We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good and Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had spent 3 nights at the Riverside Majestic and were going to Bako for a night then wanted a room for one night at the end of our trip. The Majestic were going to charge us double the rate we had paid for the 3 nights so we went looking for another place. We walked into the Harbour view and asked for a price on a non smoking room for 1 night for the following night. They said that there wasnt one available but we could have a smoking room. We were a bit hesitant but they offered to take us up to a smoking room to have a look. Ok no problems looked good and wasnt a smell so we booked it. They were so friendly and helpful and the price a third of the Majestic. When we arrive the following night for our room they told us that they have a non smoking room available and bonus when we walked into the room it was facing the river. The room was a little small so would worrry about that if it was a long stay, but otherwise it was very clean and a very large bathroom with bath. Its in a good location just opposite the waterfront. Great value for money and we had Laska just around the corner to the left as u walk out the front doors and it was so good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    84
    64
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
45
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Pro:
Great location
Reasonable price
New TV
Free WIFI (but read the con on internet)

Con:
Lousy internet connection
Cockroach in room (caught 4 cockroaches in room)
No safe to keep valuable in
Bathroom door facing bed

Room Tip: Get higher floor to avoid noise from street, room with waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huaymeeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A very clean hotel with helpful and friendly staff. The restaurant, though not haute cuisine serves some good, value for money dishes with large portions. The Laksa Sarawak is not the best I have tasted but was still very good. Good location for all the major attratcions of Kuchong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firdaus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kota kinabalu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Value for money. Just opposite the famous Kuching Waterfront. Just cross roads the oldest temple in the city, Chinese History Museum and James Brooke Cafe...
For what I paid, I got it.
Breakfast was good, they have western and local choice but just okay...
Staff- I think this is the reason I'll come back here again... i like their hospitality..

Room Tip: choose higher floor to get view of Waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eina30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Great loaction , nearby the hilton kuching and also Kuching Watrfront. Rooms are clean but a bit small.

Great staff and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.9 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.4 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
2.5 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.5 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Property: Harbour View Hotel
Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,759 - ₹ 2,931
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Harbour View Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing