We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
261
454
145
36
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
454
145
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view rain shower gaya street sunday market deluxe room walking distance central location top floor buffet breakfast egg station hotel restaurant nice room suria sabah pleasant stay jesselton point local food nearby islands
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband in two occasions but only for 1 night each time. Didn't have much chance due to short stay to use many of the hotel facilities but rooms were spacious with great rain shower and bathtub, complimentary water. Wifi wasn't so good on either occasion. We had to leave early on one occasion and was offered a take away breakfast but this was 3 bread rolls only, an apple and water. The breakfast we could stay for was a good variety. We did eat in one of the restaurants and my husbands starter and main course was all served at the same time, I had already had my starter as his never appeared and mine was getting cold. We found this a bit bizarre.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pinkyjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for five nights for my work conference. It is in a great location to walk around and experience the local area. The food is good and the breakfast buffett has a wide selection. There were a few maintenace issues with our room. Other than that I would stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank terrys363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed a few nights at the Horizon hotel and came away with mixed feelings.
Check-in went smoothly and we were upgraded, without the staff even mentioning it, to the 12th floor and a room with nice seaview.
Location: good, close to a mall with a supermarket (where you can buy beer, cider and local spirits), quite close to main entertainment strip (10 mins. on foot) as well as Jesselton Point where you can take a boat to the nearby islands and also find some other, more peaceful eateries that serve delicious local food at much better prices (again 10 mins. or so on foot); there's also a big mall at Jesselton Point. Right in front of street with Sunday market (though the town is not that big and all hotels are quite close).
Reception area: Disappointing, simple.
Reception staff: So-so. Some few are friendly, helpful and speak English well, while some others were neither helpful nor capable of communicating successfully in English.
Room: quite inviting, with a large bed, a desk with chair as well as a low coffee table and cushions to sit on instead of chairs. Clean, sufficient sockets. Wifi was fine.
Bathroom: WC & shower plus wooden bathtub (not inviting given that you're not quite sure about the cleaning and the hygiene) - sink was in the room. Complimentary toiletries: shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, dental kit, Vanity kit, razor (no body lotion). 3 towels per person.
Breakfast: was ok, some variety - but food items that ran out often not replenished, no cheese, no information cards as to what the food items contain (for vegans and vegetarians); fruit plate sometimes a disappointment, since fruit was not kept fresh and turned brown; egg station was sometimes slow because the young cook could not always understand orders (e.g. when I requested omelet with cheese). Plus, many non-Western tourists who arrive in huge groups, take over the breakfast room, shove you around, touch the food only to leave it and produce extreme noise. However, the breakfast staff was always very polite and very friendly and tried to make you feel at home.

Downsides, for the price charged unacceptable (85 Euro per night, at a time when we paid less for a five-star hotel in the heart of Kuala Lumpur).:
• We requested ice cubes around 10 pm and were asked to pay 3 MYR. This might not be a lot of money, but it is shameful for a hotel to charge for ice when it is charging this price and that in Kota Kinabalu which is neither a big metropolis nor overwhelms with its cleanliness (between hotel and oceanfront are rows of run-down houses home to rodents and creepy-crawleys; and when you get to the ocean, you are faced with tons and tons of plastic bottles and other trash floating on the sea).
• Room service ends at 10:30 pm (again, shameful).
• We requested ice cubes once after 10:30 - and were flat out refused. without any explanation or apology.
• They charge extra for a cappuccino during breakfast.

So, for 85 Euro per night, I'd say it's not value for money - especially considering we had been charged that amount for a superior room with city view.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We spent only one night at the Horizon Hotel in Kota Kinabalu and we would NOT recommend it. The room was OK, clean and as advertised BUT the service was poor.
1) No Internet service (although was advertised as available for free). Management claimed bad weather ...
2) The TV had only two (local) channel available, neither in English
3) The restaurant took 45 min to prepare a serve a simple soup. I had to ask for it several times until I got upset with the manager and finally, it was delivered. Needless to say, it was of poor quality. I DO NOT recommend the hotel restaurant. Go outside and bring your business to some local restaurant for better food and service

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fastredcars0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Horizon front office staff was swift during check in. Room has good city view as well as its seaview.

Very good gym with clean equipments. Swimming pool is not too big.

Loved the pastry and dessert corner during breakfast. Main dishes was good as well.

Location wise is walking distance to Filipina market.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SofyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews