We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Continental
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel feels very tired inside but is clean and I have no serious complaints, though the wifi service was appalling and the food (at breakfast) not so great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouth_of_flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

We hope this email finds you well. Hope you had a pleasant stay with us.

We certainly have taken note on your feedback and most importantly with regrets on the Internet connectivity. We do recognize the faults and moreover we are not taking it off on the faults but genuinely it was on the Service Provider on the Internet Line and we were having these for couple of days during this period of time.
But currently it have been evaluted on the most appropriate mesures to progessively resolve this problem a couple of days ago.
Once again, we thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strenght to strenght. We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip and please to not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance in any of our Malaysian Properties.

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

The management at this hotel is the worse I seen in some time. The WiFi only works like 5% of the time & when it does its like a dial up connection of 20 years ago. The staff informed me that the management was told many times about the internet issue as all the guest complain but refuse to do anything. The property is very old & moldy smelling. This was my cheat company choice of hotels as they do not care for there personal health or safety.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu

Hope this email finds you well.

Firstly, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Terengganu and taking your precious time to give your feedback.

We recognize the faults on the Internet Wi-Fi. The hotel has been embarked & upgraded to 4 Meg a year back and we have also added more modems in each floor.

We are not taking it off on the faults but genuinely it was totally fault on the Service Provider on the Internet Line,TM which we have been experiencing it for the past 3 days or so. And at last they have rectified and have been evaluated on the most appropriate measures.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back as our guest. Please feel free to contact me at anytime for any request at the Hotel or even at any other at our properties.

We wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I dropped in without any booking and was pleasantly surprised by the friendly and welcoming staff, at reception and in the coffee shop. Service was good and efficient. However, the hotel is very tired. Rooms are clean and large but in need of a good makeover if they want to compete in the city as it grows. Given a bit more planning on my part I would be unlikely to choose to stay again as, on investigation, there are better value and newer ones around. It will lose it seafront views when the seafront development begins.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholsKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyAnboselvan62, Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

Hope this email finds you well. We are glad that your stay was a pleasant one and
thank you for staying with us.

Good to know that our services and friendly staff have met your expectations and we have also
taken on your constructive comments.

Just recently, we have completed our facelift of Exterior Building Paintworks and we have also embarked and changed our Hotel Signage at the Main Entrance of the Hotel and at the Top of the Building as well.

We have also did uplifted some renovations at our Premium Floors and fitted with LCD Televisions and we are also in process of some light renovations in other rooms as well.

Rest assured these issues will be addressed as well and hopefully on your next trip we would like to recommend to stay at our Premium Floors and you will be able to notice the positive improvements.

Once again, we genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength, We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip and we also would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your loved ones the very best in business and on your personal endeavors.

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed here on 2nd March 2012.....I seriously think that the hotel need major refurbishment or face lift... ambiance of the room is quite depressing. Not really living up to the standard of a GHI chain of hotels...!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malinja7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyAnboselvan62, Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings.

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

Hope this email finds you well. Firstly, we would like to thank you for staying with us on your
recent trip to Kuala Terengganu.

We have taken note on your positive feedback and we have also facelift on our Building Exterior Paintworks, Hotel Signages at the Hotel Entrance and Top of the Building and currently we are also been evaluated and fitted LCD Television on our Premium Floors.

We sincerely hope that you will not let this experience deter you from visiting us again as we are fully committed to ensuring comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

Once again, we genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength, We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip and we also would like to take this opportunity to wish you and your loved ones the very best in business and on your personal endeavors.

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived late, around 8pm, and were having problem with our booking. Since it was late, we have no other option but to take the higher rate (walk in rate). The room was spacious but very basic, nothing much to expect. But we didnt get the beauty sleep, I wonder why.

The service is indeed very very good! The same goes to their food. Eventhough not that much, but they were all delicious and worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuffyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greeting from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

We hope this email finds you well. We are glad that your stay was a pleasant one.

Glad that we have given you our best service and our quality of food.

We are also in the process of carrying out some upgrading works for the Hotel. For info, we have facelift and painted our Hotel Exterior, added flat screen TV for all our Premium Rooms and there are also more on the pipeline.

Once again, we genuinely thank you for your involvement and taking time to write to us and it is our utmost to take constructive measures for improvements in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.
We wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours,

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
1.0 km away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#5 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
84 reviews
2.2 km away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#12 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
155 reviews
1.7 km away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#3 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
146 reviews
0.7 km away
Primula Beach Hotel
Primula Beach Hotel
#24 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
244 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Tanjong Vista
Hotel Tanjong Vista
#16 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Continental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Continental

Address: Lot 004023, Hotel Grand Continental Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin | Daerah 8, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range: ₹ 2,382 - ₹ 4,443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location A beautiful designed building with breathtaking view of the brilliant South China Sea and uniquely positioned at the central district of Kuala Terengganu. All rooms are specifically designed to offer guest' a refreshing view of the sea. Famous landmarks surrounding the hotel include the famous Crystal Mosque, Pasar Payang (Kuala Terengganu Central Market, ShahBandar Square, Chinatown, historical and Government buildings. Accommodation No of Guest Rooms: 190 rooms and suites with High speed WIFI Conference Facilities: 10 meeting rooms accommodating up to 1,360 guests Dining Facilities Jala Mas Coffee House is opening daily for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Supper serving a large variety of local food and international cuisines, pastries and cakes. There is also a live band to entertain guests in the evening from 8.00 pm onwards from Friday to Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing