We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once in a Lifetime Great Vacation”
Review of Angsana Velavaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Angsana Velavaru
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Once in a Lifetime Great Vacation”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

It was our first trip to Maldives after reading so much great reviews. This place looks exactly like what you see on photos. Beautiful, crystal clear waters.
On our first day, we were walking along the beach and in the shallow waters, saw octopus, morrey eel, which was kind of "chasing" us" and some fishes We were so excited.

We stayed 2N on the Jacuzzi Beach Villa and 2N in the In-Ocean Villas. The beach villas has a direct access to the beach area, where you can just relax outside the sundeck of your villa and listen to the sound of the waves.

Ray feeding was 8pm at the jetty and we saw huge eagle rays. So exciting.

The In-Ocean villas (IOV) were very new, just probably more than 2years old when we visited. We were Wow by the IOV. New, modern, and two-storey, given you a bird's eye view of the entire ocean and the horizon. Huge, and with a swing bed as well. Really nice. The only down side to this is that there weren't much of corals and marine life around the IOV. Believed they have been destroyed during construction and have not regrow.

Drink prices were pretty reasonable, compared to other Maldives property which we heard a bottled of coke cost US$7-10! Two different restaurants at the beach and IOV available for guests with meal plans.

Read more on http://snewthewanderlust.blogspot.com/2012/01/resort-angsana-velavaru.html

Room Tip: If budget allows, choose to stay 2N each at the beach and in-ocean villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    165
    57
    21
    15
See reviews for
185
533
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I had a fantastic stay in this this wonderful Resort. I booked a Jacuzzi Beach Villa and loved this beautiful colorful room. The huge Outdoor Bathroom and direct access to the Beach are amazing.

The Resort offers 3 different Restaurants Kaani, Funa and Azzuro. All 3 Restaurants have a really good choice of food and fresh fruits.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I booked different Excursions as Night fishing and went for Snorkeling Trip where we could see many fishes, turtles and stingray's. You will get your snorkeling equipment so no need to carry with you from home which was for me very comfortable.

If you' re looking for an relaxing holiday with possibility to do activities i would high recommend this resort as it offers you an unforgettable stay.
Another reason why you will feel like in paradise accept the wonderful environment is the Angsana Spa. I tried many Spa all over the world but Angsana have the best Spa with great treatments.

I saw also a Kids Club and due to the fact that the lagoon is very large and perfect for children to play and swim i would recommend this Resort also to Families with little Kids.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good memory in Maldives. Fantastic in-ocean villa. I like the diving the activities and the coach is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just returned from our 11-day April 2012 honeymoon in the Maldives. We usually get bored quiet easily and like experiencing lots of different things, so decided to visit 3 very different islands in 11 days. For those of you reading this looking to go there also for the first time like us, we can tell you that we have been to pretty much everywhere in the world and Maldives is really something else, you really should experience it if you can afford the high price tag, it is definitely worth it.

We chose to stay in Angsana Velavaru for the first 4 night based on Tripadvisor reviews and the recommendation of our travel agent. Around 30-40 minutes by sea plane from Male airport, very smooth transfers, they have a nice lounge in the sea plane terminal. Greeted upon arrival by one of the managers and other staff with wet towels etc.

The resort consists of accomodation on island and in-ocean-villas just opposite. Our room was a "jet-pool beach front villa" facing the ocean side of the island, beautiful spacious room with very nice garden with outdoor shower/toilets, everything was new and clean, we had a very nice honeymoon message with flowerd on our bed on arrival and a fruit basket. Island has no mosquitos which was great, they had some cute rabbits and parrots. Food was very good, we were full board, breakfast and dinner buffets had a lot of quality choice (lunch was a bit limited, so maybe consider half board), staff in restaurant and bar are amazing, Haatim took excellent care of us and made us feel home. Beware drinks are not included in full board, but not too expensive, $3 for water and $5 for cola. Snorkelling was OK, they offer a free snorkelling trip to their reef twice a day where we saw a turtle. Sting ray feeding at 8pm daily. SPA is good vaue for money vs other Maldives resorts, and the massage was excellent.

During our stay we had 2-3 minor problems which got resolved as soon as we mentioned them to senior management, so special thanks to Andrew Langston. They also upgraded us to an amazing in-ocean-villa (they call it IOV) for our last night, which really made a difference for us, so thanks again for that if you are reading this.

Overall, it's a very beautiful island where we hope we can go back in the next few years.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sierra2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 April 2012

it was a great and joyful experience, staff are friendly and nature is amazing, activities are varied especially the scuba diving team, dining also was great with wide variety of food especially the seafood at Funa restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haa Dhaalu Atoll
3.0 km away
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
Sun Aqua Vilu Reef
#2 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
25.9 km away
Filitheyo Island Resort
Filitheyo Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Filitheyo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
34.7 km away
PER AQUUM Niyama Maldives
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 km away
The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort
2.2 km away
Beach Stay Maldives
Beach Stay Maldives
#1 of 1 in Meedhoo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
23.3 km away
Hulhudheli Inn
Hulhudheli Inn
#4 of 6 in Dhaalu Atoll
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Velavaru? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Velavaru

Property: Angsana Velavaru
Address: South Nilandhe Atoll
Region: Maldives > Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,928 - ₹ 82,736
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Velavaru 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Angsana Velavaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Velavaru Hotel Haa Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Dhaalu Atoll
Angsana Hotel Maldives Velavaru
Angsana Velavaru Maldives/Haa Dhaalu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing