We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Towards the end of our 10 day holiday on Vabbinfaru my wife accidently injured her feet. The compassionate response from the staff was fantastic. In no time they had arranged a boat to transfer her to the hospital at Mali. We were accompanied by Ali Nasheed, the Assistant Front Desk Manager who ensured that she immediately received treatment in the ER. He stayed with her right through the X-rays and treatment in the theatre and also arranged her medication. He was exceptional. When we returned to the island at 02h00 we were met by Management and other members of his staff. The following morning every staff member that we met made sincere enquiries about my wife's health. We felt like members of a big family.
Vabbinfaru is an abolute gem with beautiful unspoilt beaches, great snorkelling and super accommodation that is shortly going to be upgraded. The food was exceptional, lots of variety and beautifully presented.
All the staff, from Management right down to the chaps who maintain the beaches are extremely courtious and friendly and they will always go that extra mile to give the guests the best service.
You are guaranteed of a restful holiday and will return home from "Paradise" with many happy memories.

Room Tip: We were fortunate to be on the "sunset" side. It is very quiet. The "sunrise" si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    147
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
221
753
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I'm from Beijiing, China.
We had wonderful holiday in Vabbinfaru,
Banya Tree! People in there are friendly, the scenery is amazing, everything was great! We chose Vabbinfaru by its well known snorkling area and its undestroyed reefs! We spent 4nights/6days in there, our staying became more memorable after an event.
I carelessly lost my iphone4s on the way from my villa to the spa, I couldn't remember where exactly I lost when I noticed! But luckily, when i call to the reception, i was told me that my phone was picked up by a "Hassan" who was working at the public area at that time! I tried to find him and finally meet him in person! The phone is very important to me by the information and the numbers I saved, those are unrecoverable! I was so amazed by his action and I have a great sense that Banya tree is of great achievement on the management and operation, especially the workers' trainings! I would like to do this advertisement for free! Thanks to Banya Tree again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just returned from our 11-day April 2012 honeymoon in the Maldives. We usually get bored quiet easily and like experiencing lots of different things, so decided to visit 3 very different islands in 11 days. For those of you reading this looking to go there also for the first time like us, we can tell you that we have been to pretty much everywhere in the world and Maldives is really something else, you really should experience it if you can afford the high price tag, it is definitely worth it.

We chose to stay in Banyan Tree Vabinfaru for 3 nights based on Tripadvisor reviews and the recommendation of our travel agent. Around 20 minutes by speed boat from Male airport, very smooth transfer. Greeted upon arrival by the manager Mr Hilmy and immediately shown to our room where we completes the check-in procedures. They upgraded us to a deluxe beach front villa which we appreciated a lot, room was very clean, bathroom al fresco very modern and beautiful, with a jakuzzi that we did not use.

The staff in Banyan Tree is just amazing.. from the receptionists to the restaurant staff, room service etc... most of them have been there for over 10 years, they must surely have amazing training.

Snorkeling in the Maldives is great in general, but in Vabbinfaru.... its something else... they have the most beautiful house reef with thousands of amazing fish... You can see 15-20 sharks from their pier in evening time as it starts getting dark. They have some turtles on site too that they educate and feed twice daily. Sting ray feeding at 5pm daily, Musa is great with them, 5-6 of them come everyday, they been coming for 11 years we heard, very friendly sting rays.

Food was excellent. We were fulll board. Breakfast and lucnh buffets had lots of quality choice. Dinner is a la carte but it is near michelin star standards, with amuse bouches and sorbets in between courses etc... Drinks as usual not included, $3 for warter and $5 for cola.

Everything was excellent, except.... they had mosquitos.... got 5-6 really bad bites despite using Boots tropical strength repellent most of the time... If they can fix that, I would be very happy to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sierra2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is a very pleasant journey.

The blue sky, clean beaches, clear water, comfortable villa, delicious food, quiet spa, thoughtful service, let us in an earthly paradise, no worries.

Especially the snorkeling, saw the sea, coral, sharks, turtles and all the beautiful fish in the ocean, I have never seen the beauty of.

I think we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Right from when we arrived at Male airport we were met by the Banyan Tree staff and taken to our speed boat for a 25 minute ride to our destination. It was late approx 11pm so we were very tired and filled with excitement for our holiday. We were not disappointed in anyway with this amazing little island with so much to offer for all travellers. The check in was quick due to the late hour, by this time it was 12 midnight Banyan time, our Beachfront villa was waiting for us and it was wonderful complete with 2 showers, one outdoor! We fell asleep listening to the sound of the sea not too far from the front of our villa. Not bad for your first introduction to the Maldives! Everything was onwards and upwards from there, breakfast on the sand in their indoor restaurant, a wonderful buffet with lots to choose from. Lunch was a buffet on the sand at their outdoor restaurant. Dinner once again was either in the outdoor or indoors still with sand floors either a buffet or set menu. Food was wonderful with lots of choices and everything excellent, 5 star dining every day. Thanks to chef Neil. We thoroughly enjoyed the snorkelling, which was great being up close with all the marine life, imagine swimming with a school of colourful fish- curious about you! I beleive the night snorkelling is great, we didn't do it this time. Next time is a must! Feeding the sting ray each afternoon was a incredible experience as well as their turtle program - Marta, the marine biologist is extremely passionate about her job and is a wealth of information. She loves to chat about her job. Our Banyan tree holiday was one of the best holidays we have ever had. The friendly staff enjoy their job and it was never a problem doing anything for you, which even included putting up a hammock - digging a huge hole for a pole in the sand! Not a easy job! There was plenty to do each day, or just sit in the sun and enjoy the scenary.Having a drink at the bar each afternoon watching the staff play football on the beach was also great fun. I celebrated my birthday here and everyone helped me have a great day and a wonderful birthday dinner with our own private table in the sand -thankyou Noor. No swimming pool yet (renovations in july - pools put in each villa!), but a crystal clear lagoon to enjoy everyday.Thankyou to Hilmy and his staff for a very memorable holiday. I beleive Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru, Maldives should be on everyones bucket list! We will definitely be back again

Room Tip: We had a deluxe beachfront villa, on the western side of the island. Enjoyed sitting watching the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vabbinfaru
15.1 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
14.0 km away
Coco Bodu Hithi
Coco Bodu Hithi
#1 of 1 in Bodu Hithi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
14.1 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
8.7 km away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
0.9 km away
Angsana Ihuru
Angsana Ihuru
#1 of 1 in Ihuru Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru

Property: Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru
Address:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Vabbinfaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vabbinfaru
Price range (per night): ₹ 48,684 - ₹ 96,655
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cast away on a secluded coral atoll in the paradisaical Maldives archipelago, you experience a sense of magic, romance and tranquility at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru that's second to none. Cocoon yourself in a web of shimmering turquoise waters, swaying coconut trees, indigenous blooms and pure white sand. Free your spirit on the Maldives' North Male Atoll. In Maldivian, Vabbinfaru refers to a round island circled by a round coral reef. In this circle of peace, claim sanctuary at Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru resort. Feel the natural sea breeze sweeping in from the majestic Indian Ocean, and let the resort's signature hospitality bring you peace and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Vabbinfaru Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing