We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, good room but ..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here in April 2012.

Booked for one bedroom residence and paid thru Expedia - great value.
The one bedroom residence was not exactly one bedroom. It's more like a studio with an area separated by a 'screen' for bedroom.

The residence is on a far section from the main hotel. There is a smaller entrance on the side of the hotel for the residence, although you can enter thru the main lobby (but you must walk quite a bit).

The room itself was near new and I cant fault the furniture etc. but the small kitchen was not equipped at all. It didnt have anything but a tray of tea/coffee/sugar, cups, electric kettle. There were no plates, spoon etc in the kitchen... only empty cupboards, sink and a small bar fridge (not cold at all even you cranked it up to max).

Aircond was a split system.
Only shower in the bathroom, no bath tub.
Very small vanity in the bathroom which made it a bit difficult to put your own toiletries.

We picked up rental car from the airport and drove to the hotel without any problem (using GPS). The location of the hotel is not in city centre. It's on the end of a fly over which brings you to the city centre. You CANT walk to city centre (too far and too hot to walk).

Check in process was a bit slow as I believe the new staff was not trained to process booking from Expedia. The ladies were asking each other questions and seemed unsure on how to do it.

I have a concern in regard to security as anyone can enter hotel thru the other smaller entrance by the side of hotel which was unmanned at night. Anyone can also enter any floor from carpark (as no security card needed to operate the lift).

Wi-fi & parking was free for hotel guest. Mind you if you park your car near the lift to the residence, you need to walk quite far to the main lobby to get your ticket validated every time.

Worst still, during our stay, the hotel had no electricity for 7 1/2 hours (from about 2:30am to 10am).
We couldnt use toilet (no water), we couldnt shower, no running aircond for 7 hours meant very hot room (Kota Kinabalu is very hot), we just couldnt sleep.
Staying on higher floor & no electricity meant we couldnt use the lift but stairs.

There was a problem with electricity supply.. and the staff DIDNT know when the electricity supply problem would be fixed!! They just had no idea.
They blamed the town electricity supply... no further explanation, no apologies..
We checked nearby hotels and shops and they all had their own generators.
I was disappointed to find out whereas most hotel/businesses in kota kinabalu have their own generators to prevent electricity supply problem and Ming Garden had none at all ? It's a case of bad planning I must say.

We saw guests having breakfast in dark and mostly everyone was in the lobby trying to find out what happened. We're so close to check out and move to Hyatt or Le Meridien. The electricity problem was fixed before we finished packing our luggage at around 10am that day...

In conclusion, it's a new hotel with new building in a newly built neighboorhood. Everything is still new and 'polished'. Polite staff - yes, helpful - no, and they seemed unsure on how to do things.
Would I stay here again .. nope.. sorry, 7 hours without electricity in a hot dark stuffy room with unusable toilet & no running water with no explanation, no apologies from the staff was enough for me.. I stayed at Le Meridien and Hyatt and will choose one of them on my next visit.

Room Tip: Choose hotel room, not residence because they're located on a far section from the main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleEEEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 345 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

We had a superior room . The hotel is close to the airport ( about 15 minutes by taxi) but very quiet.
The rooms are clean and well appointed. Meals are a little expensive- about 4 times what you will pay in mall and 8 times what you would pay in a shopping strip. They're OK but that's all. Expect to pay around R80 which is close to $26 each.
A taxi is essential to get anywhere else. Fortunately they are about $3 a trip except to the airport which will set you back $10 in 2012
It is not sensible to walk because of the heat, traffic and footpaths

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnstod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback johnstod,

Have forwarded your feedback to relevant departments for them to act on it accordingly.

As for taking cabs, to make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas.

Happy travels! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

New and modern hotel with excellent breakfast. Close to airport and city. Spent not more than RM15 to one place and very easy to get on Taxi. Free WiFi in lobby but need to ask for a cable in room. Swimming pool is good but smelly from outside drainage construction. Shuttle bus to few location.

Room Tip: 7/F is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SindyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback Sindy,

We are no longer working on the drainage construction so rest assured that there will not be any sewage issues crop up. Cable too is available upon request (FOC), so should you need to request for cables next time just give us a call and we'll arrange it accordingly.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas.

As for taking cabs, to make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

Happy travels and see you around! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel two days between holidays in Layang Layang and flight to home. It's very comfortable hotel with good location in city centre with good breakfast and service.
Also it's just 10 minuts to reach airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Igor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback Igor,

How was Layang Layang? Hope you had a great time over there! :)

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas.

Just to share with you, to make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

Happy travels and see you around! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I and my group of friends make a tour to Kota Kinabalu on 16 Dec 2011. Stay at this very new hotel. Everything is nice cool & quite place very near to 'Philipino Market' heart of the city (RM25 if taking a limo taxi).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Razif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback M_Razif,

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas.

To make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

Happy travels and see you around! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.2 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
1.0 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,482 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
699 reviews
0.6 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#17 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Mangga | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: ₹ 4,012 - ₹ 8,543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing