We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience at GC Kuala Terengganu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Continental
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We arrived around 4pm after a long drive from the North, didnt expect much but was pleasantly surprised with the friendliness of the front desk staff (got the keys ready for us) and very polite and pleasant concierge. The rooms are clean, good size and beautiful view facing the sea. I like the iron & ironing board and prayer mat available in the room, upon my request when I booked it. Oh, the TV is flat panel with movie channels!!

I will definitely consider this place the next time. Good experience staying at GC after more than 10 years not being in this city.

AW

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Cik Azian,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

We hope this email finds you well.

Firstly, we would like to thank you for staying with us. It is our honour that you had a great stay with us and we are also greatful on your kind words.

Your compliments mentioned shall certainly be complimented on their good services rendered to my staff and I am very sure they too will enjoy on your compliments as well.

Once again, we at Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strenght to strength. We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

We wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours.

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 151 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We arrived in Kuala Terengganu without a hotel reservation during the Chinese New Year and were able to find a room at the Grand Continental. Check in was friendly and efficient. Got to our non-smoking room (1113) and felt like we had stepped back into the 80s, LOL! The decor looked that dated. But the room was large and clean. We had a seaview room which gave us a good look at the beach reclamation work going on behind the hotel. The bed provided a great sleep and we woke up early to take advantage of the buffet breakfast. The buffet was fairly well stocked although choices for a Westerner are limited. Service staff was efficient at clearing tables. No problems at checkout.

We've stayed at various hotels in KT, from budget to luxury. So far, I like this one the best. Price was more than what I had wanted to pay, but this was Chinese New Year so I was happy that we were at least able to get a decent room without having to look too much. If you can get beyond the dated room decor, the rooms themselves are quite large and comfortable. Looks like we have found our homebase for future trips to KT...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djones1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

How this email finds you well.

We were glad toknwo that you stay with us was a pleasant one and thank you for staying with us.

Good to know that our services and reception met your expectations and we have also taken note on your constructive remarks which we have embarked and face lift some works and we are also in the process as well.

Nevertheless, we sincerely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow better and to give guest's our utmost services and you will be ensured off.

Once again, we genuinely thank you for taking time to write to us. We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.

In the meantime, we wish you and your loved ones the very best in business and on personal endeavours.

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is definitely an overprice hotel. Its old and there is moisture smell on the walkway leading to your room. Of course you can view the South China Sea but currently landfill is being carry out in front of the hotel and it is definitely not a nice view at least for half a year. Breakfast is simple, not much choice but food is not bad.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hohohoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed for 5 nights over Hari Raya. We had booked into another hotel which turned out to be awful so rebooked with the GC. On arrival our check in was all in order in spite of us only having confirmed 10 minutes earlier. We loved the view of the beach, the size of the room and the good choices at breakfast. Our room was kept spotless.
Over the holiday the staff looked superb in their Hari Raya clothes. One highlight for me was the wonderful coffee and cream cake which tempted me from the glass cabinet.......
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea and all are well insulated against noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tui12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hote Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu.

We hope this email finds you well. We are glad to know that your stay with us at Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu was a pleasant and memorable one. And it was very nice of you to penned down on complimenting on my staff on their good service rendered.

We are also glad that we have met your expectations and you have also decided to stay with us a second time around. My staff and I, will be looking forward to welcome you again.

Once again, we at Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu genuinely thank you for your involvement in supporting us to grow from strength to strength. We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip and please feel free to write to me directly on your plans and I will be more than pleased to assist in any ways.

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My wife & I stayed here 3 nights. This is a solid 3-1/2 star hotel. Price was right and a good location, just 10 mins walk to downtown. Our room was on 11th floor with superb views of the sea. This is a quiet city so no problems with traffic noise or party animals. All the staff was marvelous. The room was super comfortable, very clean, and everything worked, etc. The dining room staff were outstanding and did all they could to please us, so we ate there each morning and night. The pool area, though spartan, was very clean and pool water just the right temperature. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyAnboselvan62, General Manager at Hotel Grand Continental, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

Dear Sir / Madam,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia.

We are delighted to have met and exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for recognizing the subtle attractiveness of the Hotel which is in its location (accessibility on overall at your convenience) and the hospitalibilty of staff that we extend to each of our guests.

Please feel free to contact me at any time for any request at the Hotel or even at any of our properties.

We wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours.

Thank you and best regards.

Bobby Anboselvan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
6.6 km away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#1 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
154 reviews
1 km away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#7 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
88 reviews
1.7 km away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#2 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#21 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
161 reviews
0.7 km away
Primula Beach Hotel
Primula Beach Hotel
#24 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
254 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Tanjong Vista
Hotel Tanjong Vista
#16 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Continental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Continental

Address: Lot 004023, Hotel Grand Continental Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin | Daerah 8, Kuala Terengganu 20000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price Range: ₹ 2,360 - ₹ 4,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location A beautiful designed building with breathtaking view of the brilliant South China Sea and uniquely positioned at the central district of Kuala Terengganu. All rooms are specifically designed to offer guest' a refreshing view of the sea. Famous landmarks surrounding the hotel include the famous Crystal Mosque, Pasar Payang (Kuala Terengganu Central Market, ShahBandar Square, Chinatown, historical and Government buildings. Accommodation No of Guest Rooms: 190 rooms and suites with High speed WIFI Conference Facilities: 10 meeting rooms accommodating up to 1,360 guests Dining Facilities Jala Mas Coffee House is opening daily for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Supper serving a large variety of local food and international cuisines, pastries and cakes. There is also a live band to entertain guests in the evening from 8.00 pm onwards from Friday to Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Grand Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing