We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great eclectic place and the best Fettucine Alfredo I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Junk

The Junk
Ranked #12 of 567 Restaurants in Kuching
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 40
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Junk is an eclectic collection of five establishments carefully cultivated within the confines of the heritage buildings of Wayang Street, Kuching. With the proprietors' personal curation of actual antiquities and memorabilia over the years, The Junk houses remnants from days gone by, each with their own eccentric story to tell. Since 2002, the award-winning Junk Restaurant specialises in the fusion of Italian, Western and Asian cuisines. They also offer an impressive list of handmade pizzas, even adding their own twist to conventional toppings. Whether it is an intimate table for two or a party of 12, Junk Restaurant has several dining areas to cater to your needs. Red Room started as an after dinner lounge area. It now serves as a karaoke lounge. In 2006, Junk Bar started as something more akin to a speakeasy. It would be easy to miss this unassuming bar accessible through a hole in the wall from Red Room. Don't let the narrow walkway and rambunctious regulars intimidate you as it is perfect for quieter nights out. Since 2008, Backstage has been one of the most popular night spots in Kuching. On weekends, resident DJs spin through the night. When crowded, it looks like a party in an antique shop. Be prepared to stand as the crowd pours in throughout the night. Choose your poison and dance the night away. If you want something milder, head next door to the newly renovated Living Room. The perfect blend of a lounge and an al-fresco garden, choose to sit by the water fountain or in the actual living room on the first floor overlooking it.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great eclectic place and the best Fettucine Alfredo I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Loved the kitsch,funky decor with old world charms surrounding the whole restaurant! This restaurant was rated as Best Restaurant 2010 and 2011 by Tatler's Magazine and was even visited by Anthony Bourdain.Great Italian/Western food, worth every penny spent!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Sabrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    161
    66
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“'Quite' good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Ordered a pepperoni pizza and whilst it had good flavour and was pretty authentic thin crust italian style, it was very light on the pepperoni. Only one small piece per slice.

My partner had the grilled chicken wings stuffed with prawns, had a wee taste of that too - very good indeed.

Prices range from around 25 - 50 RM per main dish - and they are substantial, some possibly big enough to share.

Downside was that we had to eat in the bar area at the back and it was very smoky - and the staff - a little abrupt and zero niceties that one would expect from a stylish establishment as I would consider the Junk to be.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Definitely the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This place has awesome food, great atmosphere, friendly staff, you name it. The best in town.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank singaporeteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude! Snobbish! Bad service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

After having a lovely dinner in Green Hill Corner, we decides to head to junk cafe to try one of ther cakes we had seen earlier. We headed in and the waiter barged past us with a huge plate of food. We then asked If we could hv the cake an the waiter very arrogantly said "no dinner? No drinks? " etc etc we repeated no..just cake a few times. He then did not bring the cake for 20 mins we sat an waited. He cleared other people's tables and was fussing about with the menu and even brought us water but could not bring us the cake pre cut from downstairs. We walked out and looked back and he was there waiting at the door with his hands on his hips. Funny thing is, is that I was planning to go there for a big dinner and drinks before we left Kuching. But now not to this snobby restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nairaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Most Stylish Bar in Malaysia?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great Bar and good restaurant. Well decorated. Popular with locals and visitors alike. l

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Junk also viewed

 

Been to The Junk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing