We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Flic En Flac
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Paradise island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The resort is excellently located in a tropical garden.Probably needs some more maintenance for a 5* hotel.We had some small problems in the beginning,connected with the A/C but all have been fixed quickly by the stuff.With few exception the stuff is very friendly,and with the help of some small tips the service is very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground level room.The terrace is much better than the upper balcony and the aces to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BucharestCatalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    470
    212
    79
    47
See reviews for
479
923
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

we stayed for two weeks,within August, on a half board basis. the breakfast and the food in general was excellent, with a variety of dishes and lovely desserts every day. usually we had a lunch on the beach bar of the hotel (which was not included in our package)- nice light dishes, but the bar in general was quite expensive (about 10euros per drink and 20 per dish).
try the spa!!everything was just great!!!the place, the staff, the treatments!!!
the hotel staff was always polite and helpful!
very nice, spacious and clean rooms!!
an excellent place to get a good rest and nice evening beach walks! of course be prepared for a huge contrast between luxurius hotels and the poverty that you face in the cities, specially those on the inner country.
on a holiday level, the only things i did not enjoy much was a) the sea; coming from greece is difficult to swim in the ocean-not that clean and i did not feel safe out of the lagoons, eg when water skiing on the open ocean i had a little fear of sharks, b) the weather; although we stayed on the west side of the island, which is the ideal for this time of year, the weather was changing all the time. within these two weeks we never had more than three hours of sun in a row. the sun and the clean sea were just what we missed from
greek summers... otherwise a unique tropical experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linoulav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for posting your review of our property on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you had a lovely stay at the Sofitel Imperial Hotel and have taken note of your opinion concerning the high price of drinks.

We really appreciate your comments and look forward to your visit again to our property.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

It's late in the day to be writing about this property as we stayed here June 2011. We were an extended family of 11 and stayed for 6 days. When we arrived all exhausted from our flight we realised that my dad had left his bag behind at the airport. The hotel staff was more than helpful,made calls to the airport and arranged for a taxi and a reliable hotel driver to get the bag picked up. Their response was quick and solution effective. We just had to pay the taxi fare, which was fair enough. The pool is fantastic, it's like you are wallking into the sea minus the waves. They have peddle boats and kayaks which are free for the guests. The boundries upto where you can venture out in the ocean are well defined. The Property is huge, with nicely maintained gardens, and there is no dearth of loungers. The food at the chinese restaurant is good and the coffee shop nice and open, but with a lot of uninvited flies and occassional birds that use it as well. Their sea side restaurant serves great food and they do have happy hours. The rooms are fairly nice, but we did have a problem with our card key not working every evening. Then again they took care of that rather quickly too. The Bath area is seperate and spacious. The ventilation system around the loo works beautifully. We enjoyed our stay and hoped we had a few more days at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmgarewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to post your review on our property on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that your stay has been a positive experience and that you enjoyed the services provided by our Team.

Thank you again for your comments.

We look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights mid January for some R & R at the end of a Safari in Kenya. We opted for a prestige suite because we were able to get it at an early booking special rate of 50% discount. To get this rate the room total had to be paid immediately and no cancellations/refunds were permitted; we had Travel Insurance so it was worth the slight risk. Our visit did not start well. I had organised with the hotel a transfer at either end of our stay and after a frustrating 20 minutes looking everywhere at the airport for our driver it was apparent no one was there to pick us up. We took a taxi and arrived, furious at the hotel. We were later than expected because of what had happened and the check – in at this hotel takes an inordinate length of time. With hindsight we should have deferred the “briefing” until the next day but we just wanted to get it over & done with. We were starving and just able to manage a quick dinner afterwards in their buffet restaurant before it closed for the evening. I had complained bitterly to Cynthia, the reservation agent on arrival, she had seemed almost surprised that I was unhappy. We noticed that after this and during our stay here if we had to approach the front desks she did her level best to avoid us. We settled in and two days later were asked to go up to reception one morning for them to explain to us what had happened. Apparently I had informed them that I was going to get a rental car???? Not true. I did reserve a rental car directly with Sixt on their website but at no time mentioned this to the Sofitel. The car was dropped off to us on the morning after our arrival and collected again on the morning before our departure. The front desk manager took some convincing that the hotel had absolutely nothing to do with the rental car issue and even if I had mentioned it to them surely the agent I made the transfer booking with should have confirmed with me if she thought I no longer required the transfer? We were given a reluctant and condescending apology of sorts but we would have felt better if the whole scenario had not been dragged up again.
The suite we were in was large and very nice. It was reasonably clean with the exception of the floor which gave us black soles of our feet if you walked barefoot on it until they washed it on the third day of our stay. The only problem we had with the room was the shower waste in the main bathroom was semi blocked with someone’s hair and it blocked up completely and didn’t drain after 2 days but it was rectified as soon as I mentioned it to housekeeping. The suite was large with a lounge complete with a bureau to use as an office desk, two bathrooms, two showers, a bath, 2 TV’s, 4 telephones and 2 completely separate Air Conditioners. The bedroom was big with a walk in wardrobe and a blissfully comfortable & also huge bed. To the Sofitel’s credit there is free wi-fi which works in the rooms. We were very happy with the room for the price paid but it would have been too expensive if we had paid the full price. To charge the full price the room would need to be updated with fresh and modern décor. The room was at the rear of the property & had no sea view but we knew this. The restaurants’ here are a mixed bag. The service levels are extremely variable and mostly are very good but we received some exceptionally poor service from just plain rudeness to being totally ignored. At no time were we anything other than polite but we noticed on several occasions people loosing their cool with restaurant staff. Overall the Chinese restaurant is probably the best. The main buffet restaurant is inconsistent; we dined here three times and enjoyed it twice. It is here that you take your breakfast and it is definitely better to be early rather than late. The later you are the less choice you will have and the more the service will have deteriorated. The breakfast is OK rather than outstanding. I only had a cooked breakfast twice, for me I am not keen on bacon, sausage, etc…that is just dripping with fat. Curiously, in a French hotel the cheeses when you could get them were just rubbish. You have to make advance reservations for all but the main buffet restaurant & they are keen to get you to order a Lobster meal in the beachside restaurant. Don’t do it! Their lobster dinner is the biggest rip – off food wise we have ever seen. You get a small appetiser, half a small lobster each (horribly dry & overcooked in our case) & a piece of non descript cake for dessert. We returned to the beach side restaurant on another evening and ordered from their menu which was much better but not outstanding. We had two room service meals of the jumbo prawns and they were really good, the best food we ate at this hotel. We also had two meals out at the local Hippocampe restaurant and this place put all the food outlets in the hotel to shame. The beach the hotel is on is OK but becomes very shallow at low tide. The snorkelling here is poor and if you walk to the left is a little better but then you have to deal with a boat lane & have to keep making sure the many boats that pass have seen you. We were very glad we had a rental car and after touring around the entire Island; settled for the last three days of our stay on a routine of driving each day to the beach near the village of Le Morne (not on the Le Morne peninsula but slightly further round) which we considered to be the best beach on the Island and the least populated part of Mauritius. One day we tried to take some snorkelling gear with us (we didn’t say we were leaving the grounds) but were informed we could only have the gear for 2 hours!! Overall I would not recommend this hotel. It would not be hard to do better and if we return to Mauritius we will look for a newer property somewhere on the south coast. Interestingly the south coast is the area where most of the new construction is taking place on the Island, there is a gorgeous new Lux property among others being constructed on the Le Morne peninsula.

Room Tip: I would only recommend this Hotel if you can get a good room rate as we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a residential training- Hats off to conference staff: Seambar, Alvin & more under the leadership of Marie Noelle for trying their best to accommodate the residential training. Their professionalism was much appreciated, especially Seambar & his staff for tending to our each and every need. And a big thank you to the guest relations staff as well. The food cooked by chef Jacques Ledou was very good and I would definitely go back to Sofitel for his dishes!!
Since I was at the hotel for a training, I cannot speak to all the amenities that the hotel offers. However, there were a few unfortunate moments that definitely left a bad taste about the hotel, especially in terms of customer service.
i) Very rude and obnoxious server, Visham, at dinner who did not hesitate to argue with the customer
ii) The person who supervised the waiters for one of our lunches was very defensive and disrespectful
iii) One of the participants had a dead cockroach in his food. And if it could not get worse, the person who tended to the matter, Jean Claude, instead of handling the issue in a professional and respectful manner decided to blurt out that ' the cockroach definitely did not come from his kitchen' and did not apologise.
Unfortunately, these instances have definitely ruined my experience at Sofitel--- and I would not recommend this hotel because these very poor customer service experiences.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelImperial, General Manager at Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Madam / Dear Sir,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor further to your stay at our property.

We have noted your satisfaction regarding the conference facilities and the services provided by our Staff.
We would like however to sincerely apologize regarding the poor service you experienced with some of our Staff. Your valuable feedback will certainly assist us in the improvement of some services.

We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you and look forward to welcome you on your next visit to our property.

Sincerely Yours,


Christophe Carlier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flic En Flac
1.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
0.7 km away
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
Sands Suites Resort & Spa
#1 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
17.2 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
46.1 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,329 reviews
0.2 km away
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
Maradiva Villas Resort and Spa
#3 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa

Property: Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
Address: Wolmar, Flic En Flac, Mauritius 90517
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Flic En Flac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Flic En Flac
#6 Romantic Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Luxury Hotel in Flic En Flac
#7 Spa Hotel in Flic En Flac
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,233 - ₹ 26,203
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the delights of Mauritius at this luxury hotel, which spreads over 9 hectares of tropical garden on the west coast of the island. Most of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated in a modern Asian decor using natural materials. Rooms are equipped with broadband Internet access and the Sofitel MyBed for ultimate comfort. Pamper yourself at our Asian style spa, enjoy a day at the golden beach, or savour gourmet cuisine in our restaurant and we will make sure you relax in style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Resort And Spa
Sofitel Mauritius l`Imperial Hotel Flic En Flac
Sofitel Imperial Hotel
Accor Imperial Hotel
Sofitel Flic En Flac
Wolmar Sofitel
Sofitel Imperial Mauritius
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa Flic En Flac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing