We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family getaway..”
Review of The Kebun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kebun
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Only four hours after leaving Singapore, we were settled into our lodge, eating local fresh fruit and enjoying a delicious home cooked meal.
The service we received from Adrian and his team was perfectly balanced, always there when we needed them, but leaving us with plenty of space.
The location and facilities are amazing, scenery, space, a meandering river, plenty of room for the kids to play, plus things for the kids to play with. the only thing we would change is to put a shower unit into the wetroom, to contain the splashing and spray to keep the floor dry.
Adrian provides a detailed giude to all of the local activities, and having a car provided as part of the deal enabled us to have loads of epic adventures.
For anyone wanting a family farmstay adventure in Asia, I think this is perfect!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 182 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

As four brothers and sisters who live in different parts of the world we came to meet at the Kabun.
It was the most meaningful holiday we have ever had. We loved the generosity, simple care and and we long to return. We can't imagine a better way to experience Sarawak.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Highly recommend the Kebun as a base to explore the region. The accommodation is great and includes a lovely garden and farm setting which is great to explore. We stayed in both bungalows, adrian's creates an amazing other world feeling, beautifully decorated and built from gorgeous timber. Oliviias like stepping into a purposely constructed 80's movies set. Great hosts who will ensure you are looked after. Food was a delight, lots of lovely fruit, and lovely dinners with great variety. and catered for vegos as well.

The Kebun provides you with a car (and for us kiddies seats) as well as everything you need to get around (garmin) easily. we really enjoyed having the car to drive where we wanted and enjoyed driving around sarawak. driving was surprisingly easy, very polite driving culture - and no dramas at all.

Wifi not so great at the kebun itself, but if you are on holidays enjoy the break from the wifi and if you need it you can get it on the phone (provided by the kebun) when you are out and about during the day if you really need it.

easy to do laundry too.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Hidden away on the edge of the Matang National Park an hours drive from Kuching, The Kebun is a fantastic, rustic place to stay. Our hosts Adrian and Jeneeil were friendly, helpful and always on hand, even giving us a phone programmed with numbers incase we needed to be in touch. The Kebun itself if situated on a beautiful organic farm by the banks of the river with two cottages and the long house all built in the traditional Sarawak style. We stayed as a group of 4 in the long house (which has 5 bedrooms although only one other was occupied while we were there). It was fantastic, relaxing, peaceful and comfortable set overlooking the beautiful garden and river, the perfect place to chill in a hammock and plan trips to the many parks, waterfalls and beaches nearby. A car was included as part of our booking which was a great touch! The wooden long house is not high luxury but that's part of the charm, full of traditional Borneo artifacts including a nod to the headhunters of the past. There are fans in each room and any mosquitoes are kept at bay by burning incense in the fire pits and electric repellents. The communal areas (with wifi) include DVD room, kitchen, gardens with chicken house and seating areas where we whiled away evenings playing cards. All food is included and Jeneil is a great cook, whipping up delicious local food for lunch and dinner.

We strongly recommend the Kebun to anyone visiting Borneo.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjeninho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Stayed in Adrian's bungalow recently with hubby and 2 kids.
Host: Adrian very friendly and funny guy. Jeneil a very good cook.
Accomodation: Adrian's bungalow, - very rustic with lots of antique on display. However lighting in the unit are a bit too dimmed. If you want to absorb in the kampung life style and see how the people in the kampung lives , this is the unit to stay.
Olivia's bungalow: nearer to the main office. Lightings are very bright so not so much mosquitos, more English style.
Longhouse and headman longhouse: it's built on top of a stream . The common area very cool to hang out there, more antiques on display here. However be ready to share the toilets with other guests as they don't have individual toilets in the room and the toilets are outside of the unit,just a few steps away, so if it rains or you decided to get up for a midnight loo,it's kind of scary.
The host, the food , the environment are all hard work for Adrian and Jeneil. M very happy that I stayed here. Be reminded that this is in a Malay kampung area, very remote , so the car comes in handy. Mosquito repellent is a must. Don't expect cleanliness like a 5 star hotel. This is however back to nature, so do expects visitors like mosquitos, lizards, spiders, bugs, and so on.
They have DVD player and lots of movies in the bungalow units and also in the cowshed in case you get bored at night or on rainy days where you just want to chill out. Wifi reception only gprs.

Stayed: September 2015
2  Thank Chai03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
5.3 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
4.4 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,736 reviews
4.4 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#23 of 55 in Kuching
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Nanga Damai Homestay
Nanga Damai Homestay
#3 of 83 in Kuching
158 reviews
22.1 km away
The Village House
The Village House
#5 of 83 in Kuching
257 reviews
25.4 km away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 55 in Kuching
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kebun? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kebun

Address: 20 - 25 Jalan Kampungtabuan Melayu | Jalan Hidupan Liar, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: ₹ 1,944 - ₹ 11,017 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kebun was started 12 years ago as our plan for a retirement home in Sarawak, East Malaysia. Adrian’s Bungalow was put up after being disassembled from the movie set of The Sleeping Dictionery. Olivia’s was only put up only two years later when it was taken out of storage which was also disassembled from the same movie set. The farmstay side of the business only started in April 2010 after much encouragement from friends.The Kebun is not just accommodation, it is an experience. If you would like to get a taste for the basics of a simple lifestyle in a beautiful tropical setting, which is of fresh gardens of organic herbs & vegetables, picking your own tropical fruits, dining on fresh farm raised livestock, fishing for your own freshwater fish & simple accommodation with little impact to the environment, or even to help out with feeding all of the animals at the end of the day’s activities and again in the morning, then your are up for a unique Sarawakian adventure at The Kebun. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kebun Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing