We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
8
19
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
19
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room card budget hotel close to the airport housekeeping amenities floor sunset pros lobby cons kk
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I stayed in this hotel because the hotels in the city were fully booked.

The only advantage of this hotel is that it is very near the airport. By car, it would only take about 15 minutes, the road in front of the hotel leading straight to the airport. As it is not in the city, there was no need to worry about slow traffic like those in the city. It is suitable for those coming for business.

Though the hotel was new (not more than 5 years?), but the amenities looked and felt old. The towels offered felt like those in a budget hotel or worse. Cleanliness was so-so as there were days not everything was cleaned. The hotel has no gym nor swimming pool.

Dining was at a very small café and very limited choice for breakfast. The hotel meal consisted only of 3 things: boiled eggs, friend noodles and rice porridge, not more. There was a bread basket with sliced bread and the normal things to go with (margarine, kaya, jam).

On the last evening, I noticed that the toilet could not be flushed properly. Before going out for dinner, I told the front desk to request housekeeping to clear that choke before anything untoward. After I came back from dinner, nothing changed.

The next day, true enough it got choked. Before going out for work, I informed the housekeeping and front desk. When I came back in the afternoon, there was a pool of faecal water in the toilet bowl. Nothing done!

Good for business and short trip. Not for family.

After complaining, they finally came and cleared everything in 5 minutes! They gave the reason that the housekeeping went to the wrong room (as if there were so many rooms with chokes)!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narahda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

I chose this hotel because it was located very close to the airport. I had previously stayed in town near the waterfront more than double the cost of Hotel No 5. Location is great for night time flight departures, but bad for sight seeing in the city. They do offer shuttles to the city center, but do not offer airport shuttles. Taxi cost from hotel to the airport is a standard 30 Ringgit (~$7 USD). The hotel was clean and very inexpensive $41 USD. This hotel also had the best free internet during my 14 days in Borneo.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClemsunTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelN5_Pnmpg, Communications Executive at Hotel No 5, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear ClemsunTiger,

Good day. Greetings from Hotel N°5.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel N°5 during your recent visit to Kota Kinabalu. We are pleased to know that the hotel was up to your expectations, and that the Wi-Fi signal was strong.

Additionally, we truly value your feedback as this will assist us in continuously improving our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Warm Regards,
The Management and Staff of Hotel N°5

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel located very near to the airport. I was there for a nite stopover. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was sufficient and satisfactory. Staff were courteous and helpful. I've got no complaints.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Serene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelN5_Pnmpg, Communications Executive at Hotel No 5, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Serene Y,

Good day. Greetings from Hotel N°5.

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to share your review. We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the great value that we can offer. We will continue to offer the best that our guests expect.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
The Management and Staff of Hotel N°5

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We visited the hotel with friends and ordered drinks to watch the sun go down on the 11th floor.The staff are extremely well trained friendly and efficient.A bucket of 5 beers cost M $ 60 which was reasonable . And $22 for a glass of wine which wasn't very large but well chilled.Sadly the weather was rainy so not a great sunset ..we would definatly try again as the atmosphere was relaxed and worth a second visit.We didn't eat but the snacks looked interesting..

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelN5_Pnmpg, Communications Executive at Hotel No 5, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Dana S,

Good day. Greetings from Hotel N°5.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our Fiv五 Bar. We really appreciate your review as it will help our future guests to come and enjoy our facilities and service that we can offer.

We surely look forward to welcoming you back to Fiv五 Bar soon!

Warm Regards,
The Management and Staff of Hotel N°5

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

The hotel is very new, the room is clean and cozy. The dining area is attached to lobby and the designed is unique. The buffet breakfast is good and cheap. The location is near the airport but a distance to city centre. The staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tingjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelN5_Pnmpg, Communications Executive at Hotel No 5, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear tingjin,

Good day. Greetings from Hotel N°5.

Thank you for sharing your positive review of our hotel. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay, and enjoyed the great value that we can offer. Thank you for your kind remarks on the coziness of our room, the unique design at our cafe, and our buffet breakfast. We are also pleased to hear that our staff were accommodating as well.

We thank you for your patronage at our hotel. We definitely look forward to welcome you again someday!

Warm Regards,
The Management and Staff of Hotel N°5

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews