We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and unique place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Batik Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely and unique place to stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Batik Boutique for a few days during our stay in Kuching, and I'm so glad we did!

The staff were so welcoming when we arrived and offered us a welcome drink, which was very much appreciated after such a long journey! The rooms were fantastic, really original and modern decor and the shower was amazing, loved the cute egg shaped bath-tub too.

The wireless in our room worked and the bed was comfortable. We had a street facing room but didn't have any issues with street noise.

The only piece of constructive advice I would give to Batik would be to really look into training staff on cocktail making if they are going to have cocktails on their drinks menu. Personally, we thought they were too big with not the right measures of alcohol in them, but I do think that this was purely down to lack of training rather than anything deliberate. Breakfast was good and tasty, would have liked to see a bit more on the plate though!

Overall, this is a great place to stay and we would definitely stay here again. Our travel agent had originally offered us the Hilton in Kuching, but we wanted something more original and with a bit more character, which is what we got at Batik, in a good way!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    98
    23
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
167
52
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My wife and I have stayed here 2 years in a row for 3 or 4 days and we would go back. The hotel owner Jackie and her staff are fantastic, friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, spacious and modern. The location is very close to the waterfront, lots of great food and shopping. From our room we could walk anywhere we wanted to go. There is a Bang & Olufsen CD player in the lobby, which shows the attention to detail! A great little gem in the land of soulless highrise hotels, recommended!

Room Tip: The front rooms have a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kedaabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Don't quite know where to begin but I guess I could say that from the minute my husband & I walked in the door we felt at home.The staff are wonderful...very attentive and interested in their guests.From the reception to the room attendants to the bar and restaurant staff, all were so kind and helpful and made our stay terrific.
We made friends with everyone and spent time at the end of a busy day relaxing with a drink & just chatting about what we did and where we went.
The Batik Boutique is a very clean modern hotel. We loved the atmosphere as it is small and so easy to get to know everyone...seems so much more personal than a big hotel. The rooms were spacious and had lots of amenities that even the big hotels don't have...like built in adaptors for computers and cameras etc.( ours didn't work). After staying for 3 nights we left to go to Bako National Park overnight (fabulous) when we returned for another 3 nights it was like coming home.The staff greeted us at the door and were anxious to hear all about our adventures.We loved it at the Batik Boutique Hotel and will definitely stay again if we are fortunate enough to return to Kuching. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel....it is in a great location as well 5 min walk to the waterfront and lots of great restaurants close by.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

From the minute we arrived we were welcomed with cake and the local brew "tua". Casual style check in on a day bed and then shown to our modern cool room. The staff were all extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Jackie the owner was full of helpful tips as were all the staff. Breakfast was included and great. Location was really central and transport was arranged if we wanted to go anywhere...Highly recommended...

Room Tip: rooms at the front have the awesome bathtub and street view, rooms at the back have small balcony an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barkleybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Lovely hotel in which I stayed for 5 nights, after initially having planned a 2-night stay. The place was lovely and the staff extremely kind and helpful. They went out of their way to have my laundry done (for a very small fee), and were always willing to help arrange transportation etc. The room was well kept, airco worked well and there was more than enough water pressure to make the rainshower an enjoyable experience. WIFI-signal was strong and the beer cold for an affordable price. Location was good too, close to the waterfront.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper you might choose the Courtyard rooms which are not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstherfromTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.9 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.2 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
1.0 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batik Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batik Boutique Hotel

Property: Batik Boutique Hotel
Address: 38 Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,232 - ₹ 4,137
Hotel Class:4 star — Batik Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Batik is a lifestyle hotel set in the epicentre of Kuching's hustle and bustle. It caters to the needs of today's discerning business and leisure traveller sprinkled with a certain special touch. With its fifteen stylishly designed well-equipped rooms, unconventional hotel offerings and enthusiastic and ever-so-helpful team of hotel crew, The Batik is Kuching's first hospitality icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Batik Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batik Boutique Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing