We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Don't be fooled by their website...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinnacles Kuching Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinnacles Kuching Lodge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by their website...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I was sent the hotel's link by one of my colleagues, and viewed their slick-looking website. I checked TA, and was doubtful because the last review was in March 2009. But the website mentioned a new makeover (21 Jan 2010) and the pictures looked really good. The Private Family Deluxe advertised on their site was rated RM135 or USD45, which I thought was pretty reasonable for such a nice looking place.

Boy was I wrong! I thought I was in the wrong hotel to begin with - the corridors smelt musty, the carpets were stained, the reception area was not as bright as in the pictures, the double doors leading to the enclosed 'balcony' in our room couldn't close, the chair in the balcony didn't have a back part to rest on. I asked about their supposedly new makeover, and the lady said she just joined the hotel so knew nothing about it.

I think what I was most disappointed about was the misleading website they had. If they had been honest up front, we wouldn't have been disheartened to see the real conditions. I have stayed in the most basic of accommodations before but then I knew what to expect. We looked around, but unfortunately, the ones that got good TA reviews didn't have enough rooms for our group.

If you are not expecting much and are out of the hotel sightseeing most parts of the day, the Pinnacle Lodge is an okay place to stay. The bathrooms are medium-sized, the showers are so-so hot, the street noise level at night is acceptable (at the top of a road junction), there's a 7-11 below on the ground floor. Surprisingly, we had to pay for Internet wifi, which is usually given free at budget places. So what we did was to walk down to the nearest pub for free wifi, and a pint.

The hotel staff warned me to watch my bag when I ventured out after midnight. The streets are quiet except for the Piccadilly disco & pub a block away, and another pub opposite the Hilton.

Breakfast is self service. I'm not sure what it is because we always ate out. The breakfast area would always be devoid of people. While I was there, I only saw one Western couple.

The address says Level 1, but it's actually located on Level 2 (Level 1 is the 7-Eleven store on the street level). So your rooms are on Levels 3 and 4.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank assamkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

Heard about this place from a friend who frequents Kuching and decided to give it a try. For the amount we paid for this place, it's definitely value for money! Small, cozy, clean and wonderful! Good amenities, strategic location, excellent service and totally unexpected for a budget hotel! However, not many people know about this place and I wish that there are more promotions and advertisements on this lovely haven. Would most definitely recommend this place to my friends and family. MUST-TRY!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemmym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGAPORE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

Overall clean, affordable hotel for budget travellers. Must go
& visit Topspot seafood rest which is just 5mins walk away. Convenient location to pubs, malls, waterfront with friendly staff. Continental breakfast provided but if you have extra dough to spare, I suggest having buffet breakfast at Hilton or Holiday Inn instead. No harm to splurge on breakfast as It's the most important meal of the day.

Much better location than other budget hotels around there. Do plan for a kayaking trip in the highlands once in Kuching.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — aircon leaking
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JM070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2008

We had booked to stay at the Pinnacles for 2 nights and stayed for 3, but on the whole we were disappointed. The room was very basic with bad fitting furniture for the shape of the room, and no bedside table. The carpet was worn with stains and there were hairs in the "clean" bed sheets, so we used our own clothes as pillow cases. Breakfast was "help yourself" and very basic, but from experience, I think that's generally the case in most places in Borneo. On the plus side the bathroom was bright and clean, there was airconditioning and the location was very central. Also, we were able to get our washing done through the staff at a very reasonable price.

Having said that, I would not return to this hotel as unfortunately we had an incident with the staff. On first arriving at the hotel we didn't have enough cash to cover the deposit plus two full nights accommodation (which they request up front). As this was a new hotel (or I'd say it's more like a hostel) they didn't currently have their card machine installed. We returned later on in the evening with the remainder of the money we owed. However, two days later when we asked to book another night (and immediately paid up front), they told us that we had not paid our deposit on the first night and disputed it when we insisted that we had. To cut a long story short, my partner spoke over the phone to the manager to persuade her that we had paid everything. This was not very pleasant as we felt threatened by the staff on reception, it was 9pm and we worried that we might need to find another hotel for the night and the following night. From this point of view, I did not find the staff at all professional, and during the day they seemed to be sleeping in reception or playing computer games with their friends whenever we passed through. The manager made an appearance at the end of our stay, and she was extremely friendly and helpful, possibly trying to make up for our lost confidence in our experience of the service.

If I was to stay again in Kuching, I don't think I would go back to the Pinnacles. I think the hotel is still in the stages of establishing its brand, and if I was the manager I would consider training up the staff to a more professional and courteous level.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsBellesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

A good budget option - lady on reception was very pleasant, & helped us arrange trips to Semmengoh to see the Orangs!
Clean basic rooms, nice a/c & hot water, free toast & tea for brekkie.
Good location, walking distance to all amenities & bars etc.

Only doubt was we think some money went missing from our room while we were out. (not certain) - could have gone missing before Kuching but unlikely, & it left a bit of a sour taste in our mouths - 1st time its happened in 4 years of travelling, but didn't mention it as i had no proof.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianGFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.2 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.3 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
John's Place
John's Place
#17 of 82 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.7 km away
Abell Residence
Abell Residence
#38 of 82 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Kuok Pin Hotel
#40 of 66 in Kuching
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacles Kuching Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacles Kuching Lodge

Property: Pinnacles Kuching Lodge
Address: Level 1 Lot 21, Block G, Taman Sri Sarawak Mall | Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Pinnacles Lodge)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price range (per night): ₹ 684 - ₹ 3,146
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is Pinnacles Lodge which is surrounded by all five star hotels. We are located in the center of all restaurants, shopping mall, 24hrs convenience store, banks, entertainment and places of interests such as waterfront,cinema, bowling ally, supermarkets,health therapy, Souvenir shop, temples and church. These are all within walking distance. What's there more to ask for. Pinnacles Lodge serves budget accommodation for travelers (Backpackers, on transit,students and families) on the go where you can rest comfortably within your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pinnacles Kuching Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinnacles Kuching Lodge Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing