We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
bendigo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights with our 2 teenage sons. The apartment was clean and spacious. We ate at the restaurant a couple of nights and found the food really good, the same goes with the buffet breakfasts. It is in a convenient location near both the airport and city centre. Staff were very friendly especially in the restaurant and bars. The only down side was when I booked the apartment I had said in my email that we were a family of four. When we arrived we were informed that a 2 bedroom apartment consisted of a King bed and one single and that we would have to pay an extra $75 ringgit a night for a foldaway bed. I was not happy with this however did not have a copy of the email with me to prove anything. However this was not enough to tarnish my opinion of the hotel as everything else was very good. We used the hotel taxi driver 'Dannon' several times during our stay and found he spoke very good english and was very friendly and helpful. He even picked up our laundry for us from mega laundry as we were on a snorkelling tour and would not get back before it closed. Highly recommend you ask for Dannon. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback Miss S,

We appreciate your thorough comments on your experience here in the hotel we appreciate that you share them. We hope you’ve enjoyed Kota Kinabalu and Sabah as whole!

For future stays, feel free to request for extra mattresses if you need next time or even connecting rooms. If it also makes you more comfortable, you may request to shift your rooms to other floors accordingly as and when, just let us know.

As for the positive comments you've shared on Dannon and other staffs - we will convey it to them accordingly and let them know how they've met your stay a really good one.

To make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    189
    135
    31
    22
See reviews for
108
108
37
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

General Comments: Clean spacious rooms close to the city and airport. Very friendly staff with good breakfast service. The shuttle runs every two hours to the city(last one to and back5pm/5.30pm) and you need to pre book, While we never found it an issue, I am sure it could become one if the hotel was full. Taxi fare to town was the standard 12 ringgit and to airport is 30RM.

Room: Quick check in to very clean rooms and spacious rooms. Bathrooms and toilet were very clean. Two double beds slept two adults and two toddlers easily enough. Although, two large adults may be a struggle. Internet was free but wired and you have to sign for the cable, no issues though. Had to ask for cream as none is provided by default. Can view the mosque on one side and the city on other, the city side does have some traffic noise (4th floor) but we did not find it an issue. Free bottled water was provided every day which was most useful.


Gardens: There are no gardens as such.


Staff: Very nice and friendly staff who looked after us very well. In general in sabah, language can be an issue and while everyone is well meaning sometimes the attention to detail is not the same as well established tourist places. For example, everyday we had to ask for two extra towels. Even though room service found four used towels from previous day they would only replace two. And if you plan on staying there, ask for Redwan as your taxi driver, knowledgeable, reliable and speaks English well.

Food: We only ever ate breakfast which was the usual buffet fare. eggs were precooked and kept, although one could request an omelette. Breads were very nice and there is a wide selection of asian fare and juices etc. Tea/Coffee is served at the table. Only complaint would be that there were specific items listed on in room dining that were never available! We left sabah without ever tasting the coconut pudding because the hotel never had it and we never found it elsewhere.

Family Specific: The place was very kid friendly with the staff helping us out whenever possible.
The kids play area and swimming pools were excellent.

Clean linen, delicious food, shuttle service to the city, good breakfast and friendly staff made it a easy stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the less chance of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your SueDasai,

We appreciate your thorough comments on your experience here in the hotel and thank you for sharing them. We hope you’ve enjoyed Kota Kinabalu and Sabah as whole.

We’re glad that the doubles could fit you and your family so perfectly. Feel free to request for extra mattresses if you need next time or even connecting rooms. If it also makes you more comfortable, you may request to shift your rooms to other floors accordingly. The next time you’re town and you request for more than two towels daily, you may let us know accordingly during the check in process and it will be sorted out accordingly.

As for the food and and staff, we’re glad our staff has taken very well of you and your family and rest assured we will let our team know of their job well done. Feel free to utilise the kids room daily when you’re around next time.

As for the Coconut Pudding, you may want to try those around Tanjung Aru Beach Market and there’s a famous one in Tuaran too. If you need help getting to these places, try and ask our Concierge staff and I’m sure they’ll be more than happy to assist you.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stay in this hotel for 14 days,good thing about this hotel is very convenient access to the highway only IF you have your own transporation. We request to stay in higher floor and thought that it will be quite and nice, but unfortunately we were trouble by the traffice light during night fall, the by pass was busy, and somehow the oncoming vehicle headlight will shine right thro the window, even we are at the 9th floor. Don't like the glass panel between the bathroom and the sleeping area, it kinda see thro at the bottom part, i don't know if you like other to see you shower but i don't. bed is ok, clean and fresh, that's is a plus. swimming pool is nice, counter stuffs is friendly, we have problem of asking for bussiness centre facility, tried to web check in my air ticket, it was a public holiday and the IT department kinda closed I was told, printer is not working, the beauty part is IT people took off and they block everything in the system, NICE! i guess the management should consider even it was a public holiday but people still came and stay in your hotel. people smoke in the hallway, stink! breakfast was ok one day but the next day foods suppose to be serve hot but it was cold, not very nice. Afterall, safety is important, they delivered that.

Room Tip: Get an executive room if you don't mind to pay extra RM20, it worth every penny. Room is bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iococanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback iococanada,

We're glad you stayed with us for quite sometime and we hope you've enjoyed Kota Kinabalu or Sabah as a whole :)

We appreciate your comments and we're glad our safety features in the hotel made it a comfortable stay for you. You may request to move to other rooms or other floors if it makes you feel more comfortable with your stay - we will be more than willing to arrange it accordingly.

We have also forwarded all your comments and feedback to the respective departments accordingly. We will take action on some of the issues regarding smoking at the hallway and action on it accordingly.

We hope you will give us more opportunities to serve you better next time :)

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We picked this on recommendation and overall the experience was good. Our first day was slightly frustrating as a number of small issues made together made the place appear poor. I am glad to say the subsequent days improved and the overall experience is enough to recommend it and to return. They do a happy hour each day between 6-8pm which makes the drinks pretty good value. As many of the other reviewers have said, the staff are very keen to help, if not proactive.
The breakfast was good with a very wide choice. We ordered in room dining one evening and the food again was good and good value. The concierges are really keen to help and offer good advice and the courtesy transport into the city runs 6 times a day negating the need for the 15 minute walk through busy traffic.
Would stay again and would recommend for those on a smallish budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JontyK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback JontyK69,

We appreciate your comments and we're glad you had favourable stay throughout here in the hotel. The Happy Hours promotion is still running at the moment, so rest assured you can still enjoy the promotion the next time you're around here :)

We have also taken some of your critical comments and forwarded them to the respective departments accordingly.

Just to share with you, to make your trip a better one the complimentary the shuttle bus is scheduled to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

We hope you will give us more opportunities to serve you better next time :)

See you around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I picked this Hotel because it was a little out of town. I thought it would be quieter that the ones right in the town. Unfortunately they had a lot of functions on at the Hotel when we were there and the noise sometimes went quite late into the night from these functions. I thought you could walk into town, and we did a couple of times, but there are 3 or 4 very busy main roads to cross so most of the time we caught a taxi for 12Myr. The Hotel itself is very new and clean. The bathroom space is tiny even though the shower itself is big. You had to close doors all the time just to be in the bathroom. We booked an Executive Suite but there wasn't anything that made me liken it to a Suite except it had a large fridge in it. It was just a room and I wouldn't pay the extra price that we paid if I had have known. The breakfast was really good. Different every morning. They had one hot section where they kept forgetting to turn the heaters on but after we let the Manager know, it was hot from then on. The staff were good but one of the Consierge guys was exceptional. His name was Hamizan and he was so much help to us the whole 6 days we were there. All the Concierge guys were terrific but he was oustanding. Gave us loads of information as it was our first visit to KK. I may stay here again but with all the functions they have and the noise it creates, maybe not. Or maybe I should ask for a higher floor to escape the noise, we were on the 6th floor.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor you can to escape the noise and don't bother paying extra for an "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback dioz,

We appreciate your positive feedback and we're glad you had a favourable stay throughout here in the hotel. Feel free to let us know to move you to higher floors - there should be no problems on this :) We have also forwarded your positive mentions on our Concierge staffs especially Mr. Hamizam, and he has been awarded accordingly.

As for taking the cabs, to make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

We hope you will give us more opportunities to serve you better next time :)

See you around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,412 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,064 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
661 reviews
0.5 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,446 - ₹ 11,266
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing