We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Lah...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Primula Beach Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK Lah...”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I checked in at the hotel on 28th Nov 2011 for one night in deluxe room.
Check in - had to wait a short while since arrived at 1 pm.
Parking - limited covered car park and plenty of open car park near the restaurant/beach.
Service - less proactive. Had to ask for service rather than they offer their service e.g. bellman. But in the room, upon dialing the number, response was fast. Babycot request was provided but a bit slow.
Value - breakfast was too little options
Location - close to beach
Rooms - TV still not LCD and channels are not good quality video.
Swimming pool - OK lah... available for kids but small.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    65
    90
    45
    20
See reviews for
94
42
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kajang
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed here for 4 days 3 nights. Kudos to the hotel staff (bell boy, receptionists, waiters etc) for doing an excellent job (very friendly and helpful). However, I feel that this hotel lacks the quality and the aura of a 4-star hotel as the hotel is quite old and needed an uplift. The room is spacious and it provides an iron with the ironing board too (extra point to the hotel). The location is quite okay since there are some shops around the area. It is situated very near to the beach. I love the breakfast buffet as they keep changing the menu daily for the main dishes. The nasi dagang is available daily as it is the famous local food in Terengganu, and it is tasty too! I notice that the hotel serves local delicacies especially for their desserts. Thus, if you want to sample some local food, this is definitely the hotel you should choose. However, I still had problems with my room as the sliding door was not working but it was fixed the next day, the air cond and the phone were not working. Overall, I would say that it is an average hotel but of course with some extra perks available.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speers Point, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

10 minutes after checking out we found our morning ferry had been canceled but the hotel wouldnt let us back into our room nor did they offer for us to even wait by the pool - consequently a 5 hour wait walking around a very hot and humid Terengganu town. They did offer for us to check back in and pay an exhorbitant day rate. A bit mean I think!! If you are catching the ferry to Redang Island please note the 10.30am ferry no longer runs.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

As a family of 4 on their way to the Perhentian islands, we spent one night in interconnecting rooms overlooking the sea. The rooms, with aircon, were comfortable and clean. However, in the morning, one shower didn't work, the other had only cold water.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Trying to find somewhere outside the hotel to eat at night was impossible (a combination of Lonely Planet + satnav proved unrewarding). Dinner subsequently back at the hotel (during Ramadan) was good, if not pricey. A real bonus was the hotel's swimming pool. Overall, as a stopover, a convenient functional 'top range' hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RK1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

When we arrived at the Primula Beach Resort, we were sent down a long dingy corridor in the old part of the hotel to a standard room. The room was grungy, not cleaned well, and had a small bathroom. It was more like a budget room that should have been priced much lower than the $70 they were charging. When we complained to reception about it, we were told that the hotel was full that night, but they would move us the next morning. When we upgraded the next day to a deluxe room in the tower for less than $15 more, it was totally different. We had a beautiful large room where everything was new and clean, including a large clean bathroom with good lighting. We got a free shuttle into town which one of the hotel managers was in, and when he asked how our room was, we explained the situation. He explained that the hotel is owned by the government, and the staff have been trying to push for a complete renovation of the old section which is 37 years old, but the government has been putting it off. We would recommend this hotel if you are in Kuala Terengganu, but only if you get a deluxe room in the tower. The hotel has a large comfortable lobby area and there is a large Malaysian-style buffet breakfast. There is a nice pool with loungers, and also some loungers on the beach. I would not recommend KT as a destination as it is not a very attractive town, but it may be a convenient stopover when you are traveling through Malaysia.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Terengganu hotels
2.8 km away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#9 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
144 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#8 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
188 reviews
7.3 km away
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Terengganu
TH Hotel & Convention Centre Ter...
#2 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#6 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
143 reviews
1.8 km away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#15 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
62 reviews
1.5 km away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#4 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primula Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primula Beach Hotel

Property: Primula Beach Hotel
Address: Jalan Persinggahan, Kuala Terengganu 20400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kuala Terengganu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Kuala Terengganu
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,713 - ₹ 4,521
Hotel Class:3 star — Primula Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Primula Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primula Beach Resort Kuala Terengganu Hotel Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Kuala Terengganu
Primula Beach Hotel Kuala Terengganu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing