We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Grand Borneo hotel is anything but grand” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Borneo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Borneo Hotel
Ranked #64 of 90 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Grand Borneo hotel is anything but grand”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Grand Borneo Hotel which is anything but grand, is a long way from the city. About 20 minutes by taxi or free shuttle. It is connected to a mall, which is one of it's few virtues.
We booked a "Grand Deluxe" room and it was nothing much like the picture on the web site.
There is an enormous bathtub which took up a large amount of the promised space leaving the two of us crowded in the bedroom. The brochure lies.
There is space for only one bag and the wardrobe has space for about 1&1/2 people. It also contains the safe, but there is no light in the wardrobe so it is hard to see what you are doing. There was one chair and an enormous chaise longe. There is the usual crowded desk and a dinky little table that is useless for practical purposes.
When we arrived the room was hot as were the corridors. When you go out ,the air conditioning switches off and you have to reset it when you return. There were no towels or toiletries and we had to ring down.
We noticed a broken patched window (photo) and no storage space.
Only one small bottle of water each is supplied and the tap water left a dark scum in my CPAP machine which was hard to clean.
The room has insufficient lighting at night and 2 days later , they finally removed the room service dinner plate from outside the door.
The safe battery failed and they fixed that the next day.
The staff on the front desk seemed obliging and friendly.
This is a two star hotel and not four. It has no internet to the rooms and the business centre charges R10 per half hour. That's roughly three dollars.
The beds are typical of SE Asia. Hard as a rock and my back just ached.
I shudder at the idea of ever coming to this hotel again.

Room Tip: I am told that a corner suite on a superior room is the best option if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnstod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    144
    88
    42
    22
See reviews for
55
66
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

For a hotel being only 4 years young it is quite apparently showing extreme signs of wear in many departments. stayed 6 days /nights . Our check in was certainly okay very quick, no one to offer to take bags up to room can live with that, foyer entry very obvious stained carpet rug marked lounge chairs if you do not have money to replace them have them cleaned. Carpet to hallway certainly on 6th floor is a hazard it is buckled warped due to wear/not properly fitted/or quality, several times nearly tripped me up. From walls to furniture in room very run down needs big revamp. Bathroom great look BUT shower floor corners if never cleaned with bleach or simular products disgusting mould, mildew orange stain, lucky l had thongs to wear in shower. some days grey flat towels other days thick white fluffy. Yes only about $60 /night but you can have 3* but clean. We stayed in room with bath not used big enough room though.
However sheets very clean white, changed on 3rd day thankyou, house staff attentive to replenshing needs to room again thankyou!. Breakfast just okay . Maybe other floors or rooms are far better. Do not recommend. Part of a shopping Mall, knew that when l booked, they do have a courtesy shuttle to KK hourly, that was great, great doughnut place down stairs amazing creme doughnut experience, yum!!! plus lots of great eateries throughout the complex,many wonderful food experiences. 1 or 2 days to stay here may be heaps.
A lovely young lady running the Bubble bar was a plus but it hardly gets utilized in evenings its a shame. Great country lovely people as well.

enjoy KK

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our visit to Kota Kinabalu. Location-wise, the hotel is far from the city center and it takes some haggling to get a reasonable price for a taxi. The reception area of the hotel is not that big, but the decorations are quite modern.

We booked two deluxe rooms that were adjacent, but not connected. My room was situated at the corner of the building so the windows could show a large panorama. Yet, the view wasn't that beautiful, as we weren't facing the sea (just some buildings and some hills). The beds were comfortable, and the room was modern, equipped with a flat screen TV, a nice bathroom... What's a useful extra is the free in-room cable Internet.

Breakfast was a buffet with a choice of nasi lemak, Chinese congee and then the continental options and an egg station. I've had better breakfasts at hotels before, but it is acceptable. As for lunch and dinner, we opted to eat at the 1 Borneo Hypermall, which you can access through a passageway by the reception area. There are many options for dining there, and there are lots of shopping opportunities. But if you really want to have a more satisfying shopping experience, the city center is a better bet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rofthecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed on our last night in KK, the hotel is nice, comfort and stylish. And the price for this 4 star hotel is very reasonable. Highly recommended! For more info and images of Grand Borneo Hotel, kindly visit www.exploringfairyland.com

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Our_Fairyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 km away
The Klagan Regency
The Klagan Regency
#47 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
6.7 km away
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Palace Hotel Kota Kinabalu
#24 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
9.8 km away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#20 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
0.1 km away
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
Courtyard Hotel @ 1Borneo
#76 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
8.6 km away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Borneo Hotel

Property: Grand Borneo Hotel
Address: TA-00-01, 1Borneo Hypermall, Jalan UMS, Kota Kinabalu 88450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 90 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,979 - ₹ 3,685
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Borneo Hotel, a fast growing home-grown brand, makes its debut in the pulsating tropical wonders of Kota Kinabalu. This 325-room property of modern chic deluxe class forms an integral part of the largest mall in Sabah - 1Borneo Hypermall - an entertainment complex with over 400 stores of leisure, entertainment and culinary delights. This international class hotel caters to business travelers as well as holiday makers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Borneo Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing