We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice in Kota Kinabalu CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A good choice in Kota Kinabalu CBD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed at the Le Meridien for two nights in late August in a deluxe, seaview room. All the hotel staff were friendly and efficient and I didn't encounter any problems at all during my stay.

The hotel is in a good location on the waterfront opposite the 'Philippino Market', which is a great place to check out the local foods and to buy some momentos of your stay. There are also plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance to the hotel.

Overall, a good choice when staying in KK.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AusGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    817
    216
    71
    30
See reviews for
388
757
114
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Big comfy rooms, good service, nice atmosphere. good location
Circle restaurant is a bit hit and miss but plenty of choices just over the road at the Waterfront development.
All round a very good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank affie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

my husband and i visited the property in august 12, intending to stay only for two nights (before and after climbing mount kinabalu) but we liked it so much we used it as a base for all our side trips to the rain forests and beaches. the staff starting from the front door to the front desk (mark) and house keeping are all very helpful. the rooms are large, well appointed and comfortable. the pool is small and can get crowded but on the weekdays it was not a problem. the food, as for all hotels of this category is over-priced but the location is fantastic - the amazing night market with its food stalls is downstairs, all the coffee shops are walking distance and so is the great food court at center point. you could do a lot worse in KK..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My staffs and I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days a year, for the last 3 years to attend an annual trade expo. My most recent stay was for 4 days, whereas my staffs stayed for 6 days. There are only two international 5-stars hotel in the city centre, the other being the Hyatt. Both are aging hotels. I wrote a very poor review for this hotel last year based on their services, and the General Manager responded that he will take corrective measures to address these shortcomings. I'm glad to note that I did not experience the same poor services this time around. The location is great, it is smack in the middle of town, it is within walking distance to the beachfront where you will find restaurants and pubs. Most shopping complexes and shops that sell local produce are also within walking distance. The size of the room and bath room are generous enough, but age has taken it's toll on the furnishings and carpet. It's clean and the mini bar is quite well stocked. Rooms that faced the sea come with a small premium. Wifi in the room is chargeable. Can't remember if they turned down the room in the evening last year, but they did not turn down the room during my recent stay. I also noticed that I did not get the morning news paper, perhaps the hotel do not deliver news paper to room that was booked through another website rather than through SPG. I shall remember to ask my staff to go through the SPG website next time. The gym is quite well equipped but the pool is a little small. Breakfast spread is good, I especially like the fresh juice station. Staffs are friendly and helpful. When I ordered room service, the service centre called me back to let me know the time needed to prepare my food. When I told the waitress at the lobby restaurant that I needed to have a quick lunch, they served me expediently. I think this Le Meridien charge one of the lowest room rate among the other Le Mediens in the region, as such, expect it to be crowded and sometimes, some of the guests can be a little loud and inconsiderate of their surroundings. Taxis are always on stand by at the entrance. The taxi charged a flat rate of RM15, RM 20 or RM 30 depending on the distance. Good stay but the hotel do need a rejuvenation. A city hotel unlike a beach front resort where age gives it an identity, it needs to sparkle, gleam and shine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kongsi-INFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed there for 2 separate nights while traveling to & fro Tawau from KK. We requested and were able to get take-away breakfast at 6am when checking out in the morning to catch an early flight to Tawau, though it was simple with just tarts, fruits and yoghurt. We didn't know how good the breakfast buffet was until the following stay there when traveling from Tawau back to KK. The buffet breakfast was very nicely prepared with excellent choices. Rooms were clean and appeared fairly new to us.

Hotel staffs weren't able to recommend good food near the hotel, though they're friendly and tried to be helpful. We realized that there was a list of recommendations printed on the hotel brochures only much later on.

Taxis were easily available even at 6am, no need for hotel provided transport which is more expensive. Just get the conceirge to arrange it for you.

Overall, very pleasant stay.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Xfelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.9 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.9 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Property: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Address: Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,549 - ₹ 15,539
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing