We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base, Great Choice”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Base, Great Choice”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Hilton has been in Kuching for many years and recently went through a thorough refurbishment in all their rooms and some of their facilities. Located right at the water front, this is a great convienient choice for any visits to Kuching. Many tourist sights and abundance of restaurants are all within walking distance. Do try their famous kolok mee and sarawak asam laksa which are available in most of the local restaurants.

Stay at the Executive Room on 12th floor and the club lounge command a fantastic view of the river (I think this is the best hotel with river view). Do ask for room facing the river. The refurbished room was nice with everything expected for this class of hotel, but the bathroom is rather small with a missing bath tub. I truly enjoyed sipping a cup of coffee at the lounge and enjoy the rivew view, while attended by warm staff. (Compliments to Amy at the Club Lounge) Breaksfast at the lounge is quite limited compared with the variety offered at their restaurant. Evening cocktail comes with simple finger food and drinks.

Although the lobby still looked rather dated and the renovated gym/spa facilities seem to be completed half-heartedly (you can still see some old equipements/facilities - the half covered old jacuzzi in the steam room as an example), this will still be my preferred choice of hotel in Kuching.

Room Tip: Request for a River View room. Pay slightly more and get upgraded to the Club Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching.

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us and we are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Indeed the property has a very privileged position in the city with fantastic views of the Sarawak River and walking distance to places of interest.

I'm really glad you liked our rooms and that you liked all the amenities and facilities offered in the hotel and that our team members took care of you well, with special mention to Amy. Our highly motivated team members make the Hilton Kuching a treat to stay at.

With regards to your feedback regarding the gym/spa, please rest assured we have been in contact with the management to further improve.

Last but not least, yes we agree that Sarawak has lots of local specialities asides the Laksa and Kolo Mee, there are also the Nasi Lemak and Satay to name but a few.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to the Hilton Kuching.

With warm regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching &
Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    668
    232
    54
    26
See reviews for
282
483
127
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We arrived at the Kuching Hilton in the pouring rain on Christmas Day 2011- with my luggage left in Kuala Lumpar. Despite arriving at 10.30am we were checked in immediately to a very comfortable room and my luggage was delivered to the room within a couple hours. We stayed for one night en route to Batang Ai and when we arrived there discovered we'd left our passports in the room safe. The manager at Batang Ai rang the Kuching Hilton and our passports were waiting for us when we returned. We had another night in Kuching on our way home and this time we were given a room upgrade and a late check out time of 5pm so that we didn't need to leave until we were ready to go to the airport. This is the level of service and flexibility that really makes a trip - the staff are brilliant very friendly and helpful. Overall the standard of this hotel is very high it has recently been refurbished and the rooms are excellent. The restaurants and coffee shop are also of a very good standard and the breakfast is amazing.

Room Tip: If you need an early check in or late check out email the hotel in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliG965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review on TripAdvisor.

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us and we are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Indeed all the team members provides memorable experience that is hard to forget.

One of our main priorities is making sure our guests feel welcomed and well taken care off. We will be happy to make sure they are recognized for their efforts in making your stay special.

The entire team look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warmest regards,

Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Our travel agent had booked a couple of days at this hotel before a trip into the jungle for a few days before returning for another couple of days. We had no problems at check in and had a great room with huge windows and views out over the Sarawak river and the spectacular Parliament building opposite. The room was clean, comfortable and well equiped and we were supplied with two bottles of drinking water every day. If we hadn't read some previous reports about this hotel saying it was dated and in need of a refurb we probably wouldn't have noticed that some of the decor was not perfect but with that in our minds we did find some minor decor defects - but don't let this influence you too much it is very minor.
The usual buffett breakfast was good with plenty of choice and hot food hot. There was a buffet dinner each evening but no one there?? We generally prefer to eat out and each night we walked past the empty restaurant and felt so sorry for the staff with nothing to do. More importantly - what happeneed to all that food not consumed, would it be reheated and
brought out another night?
On our second visit we had a similar room which I think had been upgraded. It was on a higher floor (10th) and was roomier and better decorated. Everything else was the same.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a river view on 10th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedgtrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching and thank you very much for your very positive comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you liked the services, from check in time to our newly renovated rooms and our breakfasts.

As regards to your comments on the buffet dinner, we take pride in informing that we regard the best and highest in hygiene standards, as such we do not 're-cycle' unconsumed food in the outlets.

Feedback is always important to us as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

Once again, thank you for your truly valuable comments and I hope that we will be able to look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Kuching again soon.

Warm regards,

Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We recently styled at the Hilton in Kuching and were delighted to have he our rooms upgraded to river view on the penthouse floor. It was amazing we had 2 bedrooms with lounge and tv room in between. We also were able to use the executive lounge on the 12th floor which was appreciated after returning from shopping or a sightseeing trip during the day. We could sit, relax and enjoy a cool drink whilst looking over the views of the river.
Will definitely stay here agin

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_tales_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from the Hilton Kuching.

We thank you for your favorable feedback following your stay with us at Hilton Kuching and we were delighted to learn that you had and enjoyable and comfortable stay.

I have shared your kind comments with the team and we look very much forward to seeing you again soon.

With warm regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We arrived on xmas day for 6 nights in an executive suite. Check in went smoothly and our first impressions of the service was good, however from there on the service deteriorated. The staff in the executive lounge were all trainee,s and had very limited English skills making requests difficult and prone to error, with long delays. The xmas buffet dinner was very expensive for the selection and quality of the food provided.
The views from the suite overlooking the river were quite spectacular and almost made up for the unusually poor weather experienced during our stay.
In general the hotel lacked any warmth or charm which we have experienced in similar hotels of the same standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from Hilton Kuching and thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor website.

We are certainly disappointed to learn that the later part of your experience with us did not meet your expectations particularly with regards to the services at the Executive Lounge.

Whilst you have highlighted your experience, we will continue to work hard to ensure all our guests are made to feel welcome.

We thank you again and trust we get another chance to build on your Hilton experience in the near future.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,981 reviews
1.0 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.4 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.4 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
577 reviews
1.0 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,869 - ₹ 7,422
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International
Hilton Kuching Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing