We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,096)
Filter reviews
4,096 results
Traveller rating
2,309
1,166
385
135
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,309
1,166
385
135
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kinabalu wing sunset bar kinabalu club cafe tatu coco joes chi spa star marina water slides borneo lounge horizon club sister hotel pitch and putt kids club infinity pool club room life guards mountain view
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 4,096 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The hotel staff were excellent and courteous.
I was impressed by the continuous service to the room, coffee cups or water glasses always washed and put away each time we returned to the room.
We took one of the suites which had an excellent ocean view.
The tennis courts were good but the coach was superb! The best I have ever had.
Thank you!
I was impressed by the staff’s care for the hotel, plastic (my recent beach hate) was collected and correctly thrown away by Steve.
Water sports were good and safety advice given.
If I could improve one thing, it would be restaurant service. Slow and got the order wrong 3 times. Along with no drinks or knives and forks etc. Small thing but could be better at this level. Food was OK, not amazing. In the end we took Uber (MUCH CHEAPER) to various restaurants nearby.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Topdog200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Topdog200,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

For many of us, this resort and our colleagues are like family. We take care of it and of each other and hope guests like yourselves enjoy being here as much as we do. So, it's always such a pleasure to read about how our guests have loved their time here with us.

I look forward to sharing your review with the team.

I will also forward to this to our Food & Beverage team to ensure they are retrained to follow the standards set for restaurants.

Meanwhile, we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Returned to the Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa for the 2nd time, and oh how sad to leave.
Whilst we did experience a poor quality meal on one evening, this was the only negative and was well handled by staff and hotel.
We again stayed in the Kinabalu Wing rooms, and paid to use the Club lounge.
We ate breakfast each day at Tatu Cafe and food and service was great,Whilst busy due to school holidays, things ran smoothly.
At night we used the Club facilities and here we enjoyed great service, and the company of our friends who are regular guests of the hotel.
The service and friendliness of staff Sakinah, Johnny and others made each evening a real highlight of our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble, and the evenings just ended too quickly. Thanks to all at the Club Lounge.
Also I must mention Farah ( Chop Chop) at the Club reception for her ever smiling effervescent attention.
For the resort overall, one could never forget the inimitable Rohan ( surely the hotel clown) who gives so much pleasure to all guests. What a character.
Our time during the day was mostly spent around the beautiful swimming pool, and her the attendants handling of a large number of pool users was top class.
Just one last disappointment was "Why do we have to leave, and wait to return" as we will certainly do. Thanks to all who made our stay so magical.

Room Tip: Best to book a seaview room in either wing as the sunsets are spectacular from these.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Ken W,

Thank you so much for this amazing review of the resort.

I know I will see enormous smiles all around the resort when I share this later. On behalf of Sakinah, Johnny, all other Club Lounge colleagues, Farah, Rohan (who makes his colleagues equally happy), thank you very much for singling them out here.

We are anxiously looking forward to your return! Until we meet again, safe travels always.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We chose the shangri la for the last night of our stay in Borneo, expecting it to feel like a romantic and exclusive treat. Whilst the facilities and staff cannot be faulted, this is the last place I would recommend if you are looking for something intimate/boutiquey. We are a couple in our early 30s. The place is absolute carnage with huge groups of large, noisy families. You can’t even eat breakfast in peace without disrupting people taking their selfies over the omelette station. So disappointed with this hotel! It was the most expensive place we stayed but not a patch on the exclusivity of Bunga Raya and Gaya Island Resort. Wish we’d stayed there for the extra night.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Alex R,

I am very sorry to hear that we had fallen short of your expectations.

We would have loved to help you make this holiday an pleasantly memorable experience. If you find yourselves in Sabah again anytime soon, please contact us directly. It would be our honour to serve you again.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We stayed in the Club King room with sofa bed for the kids

We were on the 7th floor of the Kinabalu wing overlooking the sea and it was stunning

Room was very nice and big enough for 2 adults and 2 Children

The hotel is stunning although very busy the staff were amazing and new the kids names from the first day.
Breakfast was lovely although no bacon which is common in Malaysia

Kids club was very good and the children loved the water slides and the pool was lovely.

We never left the hotel as it was lovely.

Big thank you to Andrew who works at the pool what a great benefit he is to your hotel he was lovely to our children and anything we needed he was there.

Also loved the chocolate bunnies and the easter eggs in the room at easter.

We will be back

Room Tip: sea view in the kinabalu wing with club lounge access
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BHoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear BHoody,

Thank you so much for this lovely review of the resort! We are so happy to hear that you had enjoyed your Easter break with us.

I can't wait to share this with my colleagues - especially Andrew.

We'd love to welcome all of you back again soon. Until we meet again, safe travels always.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We visited and stayed at this beautiful hotel twice while on our adventures around Borneo
Perfect location from airport and to discover kk..
our room was large clean with everything we could need including lovely scented bathroom products..
we even had birthday cakes left in our room as it was our 50th while away.. and all tho this didn’t fall while staying at the hotel we felt was a lovely touch by them.

The pool areas were clean and beautiful with lots of loungers .. pool towels..
the pool area bars service was great, with yum foods and lovely drinks.
The beach area was small but enough for a day soaking up the sunshine.
We didn’t have time for the spa but did take a look and purchased a few gifts from there.
Everything was perfect the staff so helpful..
breakfast was amazing so much choice and all cooked fresh.
Thank you for making our stay Amazing

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Funnymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Funnymo,

Thank you so much for this amazing review of the resort. We are both humbled and honoured!

Thank you very much for making us a part of your Borneo adventures. If you are planning a return visit, we'll all be here to welcome you back with open arms!

Until we meet again, safe travels always.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews