We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Matters”
Review of Mandarin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2017

You know you're in good hands when you step in (sweaty from KK's generous sun) and everyone looks happy to see you. Plus the guests who were checking out all couldn't hide how pleased they were with the hotel. Another good sign. As for me, check in was quick and painless. Stayed here for 2 nights and didn't find any fault with the hotel. It is moderately priced, clean, modern and comfortable. I stayed in the single room and had a great view of the Clock Tower and of course, the incredible blue skies of KK. Can't really comment on the Sunday Market as I went back to KL on a Saturday but I particularly enjoyed just hanging outside the hotel at the public square. All in all, recommended!

Quick Tip: Less than 5 mins walk away from the hotel is Biru Biru Cafe that serves yummy brekkie and yummier drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

I stayed here many times when I was in Sabah, I really loved the place, the beds are comfortable, the place is really clean, the staff are wonderful. They remembered me every time, greeted me like an old friend and even gave me a fruit bowl. The wifi is good. And its in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The reception staff all speak Chinese and this hotel is very popular with Chinese tourists so was very busy. We were only able to stay for one night as fully booked.
Great downtown location across the road from airport shuttle bus drop-off point.
Close to gaya street restaurants and right at the Sunday market.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

The place is in a pretty good location. Jalan Gaya, with many eateries, is just the corner. Jesselton Point is about 15 minutes walk away and there is a major shopping centre in the vincinity as well.

The size of the room is ok, and the sheets and towels are clean. However, it is a bit noisy at night as I can hear singing (probably from a KTV nearby).

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dannychan_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights over the weekend of a bicycle race. We chose the hotel as it was located very near the race starting point and is walking distance from a lot of cafes/restaurants. You will need to park on the street if you drive, but it's not a big problem as there is a public parking lot right across the hotel. You will also need to purchase parking vouchers, which are available at several shops around the hotel.
The hotel may not be the most modern or newest looking, but it is clean and a good deal for the price. And the best thing is that the staff is very friendly, especially the manager.
The only downside is the noise coming from bars around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anothermich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 km away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
481 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,202 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
480 reviews
0.7 km away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
0.8 km away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Hotel

Address: No. 138 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88809, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: ₹ 2,179 - ₹ 3,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandarin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mandarin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Kota Kinabalu Mandarin
Mandarin Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing