We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Mr Last experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LUX* Belle Mare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LUX* Belle Mare
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Belle Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr Last experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

It was a memorable experience for us and especially for my son who had a wonderful time there. The staff are very helpful and always have a smile while talking to guests. Nice location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Priscilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review posted by you on Trip Advisor for us. The entire team joins me in thanking you for your kind words and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future;

Warm regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,522
    395
    91
    32
    14
See reviews for
1,245
2,134
53
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and I have travelled all over the world and stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels, infact we stayed at this hotel 8 years ago when it was called Beau Rivage, on that occasion it was so good we chose to stay here again 8 years later, sadly our visit in March 2012 lasted just 24 hours. This hotel is part of of the Lux chain of resorts, Luxury this place isn't, every aspect of this hotel is lacking in care, attention, general cleanliness and hygiene. The pool area, immaculate 8 years ago is now a filthy and cramped, the pool has been so poorly maintained the sides are covered in black mouldy bacteria, the loungers around the pool host covers and headrests also black with mould and dirt. The once wonderful gardens are now overgrown to such an extent that you will be lucky to get a view from your room as the palm trees haven't been trimmed, the lack of matainence has ruined this hotel. Our room was situated at the high rear of the complex and should of had a fantastic view of the sea, but I might as well had sat in the jungle trying to see the sea! Our room was very dated, infact it hadn't been updated since we last visited 8 years ago, the decor was stained, the linen on the bed was worn and the bed was as hard as lying on the floor. The restaurant is so sadly managed, the cutlery that the staff have remember to place on your table is dirty, the salt pot cracked, table rocking, ants climbing up your table and the limited food choice kept warm by tea light candles, expect your food warm at best. The restaurant resembles a canteen and the staff are miserable and overworked trying to look after so many issues and problems brought about by mis-management.
After breakfast the day after arriving we could take no more and requested to leave, the management admitted the rooms were inferior and offered a newer room, but sadly the problems with this so called five star resort are so vast the room being so poor is the tip of the iceberg. In fairness, I would like to thank Sheila at the front desk in arranging us a transfer to the fantastic Lux Le Morne resort, now this is five star, and a review is posted. To the Lux principle management team, you should hang your head in shame at the state of this hotel and to the hard working folk who have booked this resort, cancel, change or prepare for 2 Star standards at best!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Topman147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish M, Manager at LUX* Belle Mare, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Greetings from Lux* Belle Mare. We thank you for your review for us on Trip Advisor. It is really unfortunate that the resort did not match your expectations at all. We have studied your review in detail. You have listed the various features of the resort from the pool to the rooms to the gardening and service aspects of ours and we humbly accept your opinion on each of these. As discussed with you prior to your departure, we will be working on all the aspects you have listed. As a resort, we maintain our standards high and continually like to upgrade the services and features of ours. Infact, we do get a lot of praise from many of our guests for the beautifully landscaped gardens and the quality of our rooms and services. We are in a continuous process of improving our offerings and matching them with the requirements of our guests. The several and regular positive reviews for us on this very forum are a testimony to our standing and services. We would like to assure you that every single feedback from our guests is studied carefully and worked upon immediately. We are glad that one of our other resorts stood up to your expectations and we sincerely hope that you would give us a chance in the future to change your image about us.

Warm regards,

Ashish Modak
Resort Manager
and the entire team at Lux* Belle Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

It could use a renovation and a few new chefs. Besides that, it's a beautiful place with a great pool and beach. The WiFi on the beach was an added bonus! Also, it's a very good value or money. I would highly recommend the LUX Belle Mare!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've been meaning to write a number of reviews for a little while and this is one of them.
We were married in 2010 in the UK and honeymooned at this hotel during August. I'm going to try very hard and stay balanced in this review as overall we had a wonderful time. We didn't book the honeymoon suite as we found out they were situated in the middle area of the hotel so we booked a Lagoon suite (same price as a honeymoon suite) but it was literally right on the beach and perfect for us.
I cannot fault the situation or size of the suite nor the hotel grounds. Immaculate. The restaurants (when they were open) were great - we were AI and would recommend this option. There is a gorgeous lagoon beach that was cleaned daily and a simply stunning pool (bit on chilly side if you've not had many sunny days).
Staff were courteous and remembered our names from the start.
The only dampner on our stay was how we felt we were treated as 'honeymooners'. Perhaps I was still on a wedding day high and a little naive but I expected little finishing touches such as petals or towel swans etc. left on our bed apart from the obligatory fruit and cheap plonk (naff I know but come on it's our honeymoon!). It seemed that if you booked your wedding there as well as honeymoon you were treated a little differently - free upgrades, finishing touches in room - when I mentioned this to reception (as an aside to a problem we had with our bathroom blind) I was told you had to pay extra for a honeymoon 'package'. I'm sorry but after having forked out 5k for 2 weeks on accommodation alone this seemed ridiculous.
Also the mini bar is a bit stingy - on arrival they thought we were half board. Wow - you should have seen how that fridge was stocked but then they realised we were AI and came to our room with a big bag and proceeded to empty the fridge of all 'goodies' right in front of us - we were left with some drinks, 2 pkts of crisps, a bar of chocolate and 1 pack of cheese tuc biscuits. It was shocking and made us feel ripped off from the start! plus, considering there were 2 of us the majority of drinks in the fridge were singular by type so we had to negotiate who drank what - a few times items weren't even replenished and we had to call reception.
Also, if you were half board you were encouraged to eat in your rooms with a 10% discount per person off your bill which meant the service charge was paid for along with a % of the evenings bill. If you were AI you still had to pay for the service charge. Again, feelings of being ripped off as we had paid all of our money up front - felt like asking for a 20% per person refund on all meals we took in our room! I'm happy to pay service charge but felt we were penalised for being AI.
There was a minor problem with the blind on our bathroom window (which was the length of the wall) not covering the window entirely - we're not prudes but as we were so close to the beach everyone could see you going about your business! this took 3 attempts to repair after which my husband offered to repair it himself as it was exasperating to watch. The blind still did not cover the window but we ended up laughing about it as it was so comical and instead used the bolster off the bed to stop the beach security guard getting a good eyeful every evening :0)
The 'special & romantic' honeymoon meal in Indochine was us and 5 other couples all seated in the same corner (not so special and not so romantic) eating what felt and tasted like food a chef had prepared the previous day - cold starters, overcooked prawns to the point of mushiness. In the end we got up and left and complained to the restuarant manager. We were given another reservation and boy was this different - better menu, outstanding service (I wonder why!) and great food.
To be fair, management listened to our minor gripes and were quick to respond. I trully believe, after comparing the Beau Rivage with other 5* hotels I've stayed in around the world and of similar calibre, that with a couple of tweaks to the personal touches this would have been an all out fabulous honeymoon but I'm afraid I've been proved wrong as I usually believe "you get what you pay for" but in this instance we did not get the experience we expected.

Room Tip: Lagoon suites are literally right on the beach - fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bowen_WilliamsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent place for family, lovely facilities and hospitable people.

Would rank it as one of better places to stay. A superb experience . I would surely advise family with young kids to go to this resort.

Highlight was kids PLAY area, where the resort takes care of young children The young kids have various activities which keeps them engrossed and the staff at the play area also helps the kids with their food, while the couple can have some quality time on ther own at no additional cost.

We had experience of interacting with resort manager who was very cordial and all the staff maintained great balance of being hospitable as well as giving guest their personal space.

Great place to stay if you are ok with veg continental food. For the typical Indian traveller who needs pure veg Indian food . A full veg indian meal is a "?".
( But the hotel was kind enough to make veg cutlets and sandwiches on demand for breakfast as well as serve naan and papad for dinner).

However, this resort is on eastern coast of Mauritius so people will have to endure an hour's travel one way to visit Airport, casella bird park ; Grand baie and other popular destination.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on higher floor with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PranavGokhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belle Mare
6.7 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
56.8 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,876 reviews
25.0 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
10.5 km away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
0.4 km away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Belle Mare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Belle Mare

Property: LUX* Belle Mare
Address: Coastal Road, Belle Mare, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Belle Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Spa Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Business Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belle Mare
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belle Mare
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,576 - ₹ 1,45,589
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Belle Mare 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Expedia so you can book your LUX* Belle Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Belle Mare Hotel Belle Mare
Beau Rivage Resort
Beau Rivage Mauritius
Beau Rivage Belle Mare
Mauritius Beau Rivage
Beau Rivage Hotel Mauritius
LUX* Belle Mare Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing