We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Budget accommodation and good location”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I made a last minute booking and got a reasonably good deal at the hotel. The location is good. Check in was fast. The room was very small, but not cramped. Good enough for a single person. All in-room amenities were stocked. A 7-eleven store next door and a few malls behind the hotel. The shower/toilet wasn't a separate room.

Every time I had a shower, the steam would enter the fire-alarm and the staff would call me. This happened every time I showered and it got very irritating. I wonder if the hotel can do anything to fix this.

Overall, it is a very good choice if you're on a tight budget and need a place to sleep in the night. Not a hotel I'd choose for a long holiday or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yofobubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    248
    167
    30
    18
See reviews for
73
130
80
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The hotel location is excellent. The area around it is not so cramped up with a lot of people or night markets, so it’s definitely peaceful and safe. But if you need supplies or food, there are a lot of nearby restaurants, malls and a pharmacy. It is located in the middle of a commercial place called Asia City Complex. A big mall called the Centrepoint Sabah Mall is located just across a main road. We did most of our grocery shopping for snacks there at a supermarket on its lower ground floor. We stayed on the seventh floor and had a deluxe double room with the Seaview. The view was absolutely beautiful. Although the room was a bit small we still decided to choose this hotel for a lot of good reasons. The hotel is new, we did an offline booking just by e-mailing them, then we paid for our entire four nights of stay in full when we got there, the check in and check out processes were a breeze, the staff were friendly and can speak fairly good English, the hotel is really clean, our room was clean and was cleaned daily, the bathroom was big, its size was half our room space, the AC can be controlled, there was a blow dryer, the room also had a safe, there was an LCD TV, although there weren’t a lot of satellite TV channel choices, it was fine, since we were out often anyways, the bathroom supplies were replenished daily, the bathroom was cleaned daily too, the shower stall was huge, water pressure was very good, there was also a water dispenser for hot, cold and warm water at every floor, which was very helpful since we drink a lot of water because of the activities that we did there and because KK has a hot weather too, we brought in our own Nalgene plastic bottles for that. There was also a common ironing area, located near the lift, as what they call it over there. Overall, we had a great stay. For RM135 a night, it was worth it. The only bad thing we’ve noticed though is that there wifi signal in our room was poor. I hope the hotel can improve on that. Since we stayed four nights, I asked to get free daily wifi. They provided a username and password for it and it’s only good on one device at a time. The hotel’s lift was also very secure, our room key card had to be swiped over a sensor to activate it. We felt very safe at this hotel and overall had a great stay. We didn’t try the Express Diner located at the lobby though, so we don’t know how their food taste but with a lot of good points we would definitely recommend this hotel and would choose it again if we come back to KK in the future.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Seaview room so when you wake up in the morning, you'll get a beautiful view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radius023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Advantages:

-15minute walk to the center of the city
-across the road from center point/api api shopping center
-Lots of food outlets outside the hotel
-Clean hotel, clean rooms for a good price.

Disadvantages:

-You pay for what you get. A small tin size room that barely fits 1-2 people.
-Staff are friendly when they want to be...otherwise, you get what you need and nothing more from them.
-Parking is a problem. There is no control as to the hotel parking as anyone it seems can park there now so if you are driving, be prepared to have to look for parking.
-Air Cond in the room is hit and miss. Cold at some points at night, warm at other points in time. The central aircond system isn't fantastic and could be/should be colder.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I booked a triple room -1212 - big and comfortable. However, my mum mentioned that her bed is a bit soft and room small as they are staying at superior room - 1020. I booked for 3 nights and during second night 10pm, my wifi was cut off. I called the receptionist they mentioned that i checked in 9pm therefore wifi is to the 2nd night 9pm. I was quite annoyed and told them but i checked out 12pm the next day. Luckily they are nice and gave me new password for my wifi. Thumbs up for their service.

Surrounding there are many restaurants and food. No need to worry about your breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sunday market at Gaya Street is only 15 min walk. Whole KK is not very big and can be walking distance.

Overall, i recommended this place. However, i will try Gaya Hotel in my next visit.

Room Tip: Triple room are definitely very big than superior room. Superior room is very tiny and cramped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amamenilec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our hotel room was so small that you could only walk along one side of a double bed. Along the other three sides of the bed were two walls and the TV. The room barely fit the double bed. I say this room is dingy because the sheets, towels and mattresses really have seen better days and need to be replaced. I didn't sleep the whole night through any of the three nights we were there - due to the terrible shape of the mattress. The air con was about as effective as a person blowing air in the room, and we had to leave it on all day just to have a slightly cooled room for the evening.

The service was poor also. If I called the front desk I would either have to leave the phone ringing for a couple of minutes or call back many times to be answered at all. If I wanted to ask a question at the front desk the wait time was 5-10 minutes because there wasn't enough staff to deal with the number of customers. This hotel just seems tooo large for the number of staff trying to run it. There are nicer and more comfortable hotels in KK and I say avoid this one if you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.7 km away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
445 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,182 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
313 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Property: Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,999 - ₹ 2,966
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing