We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream for one week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Pirogue Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

the setting is beatiful, the hotel very relaxing and charming. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The beach is white, clean and very large, so that there is plenty of space. The water is cristaline and warm with beautiful colors. Fishes and corals are present only in some spots, as most of the corals are ruined. But you can take excursions to nearby beaches or to the fantastic Marine Park on the other side of the island. The food is absolutely top level, the buffet always rich. The personell is always friendly. Perfect for families with children but also for couples.

Room Tip: Even standard rooms are Ok since they are very close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank family2011_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 757 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

A lot of travellers return to La Pirogue, and after staying there, we would too. We spent most of our 2 weeks wandering from its gardens to the beach to laze, swim and snorkle, with forays to the buffet, just feeling so lucky to be there. All staff were very helpful and obviously well-trained. The rooms were clean, beds made daily, and had all the amenities we could wish, including shower products. Weather varied, but the temperatures were always warm and humid. I went to the free gym a few times, and had the place to myself, but staff came to check I was ok using the equipment. We also tried out the next door sugar Beach hotel (equally beautiful, but with a more modern 'plantation' vibe. We preferred the Rustic lushness of being surrounded by Pirogues beautifully manicured gardens. Food was excellent- we had to force ourselves to try a different restaurant just for a change, and had two wonderfully romantic meals at Citronellas restaurant. Sitting out under the stars with a beach fire in front of your table was just heaven - like the food and again faultless service. Above all - Peace! No blaring radios or late-night discos, children had plenty to keep them occupied with the kids club, and there was enough space to give everyone a little slice of beach just for them. Even though it was fully booked when we were there, you never felt you had to bag a sunbed because guess what? There were plenty for everyone, all day! Other hotels take note! It's such a simple thing to do to relieve petty 'towels at dawn' stressing, but I've never been anywhere else that has enough for all it's guests- so well done La Pirogue. As well as the day trips on catamarans (worth doing at least once to get great views of the island, and usually good value) we went on a walk with lions at the nearby Botanical gardens (Casella gardens?). Worth every penny!! And they take photos of you whilst you're doing it so you can concentrate on enjoying being with the animals. Not for small children though, so be sensible, and wear stout shoes as you are walking on rough ground. No hills, and it only lasts about an hour, but it will be hot, so dress to cover up if you burn easily. Worth taking a taxi to explore the island, but negotiate a price first, as they can get expensive. Supermarket down the road is an easy 10 min walk, for very cheap cold drinks. We went half board, which worked out fine. I could go on...but just go there and see for yourselves...if you can find ANYTHING to complain about...then there's just no pleasing you!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you're worried about it, but they all seemed well-placed for a peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank katymac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed at La Pirogue for 10 days on half board and we were blown away by the experience! The service, accommodation, location, food and activities available were all top notch. Not being big drinkers, staying on half board was well worth it! Would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barrygabyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

La Pirogue is a very great place to enjoy a complete holiday. The setting and people are among the best we have experenced. Savinging hard to return.

Room Tip: any rooms as buggy is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 668peterjohn668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We spent nine days at La Pirogue and had a great time. It was a bit different to the hotels we usually go to, but has a lot going for it.

We arrived very late at night, extremely tired and feeling a tiny bit fractious. There was no welcome drink – as we usually get on arrival – and it took a little while to get things sorted and reach our room. However, when we eventually stepped inside our semi-detached cabana we felt the hotel had redeemed itself by presenting us with light meals and a drink.

This is a larger hotel than we usually frequent for our holidays. There are two hundred plus rooms, spread out over very well manicured grounds – and it feels spacious. The room itself was not large, but adequate for our needs. A very high ceiling gave tit a feeling of airiness. However, it was a bit dark in there.

If you like an early morning walk on the beach then this place is ideal. You can stroll for miles and see few people.

However, if snorkelling is your thing (which it is for me) it is a bit disappointing. There’s not a lot to see in the very shallow water leading to the reef. There are some small clumps of coral here and there and a few colourful fish – but the principal underwater colour is grey. On the plus side, the sea is very safe for bathing, although there are sometimes strong cross currents.

The hotel does its best to prevent early-morning sunbed reserving, but it is widely ignored. However, there was never a shortage of available sunbeds during our stay.

Service at La Pirogue is excellent. Nothing is too much trouble for staff. The room service was superbly efficient. We’d nip out for breakfast and find that the maid had been and gone by the time of our return.

Food was, overall, very good. The main self-service Thatches restaurant was as you'd expect: on a par with many other hotels we visited. It's quite big, bustling and generally OK. We prefer waiter service at dinner andthe Paul and Virginie restaurant served excellently presented and very high quality fare. We ate quite often at the neighbouring and sister hotel Sugar Beach, which is a one star step up. We had meals at its Citronella and Tides restaurants that were superb.

However, depending on your board arrangements, waiter service meals can be expensive in both hotels: evening meal with wine can cost £100 or more, and think £40-£50 for lunch if you like a beer or two or glasses of wine with it. Drinks can be very expensive at the bars, too. So that’s something to bear in mind when booking, should you like a few daily tinctures.

Unlike some previous reviewers we support a dress code for dinner. Most people at the hotel (well,mainly women) dress well for an evening out. Keep vests and shorts for the daytime, we say.

We needed to use wifi to keep in daily touch with our business and this is an hotel with a reasonable policy. It’s free in the main bar area and can also be available at a (quite high) charge in your room. We had an initial technical glitch, but the IT manager sorted it out: he was excellent. Why there should be any charge for this service in hotels remains a mystery.

One other difference to our usual holidays was that this was not adults only. There were very many families there (overwhelmingly French). This does mean that there are lots of young children, and occasionally five year olds running around during cabaret at 10pm (which detracts from the atmosphere for the audience and seems unfair on the performers). There’s a kids’ club to keep them entertained during the day.

If you’re a diver and over 60 then you must have a Nitrox certificate before you’re allowed to dive. This was a new one on me, having recently dived in the Caribbean.

So, overall, this is a very well-run hotel with lovely grounds and pools, and excellent beach with very safe bathing. It's great for families, but we'll probably return to our adults only theme in the future.

Room Tip: We tried to upgrade to a beach fron cabana - but none was available. Looks like you'll have to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cardiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
0.1 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,577 reviews
18.4 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,015 reviews
1.5 km away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,233 reviews
16 km away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
35.5 km away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pirogue Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pirogue Mauritius

Address: Coastal Road, Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius (Formerly La Pirogue Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#2 Business Hotel in Flic En Flac
#3 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price Range: ₹ 19,134 - ₹ 76,307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Pirogue Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its authenticity, La Pirogue, Mauritius is well versed in the art of Mauritian hospitality. This resort has enjoyed a solid reputation for romance and excellent service since its creation in 1976. With its warm atmosphere, wonderful beach, exquisite restaurants, lively bars, high-end Cinq Mondes Spa and the extensive recreational and sporting activities, this mythical hotel promises guests a memorable holiday. La Pirogue nestles in 14 hectares of magnificent tropical gardens where the fragrance of hibiscus and frangipani permeate the majestic coconut grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Pirogue Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pirogue Hotel Flic En Flac
La Pirogue Hotel Wolmar
La Pirogue Wolmar
La Pirogue Mauritius Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing