We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money with some of the warmest friendliest staff I have met” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great value for money with some of the warmest friendliest staff I have met”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while on stopover in Kota Kinabalu on way to islands off Sipadan.
Arrived late at night. Location is 10 minutes from the airport and check in was efficient. Ordered room service at midnight which was ok.
Ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel the next day, went to the gym and walked to a nearby mall. Everyone we encountered from housekeeping, reception, restaurant staff to security to engineering greeted us with a smile.
When I went to reception to ask about printing a boarding pass, they not only printed it for me there and then but wished me a happy birthday for the next day.
We immediately booked to come back next week on a nights stopover before heading home.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumpjacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback jumpjacq,

How was Sipadan? I hope you and your friends had a great time over there and we certainly wish this will not be your last visit not just in KK but Sabah as well! :)

Will send your positive comments to the respective departments especially those who've greeted and smiled their way at you making it a memorable one for you.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

Happy travels :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    180
    128
    30
    21
See reviews for
103
102
33
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Decided to Stay at this new hotel in KK after reading many great review on tripadvisor. Service is ok, nothing to shout about, not asking too much as this is a 4 star hotel located AWAY from the city center. upon arrival I was welcomed by a strong gust of sewage smell! The sewage smell remained there during the entire 2 days stay. Odd and I asked the staff, I was shocked to be informed that there is a sewage pump house just next to the hotel, less than 50 meters away.
It was a really awful experience and it didn't help when there are so many flies at the breakfast area. Makes me wonder if my case of severe stomach upset was due to this??

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joycewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGeneralManager, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We sincerely regret on the incident that occurred in the restaurant during your breakfast on your last visit here. We have taken note of the issues addressed here seriously and will definitely look into these with the respective departments. Regret to inform you that the sewage issue mentioned to you was actually due to the high tide at a nearby local village located approximately 200 meters away.

We hope that you have enjoyed your stay here nonetheless. We would greatly appreciate it if you could give us another chance to be of service to you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is probably the newest hotel in Kota Kinabalu, started operations in Dec 2011. Hence, the hotel is decorated with modern concept, inclusive of the rooms. The color combination of black and brown for example, the curtains, are not exactly to my liking, but it creates the “modern” concept. This is also coupled with the furniture, carpet design and layout of the room.

The toilet is a bit small .. no bath tub, only shower room. Toiletries offered is basic, but it was adequate.

The staff is friendly – checking in was a breeze, probably since I was checking in at 10.30pm. I was in the room in no time. Since this hotel is way off from amenities and shops, I had to order the room service. It was quick, but I think the meat was not fresh that it had some unpleasant taste. The buffet breakfast was good though with wide spread and variety. Though I did not taste the whole spread, but from what I had eaten, the food was good.

The downside of the hotel is its location ... probably when other buildings have come up within its vicinity; the hotel would attract more occupants. Currently, there is no buildings nearby, let alone amenities or shops. The nearest building, with shops, is probably 500m away, heading towards the airport. On the opposite direction, there is a major junction with fly over. On 2 sides are empty land with squatters ... from what I have heard, new commercial areas are coming up soon, and a private hospital across the road. Currently you definitely need a transportation to move around, although the hotel does provide shuttle services to certain points within the city.

Maybe when the other areas have been developed, the hotel would do better. As it is, I think the hotels fronting the sea - near the waterfront area are better options, in terms of convenience and location - plenty of shopping areas, convenience stores, restaurants, pubs etc. This is even more so when the rates are almost within the same bracket.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGeneralManager, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for the compliments on our room ID. We hope you have enjoyed the service and facilities in the room. We appreciate your comments and have seriously looked into them. We will also take immediate action on each and every issue that you have highlighted.

As you’ve mentioned, the hotel is located at the upcoming township of Kota Kinabalu. It is also located 10 minutes away from the Kota Kinabalu International Airport and 5 minutes away from the shopping and commercial district. To make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly added feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront).

Our hope is that may the most comprehensive Shopping Mall located right across our hotel will be ready by 2013.

Once again, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused. We truly understand your expectations and your disappointment. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perak
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a new hotel . The rooms are with modern concept and huge. Service was awesome . The staff at front office , restaurant serve with smile and very friendly . Wifi service only at lobby and restaurant . If the hotel have wifi service at rooms , will be helpful .But the hotel is far from city and take 10min drive to water front.but they have free shuttle service . This hotel is suitable for airport transit , center to city and airport.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGang, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback jayvk,

We certainly understand that the surroundings of our hotel are important on the enhancement of your visit here specially the location as you mentioned.

We have a few suggestions to make your trip a better one should you visit us again in Kota Kinabalu, you may hop on to our newly upgraded feature the complimentary shuttle bus to the central shopping, entertainment and leisure areas such as; Centre Point, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah and Jesselton Point (Waterfront) operating daily from 9:00am - 5:00pm (except 12:00nn).

We suggest you grab spots at the 9am shuttle service and come back by the evening? If not taxis are easily ready at the city for about RM 10 - 15 per route to the hotel. Hope that helps in you moving around :)

We would also like to inform you that the hotel is located at the upcoming township of Kota Kinabalu - KK Times Square and Harbour City. We hope by the time you're back to spend the nights with us all these shopping avenues and prime business facilities are available for you.

We hope that you will give us more opportunities to serve you in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu with more shoplots and other shopping avenues opened at the hotel’s surrounding areas :)

Happy travels and see you around :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

good-
the hotel is new and clean. there are many selections in the buffet breakfast which is really good and tasty except for the cold meat salad which was a bit sour and not fresh.

bad-
only basic toiletries provided for hotel guest (soap, shampoo and shower gel). when asked for toothbrush and toothpaste, the housekeeping said they don't have them which is very disappointing. sandal is provided but it was too small, more like children size. the worst thing is that the toilet sink was clogged and there is no lock for the toilet door.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kadyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeiGeneralManager, General Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate the compliments received on the cleanliness of our hotel. We’re glad that you enjoyed our food selection and taste in our All Day Dining restaurant. The hotel does provide basic toiletries including toothbrush and toothpaste. We would like to apologise that we have failed to fulfil your request toiletries request and kindly be informed we do provide basic toiletries including toothbrush and toothpaste for future reference. We have taken note of your comments and will address this issue to the respective departments.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in your next visit to Kota Kinabalu :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.7 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
2.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
1.0 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#15 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Property: Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Address: Lorong Ming | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,273 - ₹ 5,891
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing