We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Singgahsana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Singgahsana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

First I had mixed feelings about this place. The lobby is nicely decorated and the bar on the rooftop is very homey. The building is big and it has many rooms and I wasn't sure if therefore the service would be quite as good. But to my positive surprise, all owners, their parents and their staff was very friendly, helpful and hospitable.

We stayed in a double (twin) room, which was very clean. The room itself very simple and minimalist. A downturn for me was that you couldn't really open the big heavy curtains during the day in order to get sunlight. During the night you glad you have them however. We stayed in room 203 (i think) and it was quick noisy from the busy street.

But overall, great place, good price-value and best location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashpackhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    115
    35
    19
    6
See reviews for
36
118
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Fabulous accommodation in the centre of Kuching. Comfortable beds and pillows, spotlessly clean, great facilities (internet and lounge on the first floor and a great roof bar overlooking the city), helpful knowledgable staff to help with everything from laundry to arranging tours and trips. Great value. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrat718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here in September and it was a good place to base ourselves in Kuching. Nice private rooms with clean sheets and comfy beds, although the windows were small and very high on the wall. Clean communal areas and a great roof top bar with cheap beer. However, the rooms are expensive given that you can find equally good but cheaper alternatives down the road. The free WiFi worked in most rooms and was fast. The staff were polite and efficient but nothing more or less (note that the 'staff' are often backpackers taking a week out of their travels). The owners were extremely hospitable and friendly and are very helpful if you need any help with your travel plans or ideas for things to do locally. It was them that made this hostel memorable for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theitinerantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is the benchmark for good accommodation in Malaysia and sooooo many places fall sooooo far short of this standard. We travelled in Malaysia for 4 weeks and thank god we found this place as otherwise we would have thought that good places did not exist in Malaysia.

Clean, friendly, colourful, and the coolest rooftop bar. Splitting the showers and toilets between men and women was great, especially as they had hairdryers (!) in the girls bathrooms. Exceptionally clean and well stocked (shower gel - in a hostel!).

The dorms were large and well equipped with large lockers for your bags. It does cost you to get a towel (but at 2 ringits for a sparkly clean white fluffy towel, it was a bargain). The bedrooms looked gorgeous, but we didn't think it was worth the extra money (which goes to show how nice the dorms are).

The staff are friendly on the whole, but as they are staffed by volunteers and they operate 24 hours it can depend on who you get and when. One girl was lovely when she started her shift, but was clearly fed up after 8 hours and so you didn't always get consistent service.

We booked a longhouse tour through them. Great experience and worth every penny.

If you are staying in hostels in Malaysia, it's worth coming to Kuching just to stay here and restore your faith in great places to stay, we didn't find anywhere else that came even nearly close.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trurzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here in July of 2010 and it was the first time for my wife and I staying in a hostel. We were pleasantly surprise at the comfort, cleanliness and hospitality that we found here. It helped that we shared the room with two close friends who had already been there for a day and we enjoyed chatting with the staff at the rooftop bar, where our first drink was free! If we didn't have previous arrangements at another hotel, we would've been happy to stay here our entire visit.

Room Tip: Make reseravations early, this is one of the better hostels in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.9 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.4 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.5 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singgahsana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singgahsana Lodge

Property: Singgahsana Lodge
Address: 1 Leboh Temple | 1 Temple Street, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price range (per night): ₹ 970 - ₹ 1,745
Hotel Class:2 star — Singgahsana Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singgahsana Lodge is a concept guesthouse by travelers for travelers. Guests wake up each day knowing that they are in exotic Sarawak, Malaysian Borneo in rooms tastefully fitted out with local arts and crafts collected from the 30 or more ethnic tribes of Sarawak. Travel information abounds and the generous common areas are most conducive to sharing travel tales and information with others. Singgahsana has become the haven for travelers to Kuching and is highly recommended in all guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Singgahsana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singgahsana Hotel Kuching
Singgahsana Lodge Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing