hotel and can only pick up from said hotel. As a result, your taxi driver will have to wait for you at the venue you are going to. All prices are set with the Hotel so you won't be able to negotiate these, however, if you fit in more things in one day the rate is a bit more reasonable. I would recommend going to see some of the volcanic craters, there is one with a beautiful waterfall we did on the way home from the crocodile park.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_Scooter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed here for my honeymoon during feb 2010. Overall a good place to stay.

PROS:
* I could get good indian food for dinner specially cooked for us as I am a vegetarian. Very courteous restaurant staff (especially Pravesh).

* The place is very close to a Super Market and a bus-stop which makes it the biggest advantage. Other resorts like Move n Pick, Indian Resort, Tamasa, Sands Resort, etc where some of my friends also stayed during the same time are quite inaccessible by public transport. Gold Beach is situated near Flic en Flac which according to my tour guide is one of the best places in Mauritius.

cons:
* only 2 or 3 sea facing rooms. When I requested for one during check-in, they said it is not possible and did not even give a room with balcony even though many were available.

* a few bugs in the room during evenings. This shouldn't be a major concern.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukhoi35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Hi,
We have been to in FEB-2010 Gold Beach. The experiance is fantastic as you would get more than expected. Facilities are good and the staff is very very helpful and polite. You can get INDIAN VEG food on request and cook at the hotel is expert.
All together verry good hotel and great experiance to stay.

Regards,
Gaurav

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GauravFEB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flic En Flac hotels
0.6 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,373 reviews
2.7 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,130 reviews
2.6 km away
Anelia Resort & Spa
Anelia Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Flic En Flac
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Aanari Hotel & Spa
Aanari Hotel & Spa
#10 of 18 in Flic En Flac
591 reviews
0.1 km away
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
Pearle Beach Resort & Spa
#8 of 18 in Flic En Flac
929 reviews
2.0 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Beach Resort

Property: Gold Beach Resort
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,526 - ₹ 15,805
Hotel Class:3 star — Gold Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Beach Resort, in Mauritius, is located in the Western coastal village of Flic en Flac along a beautiful white sandy beach.The Hotel’s concept is to offer to guests the best holidays in a relaxing & enchanting environment with a selection of water sports activities and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Gold Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Beach Hotel Flic En Flac
Gold Beach Resort Mauritius/Flic En Flac
Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing