We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neither good nor bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

It was a tough decision for us where to stay in Kota Kinabalu. We didn’t want to go for a bagpackers kinda place and have no money to stay at luxury hotel. I feel like we had pretty good deal to take best room in this kinda hotel. We have to mention that from our room was stolen a phone - staff couldn’t do a thing since here ate no cameras or smth. So its not safe. Despite this hotel looking to be in a decent location - it’s tricky to go anywhere from here on foot and due rush hours it’s allways a traffic jam around hotel. All furniture is quit old.. Things that were good - staff super friendly, spacious room, very decent breakfast (western + chinese). So in general (despite stolen phone) it’s an average hotel for an average tourists :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank 1985lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

The most disappointed the most is there was no room for a family of 4 pax. The fan adjustable switch were broken, and the air-conditioning in our room not cold enough although we've set 16°C the lowest temperature. Not forget to mention the breakfast buffet experience was really bad, we couldn't have teh tarik as fhe machine is broken. The only thing that amazed us is there's a basement parking provided for guest hotel and is free for us!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mitchamorchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Although, the hotel is located within walking distance to the city centre, there is a feeling of separation. It maybe because there is a flyover separating the hotel from the main shopping area. But I did not find it noisy. The rooms are very clean and the cleaning staff are very efficient. On one occasion, I went to breakfast and found that on my return, the beds were already made. However being an old hotel, some of the fixture need updating. For example, my sink did not empty quickly and the shower was elderly, and the air-condition needed more features to enable controlling the environment better. The reception staff was very helpful and polite. My room did not have a safe but I used their safety box. The 2 features of note are: 1)The dining room is full of retro furniture (1970s - wow) I hope they don't get rid of them. 2) The hotel have some seating outside the main entrance. It was lovely sitting out there in the evenings. They should provide more seats because it's well used.

Room Tip: Difficult to get around without a car but use 'Grab' the Asian version of UBER but cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 645wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

I came 17 of August. Receptionists were super kind.(not sure of name but two ladies at morning shift i guess)
But shower room at swimming pool was.. terrible..... no key for locker.. no tower for shower room......(need to borrow from gym-kinda beach tower)
We ask for high floor right side view and was good. Room is cozy and clean. But you need to call to housekeeping for shampoo things.
We order room service twice, room service lady is so kind and cute. The thing is roomservice who pick up the phone(male) was poor in eng, bit rude.
And we order steak as medium rare, but they made as super well-done...!

For tour informations, No mini bar in the room, need to ask for make up room, Location is good, price is fare enough for 4 stars hotel..

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank yoona1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

The hotel is situated right in the heart of KK. Near to shopping malls, Water Front and and sea food market and other tourist attractions. There's no public transport passing on this hotel however grab car is very accessible. It will cost you less than 10 Ringgits going to Water front and seafood market roughly around 4-6 ringgits. The hotel room is big and spacious. Facilities are in good condition except for the AC is not that cooling well and the swimming pool is quite old and it closes at early as 7PM. Beddings are ok, clean and fresh. Buffet breakfast is just ok. Acceptable for the price you pay. The hotel staff are very helpful and accommodating. Our room was bit noisy because it was situated beside the stock room and when we complain about it, the staff transfer us immediately in the next available room. The room can accommodate 3 persons as there is a big sofa in each room. Overall stay was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 km away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#35 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
247 reviews
0.2 km away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
192 reviews
9.7 km away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#63 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
0.6 km away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
541 reviews
1.3 km away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Oriental Hotel

Address: Lorong Kemajuan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Beverly Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: ₹ 2,628 - ₹ 4,486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabah Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. At Sabah Oriental Hotel you’ll discover that attention to details is our hallmark to ensure your stay in Sabah Oriental Hotel is a perfect one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sabah Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Oriental Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing