We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Few steps to Kinabalu Park, in the middle of green” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Few steps to Kinabalu Park, in the middle of green”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Was accommodated at the J Residence for one night, from 8 to 9 June 2012, during my Sabah trip. Got the chalet 5B which was a very clean room, one double bed and one single bed, equipped with TV DVD player, coffee maker. The bathroom has direct view into the forest (don't worry no one can come and watch you while taking a shower, maybe only birds or squirrels - :)) . I had a very good sleep in the comfortable bed, even if overnight it was little cold, so I took also the other blanket - as I was coming from Kudat, the difference of the climate is very big. There is a boiler, having shower with cold water is not very pleasant, as water at that altitude is cold. There is no breakfast, but some restaurants are right few minutes outside the residence. The accommodation consists actually of few chaplets immersed in the deep green. It is a pleasure to have your morning coffee on the verandah,overlooking the surrounding mountains, a very fresh , clean air. When I arrived in the afternoon, there was some rain, and it is very nice to listen to the raindrops falling on in the forest around. The chalets have windows on 2 sides, so the view is really great. Staff are friendly and check in was done in a few minutes. Even if there is direct access from the main road, no traffic noise disturbed me. But what is really great, is the position - few minutes from the renowned Kinabalu Park and the gateway for climbing on the mountain. I didn't climb, but visited the park which is great with its specific flora, with a museum at the entrance, giving interesting information about Kinabalu Park . Most people there stay one or two nights, for visiting the park and doing the climbing on Mt. Kinabalu. J Residence is a highly advisable place when you are touring Sabah and if you need a stopover near Mt. Kinabalu. And the price is also a very cheap and affordable. I can only highly recommend the Residence and maybe if returning someday to the area, I would like to stay again there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose-Gul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    127
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
88
81
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

it was my second stay here in JR. Stayed for 2 nights in house 3. we really enjoyed the stay. there was a small problem with the water heater pressure. other than that everything else is just wonderful. the beautiful surrounding, the room was spacious and clean, there was a small kitchen where we can cook and do BBQ, and restaurants is just nearby. the place also gives a lot more privacy than other chalet in kundasang. sure we will consider to come back next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebaby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great little rooms and fabulous views over the valley and rainforest. The location is great and a short walk to the park headquarters, it's about half an hour drive or more to the springs on the other side depending on the traffic.....

Unfortunately the heater on our shower wasn't working so we were treated to cold showers during our stay - this wouldn't be so bad in the rest of Sabah but the mountain gets pretty chilly and a warm shower would have been welcome!

The walls are pretty thin and we had a very noisy young family next door, could hear every word of the dvd, conversation, bangs and crashes - so it didn't make for a good night's sleep, but other than that was all good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-MrsRichard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

i wish J residence delivered service as excellent as it was reviewed by other travellers. the moment we checked in late in the afternoon we were greeted by fresh air but pity that our villa (the largest in J residence) had no electricity despite that the rest of the rooms/chalets we enjoying shower of light in their rooms. we consulted the staff but they were not helpful at all and tried to evade from addressing the problem. of course language was not a problem since we were able to speak the local dialect, worse still they insisted that there was power shortage in the area. but of course that was not the case.
i tried to call Joshua and got thru the first time and spoke with him. the next few times i called him hoping the problem to be addressed promptly since it was almost dark and i my 4mnths old was with me on that time, he totally ignored me.
we climbed up the hill to the reception asking for refund as we decided to head back to kota kinabalu..a staff member who went pass the villa earlier (who claimed that he's not working there on that time) then said that he knew what the problem was and went to fix it. luckily we had electricity that night but i wish that they had checked the villa prior to our arrival to make sure everything fine.

Room Tip: opt for the villa if u r travelling in a large group, or chalet 5A 5B if in a smaller group..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-MrsRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Being city dwellers, our group of 8 adults and 6 young children had mixed feelings about this place.

We stayed in the villa and room 1. Despite the unavaliability of other rooms, we still decided to stay here after reading all the good reviews about J residence.

Initially I thought we will have a view of the peak of the mountain but we had another scenic view in front of us, which compensated that. The compound is clean and peaceful. I lived in room 1 and loved it.

However I do have some small comments. My friends had a faulty water heater upon checked in and there is nothing they can do. Staff not versed in English also posed some communication problem. But we were very pleased with the cooking and BBQ facilities. Such a great enjoyment to BBQ in such a cool weather.

The nearby food restaurants and such proximity to the base of mt KK sure make this a great place to stay.

Overall the stay was great except the kids find it a bit boring with such small compound to run about and no other play facilities.


  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abyss1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
14.4 km away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
5.2 km away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.5 km away
Ayana Holiday Resort
Ayana Holiday Resort
#1 of 33 in Ranau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.0 km away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.8 km away
Kinabalu Park
Kinabalu Park
#3 of 27 in Ranau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Residence? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Residence

Property: J Residence
Address: Along Tuaran Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,963 - ₹ 3,272
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres away from the entrance of Kinabalu Park Headquarters, J Residence is the nearest lodge outside Mount Kinabalu National Park, and with rooms price three times lower than those chalets and lodges inside Kinabalu Park. J Residence was built in the year 2010 and our lodge are partially hidden by trees and plants from the main road. Our lodge overlook the Bundu Tuhan dwelling & farming community while the back is decorated with rows of tall matured pine trees. Temperature here ranges from 19°C to 17°C at night. Truly a great place to seek refuge from the hot equatorial climate of the other major cities of Sabah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j Residence Hotel Kota Kinabalu
J Residence Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing