We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's descent if you have a strong personality”
Review of Tropicana Lodge

Tropicana Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicana Lodge
Ranked #50 of 81 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“It's descent if you have a strong personality”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Okay rooms, interesting decor (in a good way), nice restaurant (great cook), cheap beer, good location.

What you need is just to go about and do your own thing. The owner, Vincent, is a cool guy, but he makes no secret of it that he wants to sell you trips and he wants to sell them now. You can of course think for yourself and use public transport and a little bit of insight and make your own trip. We moved to a different establishment after three nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    7
    5
    12
See reviews for
1
19
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Having read positive reviews we booked for 3 nights but only stayed for one. Small rooms with no space, limited bathroom facilities, no common area (just a table at top of stairs). That said Wifi worked and staff were happy to help where possible. Is strangely situated above an old restaurant. Would recommend Akinabalu Hostel instead.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We (myself & partner) have recently stayed at Tropicana Lodge for 12 days or so aside from when we went on a trip to the jungle for three days (arranged by the guest house) (where we saw a lot of wildlife including wild pygmy elephants, wild orangutans ect )

The owner (Vincent) has been a great host and full on useful information to us, especially as we are on a budget.The double room we shared was a great base and was clean and comfortable, we had shared bath rooms that were clean with hot showers.

We had a great experience at the lodge thanks to Vincent, Geoffrey and all the staff.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelbug25Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nokia, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This has to be the worst place on the face of the earth. Wow, what a guy this Vincent is. Consuming alcoholic beverages and herbs from the mother earth (still illegit) constantly. I mean, he was doing that all the time. We were there for three long days and two long nights. Actually we tried to spent time here as little as possible.

The owner got mad at us SEVERAL TIMES in few days because we wouldn't go to trips organized by him. The showers was broken, computer was down...

There were a few good things though. For example, the location is quite nice. Quiet, peaceful, just a minute walk away from the centre. The beer was also cheap, that's a plus.

I have seen many many many places that are in worse conditions than this place. The place itself is a-okay, but what makes this a nightmare, is the owner.

AVOID! I would like to make a t-shirt with "I survived Tropicana Lodge, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 2011". Because that's how i feel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pjotr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Let's start with the positives of this place:

1) Location. Right across the road from Gaya street and the sunday market, the shopping centers, lots of food fares and the CBD.

That's where the positives end.

Let's talk about the negatives:

1) The owner of the place (Vincent) needs to get some serious lessons in basic manners and basic PR. The guy drinks too much, and is generally quite rude if you disagree with him or think his tour packages are too expensive. His kids are all over the place and he treats the lodge as his home which isn't always a good thing.

2) Breakfast: The day we stayed here was quite an experince. It was quite shameful to watch him (the owner) shouting at a worker at the restaurant on the ground floor her and using expelsives

He obviously had been drinking and just went off on her.

The breakfast itself is nothing to shout about to be honest and there are far better places to stay for the same price in the area. If not, add on RM20-RM50 and get a decent motel with aircond and peace and quiet.

Avoid this place if possible unless you have no choice. Rooms/beds are nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 km away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#28 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
94 reviews
0.3 km away
Lodge 58
Lodge 58
#6 of 81 in Kota Kinabalu
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
#16 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
91 reviews
0.2 km away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
102 reviews
0.1 km away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#23 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Lodge

Property: Tropicana Lodge
Address: Lot 9, Ropicana Lodge 1st Floor Lorong Dewan | Australia Place, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 706 - ₹ 770
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the town center, a 5 minute walk to all the cities amenities. This small hostel provides a home like experience giving you a perfect place to meet travelers from all around the world. Tropicana also offers you a one-stop Borneo trip organizer, giving you your OWN, custom made itinerary for all or part of your trip. All your needs and budgets can be met so that your trips are smoothly buttered! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropicana Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing