We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you have ur own transport then is ok” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of KK Times Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KK Times Square Hotel
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Tawau Division, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you have ur own transport then is ok”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

When i first check into this Hotel, they already given me a bad impression straightaway...Standard check in time is 2pm, every Hotel is the same... i arrived there 2.30pm with my wife, expecting the room to be ready, but to our dismay, the room not ready, ok, no big deal, i booked for a kingsize bed, since twin sharing room is available, so i requested to change ... i plan to stay for 5 nights... the door locked got problem,. everytime we open or closed the door, there will be a alarm sound going on... quite irritating... refer to the front desk, they said is like that... ok, i can accept that... when i am about to go out , front desk call and informed that they accidently swipe my card RM500. instead of verifying my c/card like any hotel normally do... After settle everything, i move out the next day to other hotel which is far more cheaper the price than here.... Another thing , the room is registered under my wife 's name, Michele Lee... b4 we check out, we already informed one of the female receptionist that we will be checking out at 2pm, but they still call up and asking whether we extend or checking out... i can assure is the same female receptionist who we informed to about our check out time and she still call us to verify again, plus, she address my wife name as Mr Micheal Lee...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beckham72332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    32
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
12
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bintulu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The room itself was nice, clean and comfortable. Normally people would say this hotel is not in a convenient location. Times square of Kota kinabalu is not so far away from the main part of the city, however because of the road system it is quite difficult to walk down there, meaning you have to pay for taxi every time you go out. There is no taxi waiting for you outside the hotel, so you have to ask the receptionists to call it for you. the hotel rate is actually higher than some of nicer hotels in the town. So, not worth paying for this hotel.

I would give you still 3 stars if the location is the only disadvantage. Unfortunately some of the receptionists are quite rude, making you hesitant to ask for anything including taxi. It is not that they don't know how to speak. But can they just simply say "please take your seat while I call for taxi" instead of "Sit down there!". This is just one example.

They know the location is one thing their guests do not like about them, so they had put up ads saying there are cheaper/free shuttle to the city or airport. We asked for that, and they said "oh, the ad is a very old one". Next day, the ad was still there, so we asked once more. the same answer. Why would they not take off whatever things that they know out of date? If not, they should provide the service even though they are an old ads.

One more thing I did not like was that they did not provide complimentary services for the second night. When we came back for the second night, towels were not there, coffee/tea/water was not there.

We just did not know for what we were paying so much money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yukari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

kota kinabalu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I think the location not good for tourist. I my self stayed here because of safety for my car... a lot of KK hotel doesnt have parking lot so i end up choose this hotel. Also, there's pub and bar in this area..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eina30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Good price, perfectly comfortable room, OK surroundings. Free wifi and lots of decent (but not particularly interesting) places to eat within a few metres. It's not in the centre of town - although only a short taxi ride away - but absolutely fine if you've got business on that side of town, as I did. And it is a good price. But if you're coming on holiday, or your business is in town, then I wouldn't really recommend it as anything special. You're better off picking a place to stay that is more convenient to the sites and the business district.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

It's an added value for money for a night or two only. Not within the best location of the city unless you're into clubs or semi fine dining. Service was to meet expectation but not to exceed. You would expect smile, greet, talk & listen but neither answer nor anticipate. Room was spacious but not clean. The room maid might have forgotten to vacuum the room despite used toothpicks found under the bed! Maybe she had a back-to-back assignment. Requested a twin sharing and got a "Hollywood King", Air-conditioning was rather hot. Mini Bar was not chilled enough to compliment your beverages. Bathroom amenities was basic minus the toothbrush & paste, Extra towel was at RM3.00 per / request. Make sure you get a higher floor & city view. It delivers you some justice. And by the way, having a car would be an added advantage, or you'll end spending a fortune for taxis or the internal transfer services.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aramaitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 km away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#21 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 km away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
#17 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.2 km away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#40 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#23 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.0 km away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#18 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.5 km away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#33 of 89 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KK Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Times Square Hotel

Property: KK Times Square Hotel
Address: Block C-16-G, Signature Office KK Times Square | Off Coastal Highway, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,224 - ₹ 2,831
Hotel Class:2 star — KK Times Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KK Times Square Hotel offers a business boutique style hotel, which is a modern & contemporary designed with the essence of true Sabahan hospitality, Our hotel, from the courteous and friendly staffs, right up to the rooms that spell practically and comfort ability is our theme. The aim of the hotel is to redefine the expectation of the guests. The convenient location of the hotel also means that one is never too far away from the center of the city shopping districts. In addition of that the hotel also provides free parking space including basement parking and 24 hours security guard & CCTV security control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your KK Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KK Times Square Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing