We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

While I was in KK me and a friend stayed here for 4 nights. Great location, cheap rates, great atmosphere, free computer use, clean rooms, 24 hr concession (4MR beers), lounge chairs. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the city and Borneo Island. I met some new friends and have some great memories to take with me on my next adventure.

Thanks Akinabalu!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    45
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
4
41
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed here only one night on my way from Mt.Kinabulu. For 56 ringit I got a private room (even though it had 4 beds) was nice of the hotel to give me a private room which would usually probably costs 80 RM (for 4 people).

Staff friendly enough, also 2 computers free to use whcih is nice (and usually available + standard free WIFI). Free breakfast, as always, consisted of a disappointing white toast + Nescafe (I prefer to pay 3RM for a Nasi Lemak + Kopi Tarik... but then again I am a yuppie).

So why only 3 stars? The location is very central, however, not ideal, as it sits between Jalan Gaya and the main arterial road of KK, which gets ALOT of traffic (by KK standards). So there is a fair bit of traffic noise. If you are on the Jln Gaya side it is quieter, however, I was woken up by a whole troup of high pitched birds at 3:30am (they were very loud and I suspect that they are resident on the nature strip outside every day - but I cannot confirm as I was there only 1 night). I shoved my ear plugs in, and turned the ceiling fan only cyclone setting to try and drown out the noise and slept ok after that. But sleep was a bit uneasy, and to me this is the cornerstone of a good hostel.

My recommendation if you are a light skeeper would be to take a guesthouse on the quiet and chilled out Australia place (there are 3 there). But like I said, a nice, well priced place aside from the sleep.

Room Tip: Away from the main road!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xi'an
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

i stayed in this hostel for 6days and 5days in dorm beds &1night in private room ( for 4 person). i recommend this hostel to you all, specially for the low budget ,such as me...
it's with great location, in gaya street , by the way. and the hostel is very clean and MOST staff are very kind. you also can get the useful info from them once you required.
anyway, it's a great place.

Room Tip: booked as earlier as you can, if you don't mind, i think the upper dorms are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank empirevivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Having originally booked into the awful Tropicana Lodge, we were delighted to find this clean and spacious hostel, so obviously the best in KK. Great rooms with fan were good price. Wifi and internet, great local information, free noodles for breakfast, tea & coffee. Staff were fantastic and common room was great place to escape the heat and the rain. Great for a chill out, many thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: 3rd floor fan rooms are good option as i cheaper and away from road noise. **Try to stay at shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I traveled to Kota Kinabalu frequently. Everytime I stayed at this place; clean, comfortable, friendly stuff, right in the heart of Kota Kinabalu, big lounge area for hang around, chatting, watching videos, TV and makes you feel like home.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 km away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mandarin Hotel
Mandarin Hotel
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 km away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#1 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 km away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akinabalu Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Property: Akinabalu Youth Hostel
Address: 1st Floor, No. 133 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): ₹ 655 - ₹ 1,048
Hotel Class:1 star — Akinabalu Youth Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Akinabalu Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akinabalu Youth Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Akinabalu Youth Hostel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing