We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday with sisters”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

The hotel is central to the hub of KK rooms are clean, staff polite and the food is tasty, good and plenty of it. This is a good hotel to access the markets and all attractions. You can book with the hotel who are very accommodating

Room Tip: all rooms I believe are simular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband in two occasions but only for 1 night each time. Didn't have much chance due to short stay to use many of the hotel facilities but rooms were spacious with great rain shower and bathtub, complimentary water. Wifi wasn't so good on either occasion. We had to leave early on one occasion and was offered a take away breakfast but this was 3 bread rolls only, an apple and water. The breakfast we could stay for was a good variety. We did eat in one of the restaurants and my husbands starter and main course was all served at the same time, I had already had my starter as his never appeared and mine was getting cold. We found this a bit bizarre.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pinkyjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for five nights for my work conference. It is in a great location to walk around and experience the local area. The food is good and the breakfast buffett has a wide selection. There were a few maintenace issues with our room. Other than that I would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank terrys363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed a few nights at the Horizon hotel and came away with mixed feelings.
Check-in went smoothly and we were upgraded, without the staff even mentioning it, to the 12th floor and a room with nice seaview.
Location: good, close to a mall with a supermarket (where you can buy beer, cider and local spirits), quite close to main entertainment strip (10 mins. on foot) as well as Jesselton Point where you can take a boat to the nearby islands and also find some other, more peaceful eateries that serve delicious local food at much better prices (again 10 mins. or so on foot); there's also a big mall at Jesselton Point. Right in front of street with Sunday market (though the town is not that big and all hotels are quite close).
Reception area: Disappointing, simple.
Reception staff: So-so. Some few are friendly, helpful and speak English well, while some others were neither helpful nor capable of communicating successfully in English.
Room: quite inviting, with a large bed, a desk with chair as well as a low coffee table and cushions to sit on instead of chairs. Clean, sufficient sockets. Wifi was fine.
Bathroom: WC & shower plus wooden bathtub (not inviting given that you're not quite sure about the cleaning and the hygiene) - sink was in the room. Complimentary toiletries: shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, dental kit, Vanity kit, razor (no body lotion). 3 towels per person.
Breakfast: was ok, some variety - but food items that ran out often not replenished, no cheese, no information cards as to what the food items contain (for vegans and vegetarians); fruit plate sometimes a disappointment, since fruit was not kept fresh and turned brown; egg station was sometimes slow because the young cook could not always understand orders (e.g. when I requested omelet with cheese). Plus, many non-Western tourists who arrive in huge groups, take over the breakfast room, shove you around, touch the food only to leave it and produce extreme noise. However, the breakfast staff was always very polite and very friendly and tried to make you feel at home.

Downsides, for the price charged unacceptable (85 Euro per night, at a time when we paid less for a five-star hotel in the heart of Kuala Lumpur).:
• We requested ice cubes around 10 pm and were asked to pay 3 MYR. This might not be a lot of money, but it is shameful for a hotel to charge for ice when it is charging this price and that in Kota Kinabalu which is neither a big metropolis nor overwhelms with its cleanliness (between hotel and oceanfront are rows of run-down houses home to rodents and creepy-crawleys; and when you get to the ocean, you are faced with tons and tons of plastic bottles and other trash floating on the sea).
• Room service ends at 10:30 pm (again, shameful).
• We requested ice cubes once after 10:30 - and were flat out refused. without any explanation or apology.
• They charge extra for a cappuccino during breakfast.

So, for 85 Euro per night, I'd say it's not value for money - especially considering we had been charged that amount for a superior room with city view.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We spent only one night at the Horizon Hotel in Kota Kinabalu and we would NOT recommend it. The room was OK, clean and as advertised BUT the service was poor.
1) No Internet service (although was advertised as available for free). Management claimed bad weather ...
2) The TV had only two (local) channel available, neither in English
3) The restaurant took 45 min to prepare a serve a simple soup. I had to ask for it several times until I got upset with the manager and finally, it was delivered. Needless to say, it was of poor quality. I DO NOT recommend the hotel restaurant. Go outside and bring your business to some local restaurant for better food and service

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fastredcars0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,263 reviews
0.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
551 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
363 reviews
0.6 km away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: ₹ 4,370 - ₹ 7,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Horizon Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing