We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food in flic-en-flac”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hippocampe - CLOSED

Hippocampe
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Best food in flic-en-flac”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

A truly International restaurant with excellent food and service that puts any Hotel restaurant in the area to shame. The jumbo prawns or jumbo shrimps served in many different ways are to die for. You will probably have to make a reservation at the weekends here unless you arrive early. Ask them for a transfer from your hotel if you do not have a rental car.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    41
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flic en Flac, Black River, Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“warm welcome...........................................................................”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

pleasant atmosphere, tasty food...............................................

Helpful?
2 Thank TicaboC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent variety from hotel buffets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Most people in Flic en Flac are staying in hotels which have multiple restaurants, so the market for non-hotel restaurants is limited to 'escapees' or to locals. Which is a shame, as this restaurant sets out to be a prioper restaurant with interesting food, goog wine, and reasonable prices.

When we visited, only a few tables were occupied, but we were warmly welcomed, and served with drinks and a menu promptly.

The choice was good, interesting, and came perfectly cooked. The owner was friendly, chatty, and offered to bring wines from his private cellar if we were interested on our next visit. Sadly, we didn't get the chance.

When it came to leave and ask for a taxi, he said fine, you're the last guests step into my car. Now that's service!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HFielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Clean, lovely staff and gorgeous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I visited hippocampe in January 2012- there were 9 of us in total. We were staying in a villa close by and this restaurant caught our eye one evening with its lovely lighting and cleanliness of the dining areas! We were served delicious food- from seafood to steaks and currys! No complaints at all, except maybe the steak was rather salty to my tasting :-/ prices were higher than expected but we were served lovely food and the service from the staff was excellent!
We visited a second time with another 4 people, so a lot to cater for! Food came out pretty much all at the same time! Staff were very friendly and loved the children :-)
The manager made himself known on both visits which was lovely- offering travel advice and leading us in the direction of boat tours etc by people not ripping you off. Also I mentioned I had been bitten a lot by Mosquitos and went out of his way to get me a mosquito tablet plug in which worked perfectly and stopped anymore giant red bites all over me lol!
Would definitely recommend this to anyone, nice romantic setting at night, music not too loud and beautiful lighting! Thank you for having us xxx

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Telbel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We visited here for lunch and when we went back a week later for dinner the waiter remembered us, I thought that this was a very nice touch.
The food is really good and there is a varied choice of Mauritian dishes.
Every dish is individual with different flavours.
The service was also very good.
The decor is bright and clean during the day and at night it nicely lit up. The restrooms are clean, modern and luxurious.
This is definitely worth a visit

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank appleacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippocampe also viewed

Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
Flic En Flac, Riviere Noire District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing