We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, old place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 17 November 2011

It was probably ranked 5 stars when it first opened, but it is now far behind the other hotels. It is really old and definitely not attractive enough.

I stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment. The beds were okay, the TVs were from the past century - one small one in the living room and one equally small one in the master bedroom, and the architectural design of one of the rooms was just weird as there was a deep corner which leaves a lot to imagination for those who are easily scared.

The room service was really weird and horrible. The first day we didn't get bath mats. We just made do and the second day, they provided the bath mats, replaced SOME towels and left SOME used towels hanging around. From the third day onwards, the bath mats were removed and never came again and not all towels were replaced.

There's a kitchen in the apartment, but only with microwave oven and kettle. No stove.
One set of sofa sitting for 4 people, even though the apartment accommodates 6 people.
One dining table with seats for 6.
2 bathrooms + 1 toilet (means without bathing facilities)

Breakfast had a narrow range of selection, and mainly Malaysian food provided. Not ideal for Westerners used to the bacon and eggs breakfast.

My transportation was all provided for but I can see that the location of the hotel was not all that ideal as there really isn't any convenient stores or shopping malls nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liangfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 191 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

Upon checking in, no one offered help with our luggage. Rooms look dilapidated and in need of revamp. Kitchen sink choked. It took the banquet staff a long time to replenish the breakfast item. When we wanted to go for massage, we have to wait for 2 hours as only one masseuse was available. Towels was not replenished. Does not fit in the criteria of a 5*. We paid a good 800++MYR which i think is not worth it. The children playground was closed. The location of the hotel is abit off from the city centre. Though we were chaffeured to the city centre, we will have to make our way back to the hotel on our own.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank md_yunus_musa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is quite old-style designed. My boy was heartbreaking because there is no bath tub. However, i will still give credit to the hotel staff friendliness and room cleanliness. As long as the room is clean, I wouldn't want to complaint too much. Breakfast has limited choice, but considered good (my father-in-law gave his thumbs up to beef and lamb curry, and Sarawak laksa). Good air conditioning in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed here when the hotel was full for an international event (Interhash). The staff were terrific and even organised a special laundry service as we were all runners/walkers.

The hotel itself was a bit "faded glamour", but was clean and had good services. Breakfast and dinner buffet service was good and the hotel staff went out of their way to do vegetarian food for my wife.

No complaints and plaudits to all the staff who worked hard under pressure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trembler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

was only there to sleep and it was a good one for both the nights there. Must say that the breakfast was imple yet full filling

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
265 reviews
1 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
640 reviews
0.9 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,720 reviews
2.6 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.4 km away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Address: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: ₹ 2,293 - ₹ 3,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing