We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa from Air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk Front of Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk
Front of Villa
Pool from Gazebo
Pool 4
Pool
Pool 2
Entrance Hall
Living Area Downstairs
Living Area Upstairs
Living Area Mezzanine
Bedroom 2
Bedroom Master
Kitchen
Dining Area 2
Dining Area
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Pool and Entrance Hall at Night
BBQ and Dining Gazebos
Sea from Upstairs Living Area
Pool 3
Villa and Beach from Air
Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District, West Coast Division, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hayley160...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

After making it to the summit of Mt Kinabalu we rewarded ourselves with a six night stay at Hibiscus Villa and it was definitely worth it!

James (owner/ uk expat living the dream) greeted us upon arrival with his smiling staff, refresher towels and drinks and made us feel at home immediately.

Our pre order shopping delivered by James (would recommend pre order or shop yourself in Kota Kinabalu - about a 4 hour drive and would need refrigeration) was waiting and cold drinks were in the fridge!

The villa is located a short drive from the tip of Borneo (and tip top cafe which we loved! Right on the beach, cold beer, great people, good food and good price! )

The villa is secluded, private, spacious...perfect for relaxing, a dip in the pool to cool down, eating, drinking, snoozing. Breakfast was prepared by Nowling and Rusi ( the villa only employs local people and they are always smiling! )

Chef Jai's food especially his BBQ was fantastic and his tapioca desert was amazing! We cooked for ourselves a few nights and the kitchen is fully equipped to do so if you like cooking up a storm.

The gardens are well kept and from the garden gazebo we saw macaques , flying lizards, squirrels, fireflies, bats, giant earthworms, frogs.

A secluded beach is within short strolling distance, with warm water temperatures and snorkeling a short swim behind the rocks and breakers.

On our last day we took Joel's mangrove tour, a local starting out his business - he has a deep passion for the mangroves, environment and his home. Definitely a highlight - visiting the nearby village and motoring out from a stunning bay into the estuary. Joel apologized for his English (I assured him his English was better than my Malaysian!)

Other tips :
- visit the orangu tans at shangri la rasa ria (about a 3 hour drive one way from the villa - would recommend booking to visit either on your way there or back to Kota Kinabalu)
- visit the rungus long house nearby
- kudat - we visited the town and fish market could have missed this (perhaps we are not really city people)
- Howard - was fantastic and can organise anything for you to do activities wise (and a great guy!) unfortunately we didn't get a chance to do his jungle trek but look forward to doing this next time! Howard is working with the local community to build a cultural museum and runs the local backpackers www.tampatdoaman.com

This part of Borneo is a hidden gem,
Unspoiled by too many tourists. We only encountered helpful, genuine people who welcomed us warmly to this part of Sabah.

A truly beautiful part of the planet and highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChasL02
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Perefct holiday in Paradise”
Reviewed 29 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Wow...really this villa is unbelievable.

It looks incredible from the brochure/website, but despite this our expectations were far exceeded. The fact that the location is so remote adds to the dream-like quality of the place. Surrounded by coconut trees and with the beautiful beach a short walk away, and with literally barely any other people around it is truly unique. When we thought couldn't get any better we went for a snorkel just to the right hand side of the closet beach, and there was a coral reef. The water was crystal clear and we saw all sorts of marine life. You would expect to have to go to a tiny coral reef island to find snorkeling of this standard.

The villa itself is luxury personified. 3 comfortable en-suite rooms, with the one on the top floor having decking with sun-beads looking out to sea. The owners have been very clever in leaving one side of the villa up-stairs as a communal area because other-wise with another bedroom (more people) could get over-crowded. The villa is extremely spacious though. The pool rocks! it is sort of T-shaped and comes into the hall of the main house, which is shallow and ideal for toddlers to mess around in. The part outside is perfect for anyone wanting do lengths and it is all an ideal temperature.

James, the owner, leads as an outstanding example of impeccable service. Any problems and he is just a phone call away in KK, and Joe, a local who speaks decent English is available 24hrs Mon-Sat to help out with any issues. The maids probably won't win any awards, but they are on-hand to wash up after all meals/prepare breakfasts/make up the beds everyday/ and keep the floors dry as it is likely all guests will constantly being going in and out the pool.

Hibiscus villa offer to buy groceries before your stay which was a real help (check out the list - its exhaustive). We found the best value option for supper to get a take-away from the tip-top cafe, (owned by a top guy call Howard from Stratford upon Avon, UK), a 5 minute drive away. The food was delicious. Chef J maybe worth a go for a bbq, his food is good but much more expensive (and our bbq was cold).

I really struggle to believe there are many places in such stunning, tropical surroundings, that meet this top-end luxury level. It is also a real secret as I'm not sure ex-pats in Malaysia/Singapore have quite cottoned on yet that it exists.

Just some tips: the best way to the beach is the track just off the road rather than going through the garden, and hiring a car is a must. There is a gorgeous beach, a short drive away, 3 beaches away on the left as you look out to sea. Also we spent a few nights at the Shangri-La Rasa Ria afterwards as a compression chamber before getting back to real life (no-where near as good as Hibisucus!).

If you are considering Hibiscus Villa, I would really recommend booking, and I am certain you will have an incredible holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool/surroundings/villa
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliza B
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible- Ensure you hire a car!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 6 nights with approx 25 hours travel time to get there. You can imagine how tired we were. However the photos do not do the villa justice! The privacy, the comfort and tranquillity was incredible. The beach was private and perfect temperature to swim in. The spectacular sunsets made afternoons our favourite time to chill out in the pool with a cold beverage. We took a tour of the Mangroves, it was a cultural experience but the view really was amazing. The Maids, security and grounds men made the villa feel like a haven. Don’t hesitate to hire Chef J. He was excellent his fresh food and variety was amazing. He was worth every cent. Make sure you explore the surrounding area, go for a drive, it is a beautiful part of this planet. The time of year seemed perfect we were not bothered by flies or mosquitos and it didn’t rain during our visit.
Our suggestions for future travellers;
•Hire a car! We hired an 8 seater van that had the best air-conditioning! A consultant and sign with your name on it was waiting at the airport for you, payment with a credit card there (mobile EFTPOS machine) SO EASY AND hassle free. James provided us with a recommended rental company.
•Stock up on alcohol supplies in Kota Kinabalu. We drank the last box of beer in Kudat.
•Ensure you visit Shangri La’s Rasa Ria Resort (Kota Kinabalu) either on your way to or from the Hibiscus to see the Orang Utangs
•If you play golf, start early in the morning. The course in Kudat can be hot and busy.
•The markets in Kudat were interesting, the people friendly and there is no bartering.
•The locals speak mainly Malay and the local dialect Rungas. Take the time to learn a few phrases so that you can converse with the staff.
•Go visit Chef J’s restaurant at the tip of Borneo; TSM Merrimas. Meet his wife and family.
•Go snorkelling!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view including the pool and beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BMac43
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
1 review
“A little bit of paradise”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

After 26 hours of travelling to get to Hibiscus Villa it was absolutely worth it just to walk through the doors and see the amazing view!!
We enjoyed the exclusivity of the private pool and secluded beach and it was easy to think you were the only people on the island
All the staff were very accommodating and friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable.
I would recommend having chef J cook for you as we got to try some traditional dishes and the best satay I've ever had!
A great place to relax and recharge can't wait to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exclusiveness
Liked least: The spiders and mozzies
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2013
Many thanks for your review. We're glad we were able to accommodate you in the end and very pleased you had such a great stay! We agree...Chef J's satay is the best!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne K
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hide-away in beachside forest”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

If you are going to Sabah and like to enjoy the great nature with a comfortable stay, Hibiscus Villa is the place. Situated very close to the tip of Borneo where a pristine beach is located, this villa has a lot of great things to offer. It's a private place with excellent amenities and plenty of rest spaces with sofas and chairs. It's really spacious and luxurious. To me, it is definitely a 6 star vacation house. This two-story villa is presented nicely with a taste of stylish furniture and decorations (mainly Indonesian and Malaysian). The pool is well designed with green granite tiles and the water is clean like a spring pool. The structure of building is made essentially by timbers, grass-laden roof and other wood products. Although partially blocked by rainforest trees, you can still enjoy quite a good view to the ocean especially from the upper floor. A 5-minute hiking trail down the villa will take you to stretches of beaches and peninsulas where a beautiful coastline can be seen. The house owner James (from Great Britain) is very friendly and maids, door keeper, chef and on-site manager all add comfort and safety to our stay. Overall, what we enjoy staying in this villa is to free ourselves in a beach-side forest and to experience living in a paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Natural environment, spacious and luxurious
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing