We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Sarawak Cultural Village
from US$ 50.65
More Info
from US$ 41.10
More Info
Reviews (1,755)
Filter reviews
1,755 results
Traveller rating
647
756
268
58
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
756
268
58
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cultural show living museum long houses tribal houses blow pipe rainforest world music festival ethnic groups different cultures orang ulu shuttle bus traditional food local tribes entrance fee sago damai beach resort must visit place souvenir shop
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 1,755 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

There was very little if any information on the tribes. Each cultural hut the focus was on selling the tourist items. The Chinese hut tribes members spoke no Chinese. The dance showing at 11am was ok - would of helped if the obvioysly new male dancer new his steps. He yelled at a female dancer during the performance because he clearly went the wrong direction (we heard it from up the back of the auditorium).
Lunch was atrocious, unpalatable.
Wouldn't waste my money again - instead I'll go to a museum to learn more.
It was RM30 per adult. We engaged a private tour company hoping for additional information on each of the tribes- waste of time, money & effort - the tour guide wasn't knowledgeable or interested really saddened the experience

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank 715kellieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

we spend 4 hours here visiting all the ethnic house/place, friendly staffs and nice scenery just behind the mount santubong, the performance start at 4pm and its was great

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank don_sapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I was expecting a very "kitschy" experience but it turned out to be a much nicer visit than what I anticipated. Our two kids (4 and 6) had a great time at the different exhibits and activities, especially the bow-and-arrow and blow dart stations. The cultural show was entertaining and engaging, even for hyperactive kids. Well worth visiting.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Four of us had booked into Permani Tree Houses but they were not ready for us to check in,this actually worked in our favour as it meant we got into the village about 10.30,saw the cultural show at 11.30, watch out for the guy with the blow pipe he is great.
Again very quiet with few western tourists.
A great day out which could easily be done in a day without staying overnight.
By this time we had been using a local driver ‘Cheng’ who proved to be a brilliant assent to our trip planning.
We have now used him every day as our tour organiser .
About 3 hours would be plenty of time here

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank scuabdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

One is given a passport that provides background on the seven cultural villages surrounding a central lake. In each village there was a representative gathering house, a sleeping unit (longhouse, nomadic shelter, stilt-home, or farmhouse), a sample of traditional food for sale, musical instruments, and working exhibits of specialties (sword-making, guitar-like instrument making, blowpipe making, etc.). Our guide explained each as we strolled through the areas before attending an hour long native dance presentation which included a variety of costumes, a blowpipe shooter and modern song about Malaysia.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank BSinPNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews