We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week in Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel makes a great choice for those looking for tranquillity and relaxation. Situated on the east coast of the island you may get a bit less sunshine and activities than in the north or west, but the wonderful beaches definitely make up for that. You can walk for hours on either side of the hotel, and will find yourself often completely alone. This also implies that in case you look for activities (other than water sports) you may want to go elsewhere: there’s simply nothing to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, and also the hotel itself, thanks to its small scale and relaxed atmosphere, doesn’t offer much in that aspect either. (Note that the neighbouring hotel, a pretty big one, was under renovation at the time of our visit. I expect more activity when it reopens!)
The hotel itself is perched on either side of a rocky outcrop on the beach. This means it faces the sea on two sides and offers two complete different types of beaches. One side is actually part of the wide stretch of sand you find here for miles (so here’s where you grill yourself) and the other a cosy and semi-rocky section protected by trees and bushes. Swimming is excellent; the reef (about half a mile out or so) ensures shallow and clear waters all day round and the rocks that pop up here and there also make good snorkelling.
The hotel is built in Moorish style, very well taken care of, but without the opulent bling-bling you often find in tropical resorts. Its human scale and ditto atmosphere actually make it a very down to earth place where you’ll easily feel at home. As mentioned, this also means that choices are limited: one buffet restaurant, one small a la carte restaurant and a simple bar are going to be your hang-outs here. But as they’re all cosily situated around the small but beautiful swimming pool your time here is well spent.
The breakfast buffet is simple but offers sufficient choice. For dinner the theme changes on a daily basis so you won’t get bored. All food is fresh, of excellent quality and often cooked right there in front of you. There is plenty of staff around the hotel. Always friendly and helpful, sometimes a bit clumsy, but never imposing.
Rooms are spacious, with good beds, a nice half-open bathroom, a small balcony and flat screen TV + DVD player (note that you can rent DVD’s, but actually there are many movies (original version) on TV for free). All is very well cleaned and there are always plenty of fresh towels.
All in all La Palmeraie offers great value for money, so if you’re up for a week of absolute disconnection (wireless only works in the bar!), this is your place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarGio06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 387 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

excellent hotel.... very clean beach.... beautiful sea.... lovely activities.... clean swimming pool..... friendliness of all the staffs.... very beautiful honeymoon experience.....................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prashant9884209411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel architecture is really good. Diff from the normal ones :) The rooms are spacious and very very well kept. Clean and tidy.

We were there on our Honeymoon and it was really relaxing. The beach is good, only drawback being its not a private beach.

The food is good, a little more variety is needed and yes an AC restaurant would help ;)

The bar was good overlooking the pool and the beach.Spa was good again :)

Pool is again extremely neat. Would definitely recommend the hotel. Mr Ajay was extremely helpful :)

Room Tip: Beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AReehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giantit, Director of Sales at La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Greetings from Sunny Mauritius!

The whole team of La Palmeraie Boutique hotel wish to thank you for your nice comments. It's always a pleasure to see that our guests have been satisfied with their stay among us.

Your comments are very important

Concerning the point you have mentioned concerning the beach, as per Mauritian law kindly note that there are no private beaches in mauritius. For the comfort of the clients all hotels provide sunbeds / kiosks on the beach where the hotels are nested. Security officers are also posted 24hours on the beach and in hotel premises for our guests security.

You must have noticed that our dining areas are open areas and on the East Coast there is always a light breeze blowing which is very refreshing. Our Chef thank you for your input concerning the food variety, and will analyse the menu accordingly

Looking forward to welcome you once more at La Palmeraie..

Sunny Regards

Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We were a family of ten and could not fault this hotel. The all inclusive is great value for money. Only the hotel is a bit far to walk to the nearest town, but great as away from the crowds. Can't wait to go back
Vivien

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giantit, Director of Sales at La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Mr. Vivien,

Greetings from La Palmeraie!

Thank you very much for your feedback. When our guests are happy we are happy.

The nearest small village is indeed Belle Mare which is a 15 minutes walk from the hotel. The walk can be even nicer if you do it by the beach. Information for your next trip, the nearest big village is Central Flacq which is a 10 minutes drive from the hotel. A variety of nice shops are available.

Looking forward to welcome you at La Palmeraie

Sunny Regards

Sharonne
Sales&Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel as we wanted to visit the nearby island ile aux cerf. We arrived to a small reception area that did not have the capacity to fit the guests checking in at the time. We were met by a staff member who ushered us to the nearby bar/ restaurant area instead where we were given cold towels to freshen up and a tiny cup of mint tea of some sort. We were then met by ajay who was the main man at reception who told us all about the hotel facilities. Very friendly and very confident. We were told there was free wifi but afterwards trying to log on in our rooms and on the beach found that it was only available within the bar area..a pain really! We told ajay our interest in the boat trip to ile aux cerf and he was more than happy to sort this out for us. Asking the price he was quick to tell us 1900 rupees pp. We wanted to add the lobster option for the BBQ included but this couldn't be sorted as other guests weren't having it. We went to our rooms first and told him wel come down book it later. Coming Back down to book the lady at reception told us the standard price was 1750 rupees pp. Although 500rupees isn't much it's the principle really that annoyed me. We booked anyway and had a lovely time but be aware that other activities on the boat will cost more. We went paragliding Which cost additional 2000 rupees. The guys on the boat will also expect tips.
The room was adequate with a beautiful beach view! Absolutely gorgeous beach! The decor is very Asian influenced with bursts of orange n reds. There's a shower n some shampoo n shower gel provided. No bath. Beach towels were provided at reception of which a prior deposit is taken from ur credit card to ensure they are returned. Rooms cleaned once a day, probably mid morning. Floor had like little sand bugs that crawled around. No slippers provided. coffee n beverages were chargable. 2-4 euros for a coffee. Other hotel we stayed in the room was serviced 3 times a day n bottles of water were provided as well as free coffee tea. Seems annoying that prices were in euros and then rupee. Very confusing. We were half board and breakfast was same each day bread eggs pineapple and papaya. Dinner was same with limited choice. Asian influenced dishes where meat had alot of herbal spices. Beverages for some reason were not included on dinner cost u's 4 euros for a bottle of wAter.
This happened with our final bill when the bill was in rupees and euros which confused us. We asked to have it all in one currency -rupees. After conversion it was evident that we had been overcharged and addressed this with receptionist who apologised n adapted the bill.
To conclude it's an average hotel. They're not very transparent with their prices and aim to confuse you. You could definately get better for the price you pay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poohbearx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giantit, Director of Sales at La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Greetings from La Palmeraie!

Thank you very much for your comments concerning your stay with us. Feedback from our guests are valued and we do our upmost to assist them in all querries.

Further to several points mention, we will like to bring our comments:

La Palmeraie Hotel is nested on the Beach of Palmar, we are a beach hotel having rooms overlooking the lagoon, we can say that we are the only hotel in Mauritius that have Deluxe rooms so close to the beach. We are an intimate boutique hotel with a unique architecture. Our Deluxe Room measured 33 to 37 m2 and in all our rooms we have showers.

All our rooms are equipped with a kettle with tea and coffee provided on a daily basis free of charge. Nespresso machine are also available, this facility is with a supplement. Room is cleaned once a day and if a guests want to have an early service they must advise the reception.
Every evening turndown services are available.

We always welcome our guests at the bar/restaurant. While doing the check in they can enjoy the fresh air and the nice view of the swimming pool and the sea. Our traditional mint tea is served upon all guests arrival. If the mint tea is not of the client taste we propose a different cocktail.

We have WIFI facilities at the bar area free of charge and adsl internet connection in the room which is a paying service.

It forms part of our procedures to put a deposit on the invoice for the beachtowel, the amount is automatically cancelled upon check out.

Concerning the catamaran, we do provide this facility to book catamaran trip for guest that don't have a sales representative based at the hotel. The price of a catamaran trip Rs1,900 is correct which include the transfers to and from the jetty of trou d'eau douce, the catamaran trip(waterfall, snorkelling, lunch & drinks). I confirm that the Trainee receptionist give you the price of rs1750 by mistake. As a commercial gesture of this incorrect information, we take your reservation at this price. The catamaran provider could unfortunately not cater for a lobster lunch on a individual basis. However you have been given the possibility to have a nice romantic lobster dinner at the hotel which have never been booked. Our wish was to give you this service that you have not been able to get on the catamaran. External activities are the guest choices and the hotel are not accountable for services not provided.

Drinks at the bar is a paying service, except if you have book your stay in all inclusive that includes your 3 meals and drinks. Daily breakfast is served in a buffet style(fruits, yogurt, salade of the day, juice, milk, bread freshly cooked, Sausages, cheese, beacon, baked beans, eggs, doguhnuts, pancake etc. Theme buffet dinner are available everyday.

Concerning the bill we accept our error of having overcharge your account by Euro 3 which was due to a wrong rate of exchange. The bill was amended before the account has been settle. To avoid these errors, following the hotel procedures, we send a copy of the invoice to our guests to verify before finalising the bills.

We invite all our guests to inform us of their problems when they are at the hotel itself, this will help us assist you and avoid misunderstandings. We are a small boutique hotel that have the possibility to listen to each of our guests to make their stay memorable...

Sunny Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
1.3 km away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#3 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,683 reviews
27.0 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,699 reviews
32.3 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
#6 of 13 in Belle Mare
3,926 reviews
31.5 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,460 reviews
57.3 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel

Address: Coastal Rd, Palmar, Belle Mare, Mauritius 41604
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#5 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
Price Range: ₹ 8,822 - ₹ 32,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The play of light on land and sea. A glimpse of the jade and turquoise waters of the lagoon through fine voile curtains. Warm, sun-drenched colours. The beauty and purity of natural materials. La Palmeraie at Palmar on the east coast of the island possesses a unique alchemy from which its relaxing and intimate atmosphere derives. Under the MBH label, La Palmeraie offers true authenticity and conviviality, typical of traditional Mauritian family homes. A different way of discovering all the treasures – the people and the natural beauty – of the pearl of the Indian Ocean. Bars and restaurants:La Varangue:In the cool of the early morning or the peace of evening, around the pool, in a world of shimmering colour, La Varangue invites you to enjoy moments of deliciously Mauritian gourmandise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Palmeraie Belle Mare
Le Palmeraie
Hotel La Palmeraie
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel Mauritius/Belle Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing