We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
118
292
197
61
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
292
197
61
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe suite walking distance facing the sea coffee house breakfast buffet seafood filipino market checking in swimming pool comfortable stay location is excellent water front club lounge strategic location waterfront kota kk
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Looks ok from outside. The smell in the lobby made me nauseous. The rooms were filthy. Amenities were all there but poor maintenance. Staffs pretty competent but not that friendly,...so business like. The breakfast is ok. The upside to this hotel is it's near the restaurants, markets, shopping, waterfront and only a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24-7feedback, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Sir/Ms,

Thank you for staying at Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu recently.

We appreciate your constructive feedbacks and wish to apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort caused. The relevant heads of departments have been tasked to ensure that issues raised are looked into for improvement purposes.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,
Anita Chung
Group Director of Sales & Marketing
[Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Tawau, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Bintulu, SARAWAK]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

we were here during hubby's birthday cum 8th wedding anniversary
the suites is huge with nice seaview
LOCATION is the major key
across the road is anjung senja for dinner and new oceanus shopping mall

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank wawa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24-7feedback, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Sir/Ms,

Thank you for staying at Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu recently.

We appreciate your compliments on our newly renovated room, which is complete with contemporary design, complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity and upgraded room amenities accompanied by the breathtaking sea view. Yes, we couldn’t agree with you more that our hotel’s strategic location is the perfect based for one’s business or leisure adventure as most financial, shopping and entertainment centres are within reach.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,
Anita Chung
Group Director of Sales & Marketing
[Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Tawau, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Bintulu, SARAWAK]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is a busy hotel........felt like central station when you arrive and same again at breakfast. People in the reception area opening suitcases and scattering things around. The hotel caters for the Chinese market and this is evident at breakfast! At checkin we were sent upstairs and only to be told that we should not have been and then asked to wait whilst our room was being inspected..... dont mind but it was nearly 9pm! Food at bar was good but live music loud and awful. The worst was that hot water did not work at night and not again in the morning, complaining did not work. Location was the only good thing. In centre of town. Pool area is awful. Junior suite a bit small for a suite!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank safari98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24-7feedback, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Sir/Ms,

Thank you for staying at Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu recently.

We appreciate your constructive feedback as they gave us the opportunity to gauge the consistency of our services and facilities provided to our valued guests such as your goodself. Rest assured that we will continue to strive for greater service excellence in order to keep up with the demand of our valued guests.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,
Anita Chung
Group Director of Sales & Marketing
[Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Tawau, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Bintulu, SARAWAK]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Our first stop off in borneo. Great location. Friendly helpful staff and amazing breakfast choice. We stayed in a junior suite which was excellent very clean and well appointed. There is a balcony on the 11th floor which gives a great view of the bay and sunset. Good location about 5 minutes walk into the city centre and all markets. Good local street food stalls are just across the road from the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank heaton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24-7feedback, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Sir/Ms,

Thank you for staying at Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu recently.

Thank you for your compliment on our hotel. We are glad to know that you liked the view from our breakfast spread and that you enjoyed our breakfast spread! Yes, we couldn’t agree with you more that our hotel’s strategic location is the perfect based for one’s business or leisure adventure as most financial, shopping and entertainment centres are within reach.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,
Anita Chung
Group Director of Sales & Marketing
[Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Tawau, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Bintulu, SARAWAK]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was not my 1st option. I stayed at Le Meridien KK once and have set a benchmark that Le Meridien is one of the best hotels so far in Kota Kinabalu.

However, I was told that Le Meridien was fully booked on 4th sept and had to opt for Promenade instead since it is nearer to Le Meredien (as our meeting venue will be at Le Meridien). We had no choice to stay at Promenade.

Upon arrival, the reception counter asked me to check in at Level 11 as the room booked was at the Club Lounge level. They served tea break with great selection of finger food. Since its nearly 6.30pm..there was a seaview spot at the dining cafe which u can witness a beautiful sunset. Indeed..i managed to capture an awesome view from there.

The room was nicely set up with complimentary fruits in a bowl..i have no complaint about the room. Though i saw many complaints on the unavailability of hot shower recently, it had been fixed by the hotel. Despite of other flaws that I ve read..I have gotten an "extra mile" service from this hotel.

The only improvement needed is the staff at the level 11 dining cafe, where they should have cleared the plates on the table fast and more food selection for breakfast. The nasi lemak was so plain..with no coconut milk taste..it was served with raisins (which an awkward combo),the sambal was tasteless with strong chili taste.

I will definitely recommend people to come here..request for booking at Level 11. Thanks promenade..i have now 2 hotels to consider if i am back in KK. Tq for the beautiful sunset. Am loving it so much..

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Venomlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
24-7feedback, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Promenade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Sir/Ms,

Thank you for staying at Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu recently.

Glad to know that you loved the view from our hotel! Indeed, our hotel provides one of the best spot to enjoy breathtaking sunset. We appreciate your compliments on our newly renovated room, which is complete with contemporary design, complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity and upgraded room amenities accompanied by the breathtaking sea view.

We appreciate your constructive feedbacks and wish to apologize for the inconvenience and discomfort caused. The relevant heads of departments have been tasked to ensure that issues raised are looked into for improvement purposes.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,
Anita Chung
Group Director of Sales & Marketing
[Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Tawau, SABAH | Promenade Hotel Bintulu, SARAWAK]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews