We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$287
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$270
View deal
Agoda.com
$225
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Hotels.com$287
travelup.com$311
Priceline$272
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,470)
Filter reviews
5,471 results
Traveller rating
4,087
1,066
231
51
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,087
1,066
231
51
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thatched bungalows coconut cafe sister hotel sugar beach beach bar jean luc wine bar mini golf our honeymoon palm trees mini bar beautiful beach kids club half board big thanks all inclusive package superior room special thanks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 5,471 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2021 via mobile

Seeking for a 2 weeks relaxing home we’ve chosen a garden bungalow in the La Pirogue. The bungalow (in our case #112) is nice, clean and offers all one needs. The bed is perfect (not too hard but also not like the usual too soft hotel beds) and is equipped with reading lights. Sockets are UK standard. Bungalows are shared by 2 parties, each with separate entrances. The garden is in a very good condition as well and plenty of birds sing all day long.

The beach offers enough sunbeds for everyone, just selecting the spot at the beach needs some care, as the area closed to the pools is continuously under music (especially during aqua gymnastics classes). The water is not very deep here and water shoes are not really needed. The beach is cleaned every day in the morning by the ressort stuff.

The Wolmar restaurant does all its best to surprise with daily changing dinner themes with really great selections. The chefs and entire kitchen stuff are very helpfull in case of any questions on the offered food. Half board was the perfect choice. One thing to know: long trousers are expected at dinner and the hotel shop doesn’t really offer any (besides green or red ones). So better bring some from home. For all other things - there are some small super markets in walking distance (~5min) that offer from sun screen to beer all one might need.

Several times we were interviewed by the stuff if all is well with our stay and if we have everything we need. In general - all the stuff is very friendly here.

We used the car rental service of the hotel, that is a cooperation with ABC car rental. All went well and the car was as promised at the right time available, clean and fully functional.

WiFi is available in the entire ressourt area (also at the beach) offering on avarage ~80Mbps UL/DL

To sum it up: La Pirogue offers a nice atmosphere for a relaxing vacation and the stuff does all it's best to make it a pleasent time.

Room tip: As mentioned earlier, bring long trousers for the dinners.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank FTL-TPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clency Romeo, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2021

Dear FTL-TPA,

Thank you for providing us the opportunity of hosting you at La Pirogue A Sun Resort Mauritius and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am pleased to read that you had an unforgettable experience and that our hosts have done a great job taking care of every detail during your stay. Your comments inspire us to continue to strive for perfection and I am sure your informative comments will motivate future guests to visit us again and again.

It will be an honor for La Pirogue team to have you back and offer you our sincere hospitality on your next visit.

Kind regards

Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2021

We came for 10 days to La Pirogue and stayed in a beach pavillon. Well, that pavillon (no 335) was situated between trees and palm trees and was very light and very very clean with a perfect view at the beach. Already at the check in everyone was exceptionally friendly and we were very warmly welcomed!
The beach: it looks like a paradise with turquoise water and soft sand under palm trees. Though some people think that they have to reserve a sunbed in the early morning, there are plenty of them and everyone finds a nice places with an umbrella.
The food/restaurant: breakfast is organized as a buffet where you can get anything you want. We were always served really friendly, especially Jonathan was very very friendly and helpful!! In the evening we invest in the a la carte restaurant, which was a nice quiet place with good food. The other nights we ate at the main restaurant (Wolmar restaurant) where they serve buffet. Though there are lots of people in this hotel, it is never crowded. Here especially Ravin did an extraordinary job: he was always extremely helpful and friendly and was always there for us, when we needed something. But also the entire crew of the evening buffet did. a great job. The food was always very good and since they change the theme for the buffet every night you will always find something new.

Apart from the hotel we rented a scooter for some days- we asked at the reception, where they were really helpful and organized everything with Arum from Klokan Motorentals- that was fantastic and just 20 minutes after they called him he brought the scooter to the hotel. That service from the hotel and the rental was excellent!

It is just to conclude, that the holiday was perfect and we‘d come back any time to this place. We never met people that were that friendly without harassing at any time and fulfilled every wish we had! Thanks a lot to all of you for making our holiday a perfect one!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dreamchaser1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clency Romeo, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2021

Dear Dreamchaser1109,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for your kind compliments and observations about our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed the amenities and special touches we provide to our guests to help enhance their experience.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and was well taken care of by the team, we shall let them know your how happy you were with their dedicated services.

I'll look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards

Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2021

The Hotel fully reopened mid October and many of the experienced staff we knew from three previous visits had taken retirement. New recruits were being trained by the remaining experienced staff but were not fully functional leading to some slow service at times.

We would like to thank the following staff for their friendly and attentive service :
Kamala, Cindy and Sophie Breakfast & Lunch
Raj and Sabrina Dinner in Wolmar Restaurant
Vijay and Cindy Coconut Cafe Bar
Kristel at Le Morne beach bar

COVID precautions for guests in the Wolmar Restaurant were quite lax with mask wearing not being enforced and hand sanitisation often ignored. On our last night notices appeared saying masks were mandatory but guests were ignoring this and were not being challenged.

The Covid Testing on arrival and Day 5 was very efficiently carried out and free of charge.

We had our birthdays during our stay and were invited by management to have dinner in the Magenta Restaurant which we really enjoyed and was much appreciated. The excellent food and service in a lovely setting made for a memorable evening.

We hope to return again.

Room tip: Beach front bungalows have nice sea views.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 609antonyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clency Romeo, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2021

Dear 609antonyl

Thank you for your constructive online comments.

Your thankful note to Kamla, Cindy Sophie, Raj Sabrina, Vijay & Cindy, and Kristel will be shared to them with much pleasure.

On the same note, I would like to apologise for the slow service you have experienced at some moment during your stay with us. Indeed with the pandemic, many of our staffs left and we had to recruit new members to ensure a good level of service. Be assured, the new recruits are trained to adapt to the hospitality we are known for and are being followed by our professional supervisors.

Concerning the protocols, it is mandatory to wear mask on the buffet however, seated at the Restaurant, you are allowed to remove your mask to savour the delicious food prepared by the Kitchen squad. Hand sanitisers are available on the restaurant concierge desk and on the buffet as well.

I am also glad to read that the antigenic tests carried out on the 5th day was to your satisfaction. The charge of the test depends on the package bought.

Thank you for highlighting your birthday dinner at Magenta, and the excellent service provided by the team,

We hope you will staywith us again soon.

Kind regards

Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2021 via mobile

We stayed in La Pirogue for 8 days an our overall conclusion: just awesome!

I work in tourism since nearly 15 years myself and I was delighted by the friendlyness and the service orientation. The resort leave nothing to be desired and the beach is beautiful.

Yesterday the team of La Pirogue organized a romantic dinner right at the beach for us for a very special occasion.
The setting was beautiful with love for the details and looked fantastic. The food was just awesome.
Many thanks to Kenny, Parwez, Arsif, Hans & Wendy who made this special evening an unforgettable experience for us. A special thanks to Hans who took care of us the whole time. With his professional, open and mindful attitude he created a very warm atmosphere which made us feel at home. Dhanyavaad .

We want to thank Anurada for the best Omelettes every morning. You are the egg magician and Kamila for her excellent and caring service.

Guys thanks for the fantastic time. You took great care of us and we will come back for sure.

Miriam & Stephan

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephanreichelt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clency Romeo, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2021

Dear Miriam & Stephan,

First and foremost, thank you for highlighting the efforts made by the entire team to ensure you have a memorable experience at the Resort.

We are pleased to read that your romantic dinner on the beach was beyond your expectations and that the team managed to make it a wonderful moment for both of you.

Be assured your thankful note will be shared with all of the staffs specially to those who marked your stay with us.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you once again very soon!

Kind regards

Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2021 via mobile

Great service, room was lovely, clean and tidy. Restaurants are nice, food delicious... We definitely recommend staying here. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had really great anniversary celebration here, thank you very much!!!!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 888kate_ina_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Clency Romeo, General Manager at La Pirogue, A Sun Resort, Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2021

Dear 888kate_ina_,

It is a pleasure to read that you had a great celebration at the Resort and we would like to thank you for having chosen La Pirogue for your anniversary.

We remain available should you have any query regarding your next stay at La Pirogue A Sun Resort Mauritius

Kind regards

Clency Romeo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews