We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of Hotel Grandis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grandis
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Grandis Hotel is a small but very clean and comfortable hotel. It was perfect for us family of four as we had the family room which consisted of 2 single beds and one king sized beds. The towels were clean, white and in good condition. The bathrooms were well-kept. The staff were all very friendly and obliging. I would like to mention one staff, the receptionist Fara. A very alert, intelligent girl who speaks and understands good English. She went out of her way to make sure our requests were made and for that, I give her a 5 Star :) Wilfred the bell boy was always greeting us with his sweet endearing smile whenever we enter or leave the lobby.

Hotel breakfast spread could be better and i believe with better trained chefs, they could produce better quality tasting breakfast. Waitresses and waiters were all attentive and obliging.

On the whole a pleasant five nights stay at Grandis and very close to the jetty for scuba divers wannabes.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Venus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Venus L,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review.

Thank you for recognizing the great services of our staff. This is a very big encouragement and motivation to all our staff as it is our aim to ensure that all our guests' expectation will be met.

Wishing you all the best and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Thanks & regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

I like this hotel. Very cosy with bery nice sea view. Room very big and cosy with good sound proof. The air conditioning temperatures very difficult to adjust. The shower water temperature only 2 choices either cold or very hot. Would be great if can adjust to warm. Oh ya I've tried many times unsuccessfully.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Serene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Serene Y,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review.

I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the feedbacks on the temperature control on the air conditioning and shower. The covered roof at the drop off area is quite high and can be not as effective during a heavy downpour. However, the side of the hotel is complete covered and is perfect for drop off.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks & regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Unfortunately, the hotel doesn't meet the expectations.
There are many reasons. I would suggest staying at Meridien if you have high expectations.
The hotel is connected to the mall and is convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 104hisashit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear 104hisashit,

Thank you for sharing your review.

I am sorry and disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. While we are committed to meet all the needs and expectations of our guests, sometimes circumstances do not allow. But we will still continue with our effort.

Thank you for your understanding.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

The Grandis is a well located and well appointed hotel. Connected to the best shopping mall in town is the added bonus but it is also close to the markets etc. Breakfast was ok, cocktails at the Blu Bar ok. Better to eat dinner elsewhere as food is only ok.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Paul B,

Thank you for sharing your review.

I am glad that you had discovered the convenience of our hotel and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the valuable feedbacks for our improvement.

Wishing you all the best.

Thanks & regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Spent about 5days at Grandis Hotel was a great moment with a complete facilities and amazing view of South China Sea.
Got a cozy room and the location is near by shopping centre.
Enjoy the yummy food at Rosea cafe and Deli Corner all the time or watching sunset from rooftop while listening the piano set playing.
Such a amazing moment to stay there. Love it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ero Pradolly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Grandis, General Manager at Hotel Grandis, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Ero Pradolly P,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review.

I read with great pleasure how you had enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased that you had discovered the convenient and the facilities that we can offer. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Wishing you all the best.

Thanks & regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,207 reviews
3.1 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
0.7 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
844 reviews
14.5 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grandis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grandis

Address: Suria Sabah Shopping Mall 1, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: ₹ 5,191 - ₹ 11,151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grandis 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Ascidieria Grandis (Eria Grandis), an endemic orchid found on Mount Kinabalu. The latest hotel to grace Kota Kinabalu's sublime landscape sits in the heart of the city, a mere 15 minutes' drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport, and right next to the hippest mall in town. Our ideal location makes us the perfect retreat for those wishing to explore the area's eclectic shopping, dining, and tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Grandis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grandis Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing