We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and relaxing family home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a huge bedroom on the first floor with an attached bathroom and wish we could have stayed longer as we were made most welcome. Annie picked us up from the airport and suggested we visit the Sunday market nearby which we did, I loved seeing all the fresh produce for sale. The next day she arranged a trip to the Cultural Village for us which was really interesting. The breakfasts were huge and it was great to be able to chill out in the lounge, they were even happy for my son to watch the football match, a real home from home in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We used the Fairview as our base whilst in and around Kuching and enjoyed staying there very much. It's an old (1920's?) big house with an extra annexe with a couple of rooms (we stayed in the family room there). The owner Annie is very helpful - we were happy to be picked up at the airport as we arrived there in the evening after 10 hours in the air and another 3 waiting at KL airport. The airport pick-up isn't free but we were glad of it. Annie will organise tours and transport if you want to - generally we did our own thing though. She also let us leave extra luggage there when we went off on overnight stays at Bako national park and also out at another homestay in the countryside. The rooms are clean but no-frills and everything is pretty efficient. It's within walking distance of the centre of town and also of the weekend market (Pasar Minggu). The breakfast is a good way to kick start the day and also meet up with other residents - the guy who looks after the kitchen and food is really nice. Have a look round his veggie garden!

I'd thoroughly recommend it as a relaxed environment to use as a base to explore the Kuching area from.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debnickfaymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

resonable prive,but family historical buoilding,its posible to have personal entry/door/ to room . Lokationa at amiznig real old garden.Posible to have pick up from airport. Friendluy family, You can use kithen same as home kithen,Only one time at week coming cleaning woman for cleaning room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sp6smj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I found "The Fairview" Guesthouse in a New York Times travel article before I traveled to Kuching in May of 2011. When my friend and I first arrived, I wasn't blown away by the rooms - they were pretty standard for the guesthouse scene, yet clean and orderly. Whatever The Fairview lacks in frills, it more than makes up for in hospitality. Eric, the owner, picked us up from the airport and immediately took us to the local craft center (un-prompted) where we got to see local artisans at work. When my friend wanted to buy a souvenir but had not yet exchanged money, Eric bought it for her, allowing us to pay him back later.

Eric helped us all along the way to plan our excursions, gave advice where to eat and shop, even took us out for breakfast at his favorite place before driving us to Bako National Park for the day. On our last evening, he came by our room and asked us if we were up for meeting one of his friends, an important member of one of the local tribes who had built a long house at his home. We were subsequently treated to dinner and an eventful evening of fun with one of the most interesting people we met in Sarawak.

The Fairview has a beautiful garden, excellent service, and a landlord with a heart of gold. Couple this with an affordable price - I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Situated in a historic building, the Fairview provides room and that cozy feeling of being in a home rather than a hotel or B&B - hosts Annie and Eric are very helpful in arranging excursions, and in general answering queries - so if you feel comfortable about helping yourself a little, and ask if you need something, they will go a long way to make your stay a good one.

Stayed for 2 x 5 nights with my wife and child, in a triple-bed room on the 1st floor in the main building. The bathroom was shared with another room, but no guests were living there, so we basically had 1st floor to ourselves, including the large livingroom space with chairs and sofas. Aircon works, but we only used it ocassionally mostly in the day-hours.

The nearby road has quite heavy traffic and can be noisy, so bring earplugs if you're easily affected by this - -we adjusted quite quickly to it anyway.

The house itself is like a small museum, with an interesting history worth diving into (you can buy a small booklet with further info in the reception)

All in all, good value for money and highly recommended for extended stays in Kuching.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tueolesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
2.6 km away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#15 of 55 in Kuching
52 reviews
1.0 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
1.4 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,642 reviews
1.0 km away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
1.1 km away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Guesthouse

Address: No 6 Jalan Taman Budaya | (Opposite Sarawak Museum's Garden), Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: ₹ 977 - ₹ 1,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Guesthouse Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing