We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand experience!”
Review of Grand Borneo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Borneo Hotel
Ranked #66 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Nueva Ecija Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Grand experience!”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Our stay here was really excellent. The rooms are almost brand new, clean, & well maintained. It also has complete room amenities like coffee maker, hair blower and high speed wired internet for laptops. The buffet breakfast is excellent too! Lots of variety to choose from, from american to asian breakfast. If you're kind a shopper too, this hotel is for you coz it is just right beside the biggest mall in sabah, the 1Borneo. Other than the mall, there are restaurants too. But it is quite distant from the city proper and to the airport. Taxis are not a problem to this area. Plus, the staffs are nice & approachable. 

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aizer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    153
    91
    44
    26
See reviews for
61
69
18
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I was in KK for 5d4n trip to visit my boyfriend and his family. Chose this hotel since it's nearby one of his sister's place.

23 May
Checked in at 0030hrs(24 May), was given Superior Room 507. It's wonderful, their standards met my expectations. Had a pleasant sleep.

24 May
Wonderful view, good block-out sun curtains were what we woke up to in the morning. Found two defects in the morning while in the showers, reported to the Front Desk before leaving for the day, and they were very polite and prompt. Upon returning, room was squeky clean, defects were fixed. My thoughts, "Splendid!!" Although you can hear the pumping music from the UK Fun Fair from across the street, but music's off after 11.30pm, so had a wonderful, peaceful sleep after a tiring day.

25 May
Before leaving the room, we left the housekeeping staffs a note of "Happy Harvest Festival" in the Kadazan-Dusun Language. We also did some washing of clothes, and hung the clothes in the bathroom. When we returned, not only was the room very cleaned again, the clothes were left untouched, they also replied the note, wishing "Happy Harvest Festival" and "Aramai Tii", which means to be happy always in their language. =) Again after the Fun Fair's music stopped, we had a good sleep. Good channels to watch as well on their TV. =)

26 May
Very clean rooms and peaceful sleep once again. =)

27 May
Upon clearing out of the room, we left the housekeepers tips as they've done a splendid job for our room during our stay. And we left them notes of "Happy Harvest Festival, Aramai Tii!! =)" and "Thank you for keeping our rooms clean and tidy." Upon check out, deposit of RM100 was returned in cash, luggages were kept neatly and in an organised manner in the Store Room. After returning from last minute shopping, we collected our luggages and thanked the Front Desk. =)

(Some plus points)
+ Conveniently linked to the 1Borneo Mall.
+ Lots of food, shopping and leisure to do.
+ They have a recycle policy for the towels, so if you think you don't need it to be changed, do not leave it on the floor. Let's save Mother Earth people!! =)**
+ Late check out till 1pm
+ Free storage of luggages.
+ Can arrange for tours.

Room Tip: If you sleep earlier than midnight, best to ask the Front Desk to have your room away from the UK Fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleanor_J_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed at Grand Borneo Hotel in mid-May for a four-day business trip to Kota Kinabalu. Though it is about 20 minutes' drive to the city centre, I stayed here because the assignment I on was held at the 1Borneo Hypermall, which this hotel is attached to, and my colleagues who flew in for the same assignment were also put up there.

There are three other hotels attached to the mall - Novotel, Tune Hotel and Courtyard Hotel (all placed along the same stretch as the south entrance of the mall - coming up from the road travelling from KK city centre, you will reach Novotel first, then the south entrance then Grand Borneo, Tune Hotel and Courtyard Hotel).

Being attached to the mall with its own entrance to the mall (that's open from 6am to 11pm), I found the location good. Being one of the largest malls in KK, there are plenty of shops and eateries if you don't feel like venturing out. There's also a 24-hour convenience store just next to the hotel, which is good if you're feeling peckish after closing time.

The hotel staff are warm and welcoming. When we arrived by rented car, we were given a spot at their limited parking area and someone helped bring our luggage in. They were also helpful in giving us directions to a famous (but hard-to-find) seaafood restaurant (turned out that they were partially right in their directions, GPS helped us the rest of the way).

I booked two superior rooms - one with a king-sized bed for me and my husband who accompanied me, and one with twin beds for my colleague and a friend who came along on the trip. The rooms were fair: they were a good size and there was plenty of storage and space to move around and the windows faced the mountains and the Alamesra neighbourhood.

The room is equipped with a mini fridge, tea and coffee-making facilities, a flatscreen TV (crappy channels but we connected it to our laptop with an HDMI cable), free broadband internet connection and plenty of electrical outlets around the room (more than enough to plug in our laptop, phone chargers and camera battery charger). In the bathroom, the toilet seat is wider than usual, as is the bathtub - which is a major plus (the room with the twin beds had a rain shower instead of a bathtub and the bathroom had a large frosted window that looks into the bedroom itself). There is also a decent countertop to place our bag of toiletries.

There are some signs of wear - there were two spots of what looked like burn marks in the bathtub and the standing lamp by the window was tilted at an angle, for instance, and every day we had one good big fluffy towel and a smaller, limp grey one. Considering the state of some other hotels I've been to, though, this was not a major issue.

I can't comment on the food at the hotel restaurant as I didn't opt for breakfast when I booked the room as, being right to the mall, we had plenty of food options there.

I would recommend this only if you're heading to the mall or if you're heading out of or into KK from somewhere else. If you are thinking of checking out the sights around KK city centre itself, you'd be better off getting accommodation within the city itself.

I would recommend renting a car if you intend to go around the place, taxi fares can be pricey as they charge flat rates as opposed to meter rates (although, if you're just heading into the city centre, there is a free shuttle that goes there).

If you are booking a room here though, bear in mind that there are rooms that are without windows (which can be pretty clautrophobic) - the cheapest rooms with windows are the standard rooms, followed by the superior ones, deluxe ones and so on.

Room Tip: Be sure of the room you are booking - there are those that have no windows. Also, I'd recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nurjmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Grand Borneo Hotel which is anything but grand, is a long way from the city. About 20 minutes by taxi or free shuttle. It is connected to a mall, which is one of it's few virtues.
We booked a "Grand Deluxe" room and it was nothing much like the picture on the web site.
There is an enormous bathtub which took up a large amount of the promised space leaving the two of us crowded in the bedroom. The brochure lies.
There is space for only one bag and the wardrobe has space for about 1&1/2 people. It also contains the safe, but there is no light in the wardrobe so it is hard to see what you are doing. There was one chair and an enormous chaise longe. There is the usual crowded desk and a dinky little table that is useless for practical purposes.
When we arrived the room was hot as were the corridors. When you go out ,the air conditioning switches off and you have to reset it when you return. There were no towels or toiletries and we had to ring down.
We noticed a broken patched window (photo) and no storage space.
Only one small bottle of water each is supplied and the tap water left a dark scum in my CPAP machine which was hard to clean.
The room has insufficient lighting at night and 2 days later , they finally removed the room service dinner plate from outside the door.
The safe battery failed and they fixed that the next day.
The staff on the front desk seemed obliging and friendly.
This is a two star hotel and not four. It has no internet to the rooms and the business centre charges R10 per half hour. That's roughly three dollars.
The beds are typical of SE Asia. Hard as a rock and my back just ached.
I shudder at the idea of ever coming to this hotel again.

Room Tip: I am told that a corner suite on a superior room is the best option if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnstod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

For a hotel being only 4 years young it is quite apparently showing extreme signs of wear in many departments. stayed 6 days /nights . Our check in was certainly okay very quick, no one to offer to take bags up to room can live with that, foyer entry very obvious stained carpet rug marked lounge chairs if you do not have money to replace them have them cleaned. Carpet to hallway certainly on 6th floor is a hazard it is buckled warped due to wear/not properly fitted/or quality, several times nearly tripped me up. From walls to furniture in room very run down needs big revamp. Bathroom great look BUT shower floor corners if never cleaned with bleach or simular products disgusting mould, mildew orange stain, lucky l had thongs to wear in shower. some days grey flat towels other days thick white fluffy. Yes only about $60 /night but you can have 3* but clean. We stayed in room with bath not used big enough room though.
However sheets very clean white, changed on 3rd day thankyou, house staff attentive to replenshing needs to room again thankyou!. Breakfast just okay . Maybe other floors or rooms are far better. Do not recommend. Part of a shopping Mall, knew that when l booked, they do have a courtesy shuttle to KK hourly, that was great, great doughnut place down stairs amazing creme doughnut experience, yum!!! plus lots of great eateries throughout the complex,many wonderful food experiences. 1 or 2 days to stay here may be heaps.
A lovely young lady running the Bubble bar was a plus but it hardly gets utilized in evenings its a shame. Great country lovely people as well.

enjoy KK

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 km away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#59 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
9.1 km away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#43 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.1 km away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#79 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
7.8 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
9.7 km away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Borneo Hotel

Property: Grand Borneo Hotel
Address: D'Borneo Hotel TA-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,550 - ₹ 4,780
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Borneo Hotel, a fast growing home-grown brand, makes its debut in the pulsating tropical wonders of Kota Kinabalu. This 325-room property of modern chic deluxe class forms an integral part of the largest mall in Sabah - 1Borneo Hypermall - an entertainment complex with over 400 stores of leisure, entertainment and culinary delights. This international class hotel caters to business travelers as well as holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Grand Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing